We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultra modern but sooooo great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winchester
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Reviewed November 9, 2010

We were going hiking in Shenandoah National Park. This hotel was so central and so convenient. Brand new, recent opening!! Very basic, but if your hiking all day; as long as the room is clean and comfortable, it's great.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJHomeRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

490 - 496 of 505 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2010

The decor and clean lines are not like the other chain hotels you have to choose from in the area which is a plus. I prefer the more modern look so that was good. Room was clean enough, the furnishings new and the beds comfy. Shower was good. Price was good for what you got in the area. I liked the bench in the room. Room size was adequate for 2 in a king room. Liked having the mini refrigerator. The gym looked pretty good for a hotel in this area.

You do get some noise from the road unless you have a double queen room as those are the only rooms that don’t face the main street at all. Windows are thin and do not block it all out. Light seeps around from their cool shades but we were still able to sleep OK. The HVAC system is noisy...on...off...on. .. off.....Having said that, I sleep with earplugs so it was not a problem for me but the HVAC was an issue for my husband.

Traveling by myself would have presented no issues. But for two people, it was not optimal. The glass window in the shower/toilet area lets the light into the room from the and the sink is not enclosed behind a door. This makes it difficult for one person to get up in the middle of the night to use the toilet, get a drink, etc. without waking the other.

Minor annoyances...there is no place to hook up you iPod, despite what their Web site makes you think. We tried using their little “box”, spoke with the manger (who was in our room to fix the safe which was locked on arrival - couldn’t someone have checked that so we didn’t have to endure 2 people in our room trying got unlock it?) but ultimately, it was not possible (or if it was, NOBODY at the hotel knew how to do it). No place to hang your hand towel near the sink.

The hotel was fine for what it was and I would stay there again if going to Winchester. Staff seemed a tad inexperienced in smooth, sophisticated operations but friendly enough. This is not a Manhattan 4 star hotel so with exceptions set appropriately, it’s just fine.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BringHomeTroops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

aloft is a great value. New, clean and nice for $80...can't beat it. Check in and out was available from a kiosk in the lobby- we never actually spoke with an employee. There's a work out room, indoor pool, small lobby bar with pool table, etc. Some people will not like the ultra trendy theme which will certainly seem tacky in a few years (my wife thought that it's already tacky). Someone below mentions the frosted glass shower window (think Sebastian's apartment in Nip Tuck) which didn't bother us, but I can see how those traveling with kids or teens would dislike. You can't really see anything through it, but you can tell someone is in then shower.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank DCTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

This hotel is part of the "W" Hotel chain. It is a brand new building. It's not listed in the AAA book, so we didn't know about it until after we checked in and paid for another room down the street. We ate at the bar/restaurant though, and the food was good, the service very friendly, the hotel lobby, restaurant and bathrooms were very clean and stylish in a comfortable way. We wished we had stayed at this nice new hotel in Winchester. It was the best looking hotel/motel in the area. While we never saw one of the hotel rooms, other people in the bar/restaurant said the rooms were nice and clean.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

This hotel is staffed by a group of people eager to please. It was just opened in June of 2010 and has some great decor and good rooms. There are many hidden features in the rooms. For instance the mirror beside the sink is actually a door that separates the toilet shower area from the rest of the room.
The only complaints I have about this hotel are as follows.
Minor - If you want to have a cocktail in your room all they supply a paper coffee cups which begin to leak within about 20 minutes.
Major. Whoever designed the HVAC system should be required to go back to school. The system is located on one side of the room and the thermostat is located on the adjacent wall not 6 from the unit. This causes the unit to cycle on and off constantly (every 10 minutes) until the room comes to some kind of acceptable temperature. The thermostat should have been on the opposite side of the room. HVAC 101 in my mind and a major blunder. I would suggest arriving early, set the thermostat for your desired sleeping temperature and then go out for a few hours and hope the room comes up or down to the proper setting so you won't listen to the cycle all night.

Otherwise I really liked the place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

This is simply the best motel I have ever stayed at and the W corporation must be credited for raising the standard of quality of affordable lodging to the next level. The hotel is funky and immaculate. The staff was very helpful. Since the place was opened only 3 months ago, everything was new. The idea of Aloft is to create a hip and interesting lodging experience. This motel is so much better than every other motel I have ever stayed at, that I would recommend it to anybody. No, it is not for families, perhaps, but it is a great space for a solo traveler or a couple.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilsonphilips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We had a week reserved and spent one night here before moving to another hotel. Even though the hotel was new, it seemed old. We later found out it used to be a comfort inn that was redone. The room was the most uncomfortable room we have ever stayed in. The bed was hard as the floor. The bathroom provided very little privacy with the shower having a glazed window facing the bedroom. The room appeared to be a square with a partial wall cutting it in half. As you entered, you first saw the sink and a very small clothes hanging area. To the left was the toilet and shower. Walking straight forward you go through a doorway and the bed is on the right. The bed backs up to the bathroom area. Very odd configuration. There are NO drawers anywhere even even in the desk. No dresser either. No where to put your clothes or toiletries near the sink. No comfortable chair. The entire room was quite unusual and we would not recommend it for anyone, especially someone traveling with children because of the lack of bathroom privacy.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank retiredworker60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jseeders, General Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Winchester, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2010

Aloha retiredworker60,

It is a shame to hear of your brief experience and we wanted to let you know that your comments do not go un-appreciated. The Aloft is a unique brand and pride ourselves on being the latest tWist in travel. I assure you that we are not a renovation, but new property and our sleek style and green initiatives have been greatly received by our guests in the past.

The entire team appreciates your feedback and would be glad to welcome you back if you change your mind.

Sincerely,

Justin Seeders
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 25 in Winchester
414 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Winchester

Address: 1055 Millwood Pike, Winchester, VA 22602-4311 (Formerly Hotel Modern Winchester)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#13 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: $89 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Winchester 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it comes to Civil War history, the La Quinta Inn & Suites - Winchester hotel is the perfect landing spot to start your trip! Local haunts include Stonewall Jackson’s headquarters, the Old Court House Civil War Museum, Kernstown Battlefield, and Pritchard House. After spending your day touring the local hot spots, venture downtown to Historic Winchester to grab a bite at some of the local eateries. If you are looking for something special, take in a show at the Bright Box Theater or visit Patsy Cline’s house from the 1940’s and 50’s. As we’re located right in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, you cannot miss wandering the Museum of Shenandoah Valley and playing at the Shenandoah Valley Discovery Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Winchester Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing