We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Winchester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winchester
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Canada
1 review
“Excellent Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and the breakfast food, the seating area for breakfast and Nancy and Judy who helped serve were very friendly and helpful. In fact Nancy made our stay a good one.
The servers added the warmth and personality. The reception staff were cold and distant even though our key cards did not always work.
The pool had too much chlorine. Many on our bus tour complained so others did not use the pool.

Our trip was in may 2012

Room Tip: Key cards did not always work
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabethppp p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Fairfield Inn & Suites. We certainly in no way want our guests to leave unhappy.

First, I want to say I truly appreciate your comments about the service you received from our Breakfast bar attendants: Nancy & Judy (they appreciate your kind words as well).

As I continued reading your comments about our front desk associates being “cold and distance”, guest room keys weren’t working properly and the pool having too much chlorine. I want to take this time to apologize for what you have experienced at our property and I assure you these issues have been corrected.

If your travels should bring you back into the Winchester, VA area; I hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best regards,

Carolyn Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    127
    81
    17
    11
See reviews for
126
116
21
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I found the bathroom very clean and updated, but the chair in our room was stained, the rug is not of very good quality and bedding is just ok (wrinkled and stained bedskirt, sheets looked "tired"). I anticipated more from this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Fairfield Inn & Suites. I have read your comments about the guest room carpet and bedding were not to your satisfaction. My staff and I believe in keeping our Marriott standards to our guests and I assure you these issues are being corrected as we are ongoing a renovation at our property. I appreciate your comment about the bathroom being cleaned and updated. I hope we will have an opportunity to regain your confidence in the future and for you to have a chance to experience the newly renovated hotel.

Best regrads,

Carolyn Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochster, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Front desk woman was not very friendly, not conversaional, not a smile. I find NO excuse for this when they are in the people business. We were given an end room next to noisy banging fire door on front of hotel with lots of traffic noise and when we turned out the lights to sleep the hotel spotlight lit up our room even with all the blinds pulled. :( We weren't going to change rooms at this point but put up with it. Breakfast was "ok"...nothing special. I think we've been spoiled at other Fairfields. We talked to manager in morning and she was helpful offering better service & discount "next time". She said we shoul've asked for back of hotel and that i must be "light" sensitive. (I'd like to see anyone try to sleep in that room). And i just can't see why we weren't given a quieter room from the get go if they were available....which they indicated in morning they were! They blew their first impression for us. Did we somehow offend front desk woman in the first minute we were there? We are nice, quiet, well mannered, decently dressed, non smoking people. Hotel clean and location right off expressway. Oh well We will probably stay at Days Inn Carlisle next time....not as fancy but it's clean, less expensive and we were treated better and slept great. We had higher hopes for this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet dark room.......probably on back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Constance S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Fairfield Inn & Suites. We certainly in no way want our guests to leave unhappy. I've read your comments about our front desk associate not being friendly upon check in and being placed in guest room that is not to your satisfaction. I do apologize for what you have experienced at our property this is not the level of service we provide to our guests.

My staff and I truly believe in keeping our Marriott promises to our guests and I assure you these issues have been addressed and are corrected. If your travels should bring you back into the Winchester area I hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Carolyn Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Arrived in the evening to a very pleasant reception with fresh cookies and an efficient reception staff. All of our internet requests were anticipated and honored - high floor, extra pillows, etc. The room was clean with a fresh king bed. Room temperature controlled by a central thermostat worked fine. Wireless internet access was easy. Flat screen T.V. had large selection of channels. Bath ample size - shower great. Breakfast in the a.m. was ample. Very good stop, especially for the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmtrout1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
My staff and I truly appreciate your comments about our property and we are glad to hear you had a wonderful stay. We are looking forward seeing you again when your travels bring you back into the Winchester area.

Best regards,

Carolyn Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This hotel is my #1 choice when staying in Winchester, Va....It is comfortable.............the staff is friendly, welcoming and helpful............good location...........and a very nice breakfast................

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TidewaterLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for choosing our property for your lodging accommodations. I am glad to hear you had a wonderful stay. Our staff believes in keeping "The Marriott Promises" to our guests and and I am very pleased you received this attention from the front desk team.

I look forward to having you as a guest again.

Best regards,

Carolyn Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Good spot between the Carolina's and New York. Easy on and off the interstate. Staff was courteous and responded quickly to our requests. Breakfast not as comprehensive as others but adequate. Dining options near hotel are many.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mwarner22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for choosing The Fairfield Inn & Suites for your lodging accommodations. I am glad you had a pleasant stay; my staff and I hope to see to you again soon.

Best regards,

Carolyn Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Hotel was pretty average for business stop. Key card reader did not work, whirlpool was out of commission, bathtub is small, wallpaper is peeling, one side of hotel faces freeway, but warm cookies at end of work day were fantastic. Staff did their best.

Room Tip: Check to see if gym equipment, whirlpool and pool are open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJonesPE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn B, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Winchester, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Fairfield Inn & Suites. We certainly in no way want our guest to leave unhappy. I'm apologizing to hear about the issues you had during your stay with us. We truly believe in keeping our Marriott standards to our guests and I assure you these issues will be corrected. I hope we will have an opportunity to regain your confidence in the future.

Best Regards,

Carolyn Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#6 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 529 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#4 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Winchester

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Winchester
Address: 250 Front Royal Pike, Winchester, VA 22602-7313
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Winchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the top of the Shenandoah Valley in historic Winchester, Virginia, the Fairfield Inn & Suites is central to many famous Civil War attractions and battlefields. With easy access to I-81 and to historic Old Town Winchester, the Fairfield Inn & Suites easily is viewed by many as the ideal place to stay when taking in the sites and sounds of Winchester. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winchester Hotel Winchester
Fairfield Inn And Suites Winchester
Fairfield Inn Winchester
Fairfield Winchester
Winchester Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing