We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay while on a road trip”
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Bancroft
Level Contributor
144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great place to stay while on a road trip”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We enjoyed our night at this Sleep Inn. The front desk staff member was very welcoming and gave us information on the amenities offered. Our room was compact in size but very comfortable. It was just what we needed for a one night stay. A great breakfast was available. It included waffles, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereals, bread and bagels, and more. Eating at the hotel helped get our day off to a good start. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Look online for room variety.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    150
    60
    15
    15
See reviews for
137
141
25
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

After doing Smoky Mtn NP and covering at least 2/3's of the Blue ridge pkwy(Awesome baby) from Cherokee NC, we finally got back on the interstate(81) and were headed to Gettyburg the next day. Had a friend to visit in historic Winchestrr Va and had to get our 4th night at a Choice hotel for our 2 freebies. Went by trip advisor reviews and were not diss appointed.

Although not as nice as Comfort suites, this Sleep inn was fine. Only about $10 less than a CS. Service fine, breakfast same as others, busy area. Golden Corral next door(mooo) getting close to the greater DC area and you can tell, started to lose the southern hospitality drawl.

Would probably try a different hotel if in Winchester unless choice had the 2 fer deal.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seescokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Clean, good location. The so-called 'breakfast' is poor even by hotel standards. A microwaved sausage patty and a hard-boiled egg are poor protein choices. Having to eat breakfast at a restaurant each day of a three day trip made this a poor value for the price paid.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RKBOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
318 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is very pleasant. It is clean,quiet with wonderful rooms. The staff was very friendly. There is a Golden Corral next door. Everything is modern and up to date. It is across the road from Costco if you are interested.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Hobomonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We have stayed in this Sleep Inn many times. As recently as last week. The rooms are very clean, comfortable beds, quiet, a variety of choices at breakfast (which is included) and most of all the staff on the front desk are super. I would highly recommend this hotel. Good value for the price.
D. Easthope

Room Tip: The rooms have all been good. We like the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gottagoback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

When you stay there, be careful that you note anything missing from your room at check-in or you will likely be charged, Our experience was that we checked in about 7:30 p.m tired and asked for a quite room away from other guests. We were given a room at the end of the hall on the first level :) We wanted to wash our faces then go out to dinner. We noted that there were no towels, no soap or other amenities so we went to the front desk and spoke with Vivian. She gave us that and when we asked her where a good place to go for dinner, she suggested a restaurant. She said she was alone that night and so we brought her back a meal [she paid us]. When we started to bed, I noted that there were 4 pillows on one of the beds and only 3 on the other. SInce I didn't need any other pillows, I didn't tell the desk. We checked out and paid the bill the next morning. When we got our credit card bill, we'd been charged the correct amount for the room but an additional $14. I called to ask why. After over a week, I got a call back saying that we'd stolen a pillow. I denied it. Vivian said that they had a video tape and they'd check it but after several calls to try to straighten this out she said that only the manager could do that and he hasn't done it. Vivian did say that she was sure that we did not steal the pillow. She went to the manager to get authorization to issue a credit; he refused saying that they'd lost 6 dozen pillows that month. Unbelievable to me. Then I called my credit card company to dispute the charge for the pillow. I wanted them to charge it back to the motel. Maurice said that he'd credit my account but it was not worth his time to dispute $14 because it was their word against mine He said that happens more often than you'd think with motel operators to pad their bottom line. I spoke to Vivian again and she felt so bad because she said I know you didn't steal the pillow but I can't issue a credit or I'll lose my job. She did say that if we stopped again and she was on duty, she would reduce our rate for the night to compensate us.

Room Tip: Watch your credit card bill to see that you don't get charged for additional items. IF the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank refugee1046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

First the good news - the room was clean and a good price ($69). Now the bad news. When we used the sink the handle came off. Just needed an allen wrench to fix it but it hadn't been repaired. Shower was very slippery. Mentioned it at checkout and was told that Choice Hotels will not allow them to give rubber mats. I assume they will change their policy after a few law suits. It was suggested to put a towel down if I encounter the problem in the future. Shower head was stiff and could not be adjusted. Diverter in in tub was stiff so only half of water went to shower head. Breakfast was typical for Choice Hotels except the boiled eggs were not peeled. Still, I would stay there again due to price and location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank country1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#12 of 25 in Winchester
217 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites
Address: 140 Costello Dr, Winchester, VA 22602-4306
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#4 Family Hotel in Winchester
#4 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep Inn & Suites hotel in Winchester VA near Shenandoah UniversityThe Sleep Inn & Suites® hotel is conveniently located in the charming town of Winchester, less than one mile from Shenandoah University. This Winchester VA hotel is close to the Winchester Medical Center, the Winchester Regional Airport, Dinosaur Land theme park and Summit Point Raceway.For history buffs, the Winchester area is home to George Washington's Office Museum, the Stonewall Jackson House, the Stonewall Jackson Museum at Hupp's Hill, the Old Court House Civil War Museum, the historic Belle Grove Plantation and Cedar Creek Battlefield.For shoppers, Millwood Crossing, a renovated apple-packing warehouse, is home to several specialty shops, galleries and apple products. Visitors will enjoy an array of restaurants and cocktail lounges located in the surrounding area.Guests of this Winchester VA hotel will wake up each morning to a Free Morning Medley Hot Breakfast, including hard-boiled eggs, hot and cold cereals, Danishes, assorted breads and muffins, fresh Belgian waffles, fresh fruits, juice and, of course, the selective coffee.The hotel also offers additional amenities and features, such as free local calls, free weekday newspapers and free wireless high-speed Internet access.For a special treat, take a dip in the indoor heated pool. To keep everyone in shape, the on-site fitness center features a variety of cardiovascular and weight training equipment.Those traveling on business will appreciate conveniences like data ports, voice-mail, telephones and the business center, complete with computer, Internet access and fax and copy machines.All tastefully decorated guest rooms come equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. All rooms feature additional amenities like microwaves and refrigerators. Whirlpool suites and handicap accessible and non-smoking rooms are also available.Coin-operated laundry facilities and valet cleaning services are provided for guest convenience. The Sleep Inn & Suites hotel provides friendly customer service, relaxing accommodations and affordable rates to all types of travelers.We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn , Inn And Suites
Sleep Inn Hotel Winchester
Sleep Inn Winchester
Winchester Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing