We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Towne Place Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Towne Place Suites
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Selma,NC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Just finished 4 days and 3 nights at this Winchester site and once again the friendly service, great prices, and spacious room made this trip an enjoyable experience. Our beagle, Logan, is treated so well he now considers Towne Place (Winchester,VA) his second home. My wife and I have never been disappointed with this location and look forward to our next trip to this wonderful area. The only negative thing about this Marriott --- so many others are finding out what a great location this is for pet lovers and their traveling families. Hard to find anyplace that always seems to put their best foot forward! Our Thanks to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thoroughbredmule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    98
    48
    22
    14
See reviews for
108
91
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

This hotel has a friendly staff, comfortable rooms and nice breakfast.

Room Tip: top floor recommended for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john5136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampton roads
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Check in was a breeze, got a very nice first floor room, which was convenient for the four of us. Well lit, well decorated, very very clean and well arranged. The room was spacious enough that we could spread out and relax, as well as having family visit for drinks after dinner. The bathroom was absolutely spotless, and the lobby and room smelled nice, which I find is not often the case in many hotels. My only, and very small, gripe was that the glasses in the kitchen could have been cleaner, but it was no big deal to wash them before using. The breakfast was free and tasty (waffles, pastries, yogurt, cereal, juice, etc.) The coffee wasn't too bad either. Really the nicest stay I've had in a long time, and a suite for less than 100 a night is a fabulous deal.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TidewaterNavyRetiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

I guess I just don't get excited about a clean room, comfortable bed, TV with all the channels, etc. Umm...these are sort of basic expectations, right? Even at a lower price point, I still expect my comforter to be washed (no unwashed coffee stains from previous guests), unspoiled food out of the food freezer, hi-speed wi-fi that is and most of all service. Personnel who when asked know the answer or tell you they don't and then take the initiative to find out.

I knew I was taking a risk. I wanted a Residence Inn, but there are none in this area. Tempted by the idea of a kitchen (didn't read the fine print...full kitchen ONLY in 2-bedroom), I took a chance. Luckily, I realized it was a chance and still booked a dual reservation for night 2 and beyond at a nearby Courtyard. We'll be moving there tomorrow.

Maybe I just hit them on a bad day --but, if you are used to full service hotels or the "full service business" hotel like a Courtyard you are probably not going to be thrilled. This was like a Farfield Inn version of a Residence Inn.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMRCTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

So glad I downloaded the app and found the reviews of this location! I was headed to NEPA a few days earlier and stayed at a competitor's location on the way up that I did not like at all. I knew I'd want to do another overnight on the way back home so looked to see what else was in the area. When I saw the reviews for TownePlace I knew that would be the best bet. I was not disappointed!

Great staff, sizeable room with fully equipped kitchen, tons of storage if you're staying for an extended stay, and a decent breakfast for free!! The bed was a bit soft, but I will still choose this location again if in the area.

Someone else said better signage is needed. I totally agree as there really is none at all, but until that changes, turn in where the strip mall for the Walmart is and follow Getty Lane to the property.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChiSox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head Island, SC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

This has all that you can ask for in an overnite stopping point. Clean, comfortable beds. Full-size fridge, big micro, kitchen sink. Nice LCD TV with HBO and plenty of channels. Desk to do your work and wireless high speed Internet. No restaurants at which to get a beer at the end of the day within walking distance but good breakfast in morning including make your own waffles. Staff was very nice and fitness room had new equipment.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leggman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

If I hadn't used my gps, this place is tough to find. Better signage is needed. However, these suites are only about 6 months old and in excellent shape. They are fully equipped, like a studio apt.. If you need a full kitchen, this is a more economical choice than say Residence Inn. The rooms are smaller than a Residence Inn, but still comfortable. I found the air conditioner a bit noisier than comparable hotels, there was only an ice machine on the first floor, and the coffee was a bit weak. Other than these small issues, it was a very nice stay. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was standard Marriott fare, with make your own waffles, biscuits, yogurt, bagels, etc. There is an outdoor (unseated) pool and an exercise room. If you are looking for a studio apt. type stay, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: They have several handicap accessible rooms, including people with hearing issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank titiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
5.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#5 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
1.8 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
2.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Towne Place Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towne Place Suites

Property: Towne Place Suites
Address: 170 Getty Ln, Winchester, VA 22603-4835
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Towne Place Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Towne Place Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Winchester Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing