We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, conveniently located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Modern Winchester
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very clean, conveniently located”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

This was our second visit to an Aloft property, and it definitely lived up to our expectations! Clean, modern, spacious and luxurious, Aloft is reasonably priced, close to major highways and near many restaurants, shops and more in Winchester. The king-sized bed was very comfortable, and I loved the modern bathroom and tiled shower. We stayed on the fifth floor and did not hear any road noise or other travelers. Our room had every amenity we could need, and we were sorry to have to leave so early! Wouldn't hesitate to recommend or stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarylandCupcakelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Hotel Modern Winchester, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear MarylandCupcakelover,
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your Aloft experience and liked our convenient location near many of the area’s best attractions. One way to fix a short visit is coming back! We hope to see you again very soon, and appreciate you taking the time to share your review. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    176
    78
    37
    20
See reviews for
149
173
40
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Aloft Hotel is a very modern appearing look and furnishings at a very good price. The bed is very comfortable and the room has ample space. Large flat screen TV on the wall, with connections for game consoles and other devices. Fast and free wifi. Friendly and helpful staff. Upscale furnishings at a value price, what's not to like.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank WVUNeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the ALoft Hotel in Winchester, Virginia for two nights while looking at real estate in the area. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable. The location was terrific with many restaurants directly across the street along with a grocery store and shopping. The hotel is located right off a major interstate highway and is easy to find.

We had a minor problem with the air conditioning but the staff took care of it immediately. The breakfast was so-so, but at least it was available to the guests at good prices.

When in Winchester stay here. You won't be disappointed.
M. Greg Miller
Millersville, PA

Room Tip: All rooms are equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

When we're on a long road trip there are several things we look for: a clean place with friendly staff, convenient on-off access to highway but not so close that we get serious road noise, nearby decent dining delivery services since we really, really don't want to get back in the car, dog friendly with clean dog walking area. This hotel had it all for us. Plus the king size bed was very comfortable. The only "nit" is that there was just one chair in the room making it awkward for both of us to sit comfortably to eat dinner. We liked the modern, trendy style. They really are pet friendly since -0- pet fee. Not like some places who are pet friendly at $100/nite per pet. For non-pet owners it appeared to us that the pets were grouped on the same floor so as not to bother those traveling without pets.

Room Tip: Although we didn't need it we ended up in a wheelchair access room that was huge. It was in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank winksHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan L, Starwood Hotels at Hotel Modern Winchester, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear winksHouston,
We are happy we exceeded your expectations and that you loved our hotel. As you mentioned, we are a pet friendly hotel and are glad your furry friend was able to enjoy our hotel as well. Thank you for sharing your kind review, and we hope to see you again for your next road trip through town. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

very clean and modern hotel,pet friendly and the staff was great. highly recommended.Close to major highways,plenty of places to eat,an overall enjoyable overnight stay.From previous experiance there are plenty of quality golf courses nearby.

Room Tip: 6th floor rooms are awesome with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luke127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

The first impression as you enter the lobby is that it feels like a warehouse - very open, concrete floors, metal instead of wood and warm carpeting. I think this would probably appeal to younger guests more. There is a pool table in the lobby, and more areas to sit and visit than in most hotels, which is a nice feature. The shower and amenities were wonderful! Loved the soap, the shower had dispensers with shampoo and shower gel and was great for my husband with disabilities. The sink area had a wall separating it from the sleeping area, which is nice for guests with varying sleep patterns. The alarm clock was retro, which I liked, and the beds were comfortable. The only thing we didn't like was that there was no comfortable way to just sit and watch TV and relax after a long day of driving. The TV was on the wall, and the seating was a bench under the TV, and one office-type chair at the built in desk next to the TV. The staff was friendly and helpful. The ice was bagged in the 'store' area where they sell breakfast items, which I found a bit odd but worked out just fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was my third visit to the aloft in Winchester and as always I had a very pleasant stay. The rooms are sparse but trendy and very clean and fresh. This is a convenient location where I stay the night before dropping and picking my daughter up from camp in West Virginia. The immediate area itself is not that attractive but it is only a few minutes away from historic Winchester with lots of quaint restaurants and shops. The lobby has some comfy chairs, complimentary computers and a small pool table and bar area. A couple of things that could be improved: There are no ice machines on the floors. You have to go down to the lobby to get a small plastic bag of ice from a mini fridge. Also, they make breakfast sandwiches but both recent times that I was there, no one was tending to the breakfast area. It seemed that the receptionist or someone in another part of the hotel was also the breakfast sandwich maker which made the wait 10- 15 minutes long. No big deal but if you're in a rush this might be frustrating. Otherwise, very satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarkeVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.9 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modern Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modern Winchester

Property: Hotel Modern Winchester
Address: 1055 Millwood Pike, Rt. 50 East, Winchester, VA 22602-4311 (Formerly aloft Winchester)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#13 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Modern Winchester 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Modern Winchester is nestled in Winchester, VA, a community tucked away in picturesque Shenandoah Valley and full of history. Whether you have half a day to enjoy or are planning a week long vacation, our Winchester hotel's accessible location and hip style will answer all your needs. For a change of scenery, head out and about and peruse the Historic District for the perfect gift and step foot on some of our nation's Civil War battle sites. You will be glad you made the trip! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Modern Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Winchester Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing