We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor choice”
Review of Towne Place Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Towne Place Suites
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“poor choice”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The room was near an elevator which meant there was noise all night, at 2 and 3 am.Also you could clearly hear people walking above you. Found a dry piece of dog food in room. No shampoo, 2 bottles of conditioner. Internet was very sporadic. Will not stay here again, there are too many nicer places to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    99
    50
    22
    14
See reviews for
110
93
22
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This has become my "go to" place in Winchester. I come up for events at the racetrack and I've stayed here multiple times; the last at the end of October. Towneplace is a mid-scale Marriott property and as such is not a five star resort, but this is one of the nicer mid-scale Marriotts I've used. I've never been disappointed here. The rooms have always been clean, the staff friendly and helpful, and they have gone out of their way to be accommodating. Breakfast is usual Marriott hotel fare, but good enough and gets me started for the long days. They're now on my "saved" favorite hotels on the Marriott website.

As others have mentioned, the hotel is a little off the highway and you have to look for the signs as the building is not obvious. The positive is that it is far enough away from traffic and other noise sources to be nice and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavenBethinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Fully refundable $75 deposit for pets. No pet-free zone available. Other hotels on our journey that were pet-friendly had pets restricted to certain areas. Not so here. Any room you stay in could have had three dogs for a week just before. We cancelled our reservation and had to find another hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrh0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed at this hotel to and from a trip between New England and Florida. The hotel is relatively new with easy access to Interstate 81. We stayed with our cocker spaniel in a studio suite on the way to Florida and a 1 bedroom suite on the return trip home. Both rooms were clean and comfortable with kitchen accommodations and free continental breakfast was included. Room prices were very reasonable or only 7,500 Marriott points.The hotel is pet friendly and charges a $75.00 fee at check-in which is fully refunded at checkout providing there is no damage to the room. There were no hassles at checkout and the pet fee was refunded without question.

There is ample free parking with plenty of room for anyone towing a trailer. The hotel is conveniently located adjacent to a shopping plaza which contains a bank, gas station, several fast-food and sit-down restaurants, Starbucks, Petco, Tractor Supply and other retail establishments.

Overall we had a pleasant stay and the staff was friendly and helpful. The only negative was that the hotel is cheaply constructed and consequently the noise levels in the hallways and in the rooms above we're a bit distracting but not unlike other similar hotels in this class.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMP-NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millbrook
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at this property on the way to and from Myrtle Beach, a nice break in the trip. Had a 2 bdr suite with the CAA rate was 121$ Usual fare from Marriott, clean and comfy, just what was needed. Full kitchen which is handy as there is a wicked good grocery store MARTINS in the parking lot, perfect for a family not wanting to eat in a restaurant. Within walking distance to a decent bar, 2 pizza joints, Sonic drive thru. East on/off to I81 exit 315. Very basic breakfast DONT expect a big buffet, good for a quick start. Pet friendly. A note to management however. On both stays staff were noticed smoking beside the entrance door, perhaps give them a more discreet area. Some guests were visibly upset that there was no one at the checkout desk at 730 on a Sat. morning, when in fact the clerk was outside smoking. Will stay here again if I need a 2 bdr.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Argofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
212 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This our first time at a town place by Marriott. We stumbled upon it on our way to Florida. The place was a pleasant surprise for the money. Very much up to Marriott standards. The room was well supplied with refrig, microwave, sink and all the necessaries to prepare food in the room if you wish. Clean, comfortable and updated. The location was okay if this is for a stop along the way. Plenty of suitable eating establishments nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpatrickr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
158 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed here for approx 7.5 hours on the way home from a trip to Charlotte NC. I was using points, and the number of required points was really low, so I said what the heck. I really wasn't expecting much, but I was really surprised when I saw the room. It was kind of like a studio apartment, with bright and colorful furnishings. Full size fridge, stove, etc. Like I said, I didn't have much time to enjoy the place, but it sure seemed nice. It also included continental breakfast, which looked pretty standard for one of these places.

Oh, and if you happen to be traveling from the NYC area to Charlotte, this is roughly the halfway mark, and a good place to stop and recharge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reactor1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
5.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#5 of 25 in Winchester
623 reviews
2.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.4 mi away
Best Western Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Towne Place Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towne Place Suites

Property: Towne Place Suites
Address: 170 Getty Ln, Winchester, VA 22603-4835
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Towne Place Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Towne Place Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Winchester Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing