We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and well-run”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Modern Winchester
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Reviewed August 25, 2013

After a long drive from Nashville, we were thrilled to walk through the doors of this Aloft. We were warmly greeted by Josh, who quickly and efficiently checked us in. Our room had 2 double beds which were very comfortable. The room was large, quiet, very clean and smelled fresh. In the morning we got breakfast sandwiches downstairs, prepared by a somewhat colorful character - which was convenient for us before getting back on the road. Although our stay was for just one night, I would definitely recommend this property for its friendliness, cleanliness and location adjacent to I-81. Thanks, everyone, for a restful night!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rumurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Hotel Modern Winchester, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear rumurr,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We're thrilled to hear we were a nice respite on your road trip from Nashville. It's great to hear that you experienced a smooth check in, enjoyed your guest room, took advantage of our made-to-order breakfast in re:fuel, and benefitted from our convenient location. Thanks for sharing and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Modern Winchester
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 498 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

My family stayed here 8-16-13 for a couple nights and we were impressed by this hotel. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the hotel is spotless and the decor is modern and fun. My three children (age 8, 4, and 2) had a great time time playing in the pool and in the video center. There's a great exercise center and restaurant/bar with access to a large enclosed patio. The rooms were average size but it felt lighter because of the way everything was organized and arranged. The beds and the modern shower were AMAZING!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DelawareMamaof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Hotel Modern Winchester, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear DelawareMamaof3,
Thank you for your kind review. We're so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your recent visit to Winchester. It's great to hear that the kids took advantage of the pool and you enjoyed the room. Thanks for sharing and we hope to welcome you and your family back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was the first time to stay at the Aloft hotel. The atmosphere was very uplifting with colorful banners from on the outside as well as inside. The European feel of the room was different but invigorating. We found the front desk personnel to be friendly and helpful. The room was clean. The bedding was comfortable but not as nice as some hotels. We loved having the frig in the room as well as the coffee pot. There was no free breakfast and my husband had to buy milk at the LIberty gas station next door b/c the Aloft only had chocolate milk.

Room Tip: We had a great view of the area on the sixth floor.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bw5638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We found this hotel while on the road traveling from CT to our new home in SC.
My wife, pooch and me we're recommended this hotel by a local Holiday Inn. We chose the HI based on our previous stay at the Holiday / Surfside South Carolina which accepted dogs (see our review). Unfortunately this one did not and directed us there.
Walked into their lobby...21st century modern without being sterile or stuffy.
Check in was easy - room on the 3rd floor. It could have been featured in Architectural Digest.
We did not have the time to take advantage of its many amenities however quite a few guests did in our short stay there.
One other thing - they were very considerate of young kids offering up pool tables, internet - and though boisterous they looked to be having fun.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob and karin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Hotel Modern Winchester, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear rob and karin m,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent visit to Winchester. We hope the move went well. We're ecstatic to hear that you gave us a chance and enjoyed your stay with your pup! We hope you enjoy your new home in South Carolina and return to the Aloft the next time you're in Winchester! Thanks for sharing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We purchased a voucher from Groupon for this hotel, and were amazed when we entered this hotel. The rooms are built to resemble lofts, very spacious, modern, clean and comfortable. Definitely worth at least twice or more than we paid. There is something for everyone - pool, billiards table, complimentary coffee, tea, etc. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itscarolyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our first experience passing through Winchester, we decided to take a chance on something different. Aloft did not disappoint, great staff and super comfortable king size bed, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Scored a nice rate on priceline bid...a very nice rate...and drew this hotel. Couldn't have been happier. Stopped here on our way home from vacation and am pleased as punch. Cool retro/Euro decor, spotless rooms, trendy lobby, pool, strong WiFi in the rooms. Love it! Will seek out this chain again!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at Hotel Modern Winchester, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Dear rhoke,
Thank you for your kind review. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and it exceeded your expectations. We hope to welcome you back to the Aloft the next time you're in Winchester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.9 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 25 in Winchester
410 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modern Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modern Winchester

Address: 1055 Millwood Pike, Rt. 50 East, Winchester, VA 22602-4311 (Formerly aloft Winchester)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#13 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: $87 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Modern Winchester 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Modern Winchester is nestled in Winchester, VA, a community tucked away in picturesque Shenandoah Valley and full of history. Whether you have half a day to enjoy or are planning a week long vacation, our Winchester hotel's accessible location and hip style will answer all your needs. For a change of scenery, head out and about and peruse the Historic District for the perfect gift and step foot on some of our nation's Civil War battle sites. You will be glad you made the trip! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Modern Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Winchester Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing