We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky chic Pleasant surprise off Interstate 81”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Modern Winchester
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Funky chic Pleasant surprise off Interstate 81”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Husband & I traveling from Asheville to New York up interstate 81. We wanted to stop overnight about halfway. Decided on Winchester Virginia. Read that they had an historical downtown. Thought it'd be nice to walk around after a day of driving.
Went on Hotwire and did the old book blindly three star for $77. Worked out well. The Aloft was a pleasant surprise. Very funky European design. A welcome change from the disguising bedspreads and carpets of tired motel rooms.
May not be everyone's cup of tea but I loved it. Room lay out fit the king bed well facing a wall mount flat screen over a leather bed with desk. The closets and bowl sink are separated by a partition wall behind the bed and the toilet & shower by a pocket door , all beautifully tiled (no tub) which was a nice change. Bliss bath products & fluffy towels.
One shower wall is all smoked glass facing into bedroom. I guess you can make out the person if you really tried but you are sharing a bed.
Don't stay here if you're looking for warm and friendly, this is non B&B. they have snacks & coffee available for purchase. You can sit in their very funky lounge. Reminds me of Virgin Airlines design. We were scared about the reviews regarding parties going on the lounge. We didn't see any and unless you're hanging out in the bar, it shouldn't effect you.
You will not receive helpful advice about the area from the staff. (At least the girl we encountered at the front desk). Like I said this is no B&B.
The location was great for travel on I 81 but about 2 - 3 miles from the downtown area. Hotels near by we're the Red Roof in & Best Western. Lots of chain restaurants nearby but you'll need to drive or walk about 2 miles to get anything else. We walked to the paper
Mill diner (a local favorite) but we like to walk. Especially before starting a 5 hour drive. Husband tried scrapple - yuck.
Old Down town was weird. I believe I feel that way due to the time of our arrival. Must have been 5:30 Saturday? Pretty much everything closes at 4 so it was dead. Scary ghost town dead. Plenty of parking, meters stop at 4 too. Lots of restaurants waiting for people. It did liven up a bit as we ate at Brewbakers - ok pub, we got spoiled in Asheville. If you going go early to see sites.
For the price the hotel was fantastic. We pay $75 for a flop house in Asheville (but it was down town). If you appreciate funky style & design Aloft is for you.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denheinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    176
    78
    37
    20
See reviews for
149
173
40
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
cape may, nj
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

False advertising. Bar supposed to be open 630 to 11 PM. Arrived at 10:30 told no alcohol, Wanted a drink to relax after a long drive. Reason we picked aloft. Always appreciate the rooms And the pool table

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank milkmaid66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

A welcome change from the cookie cutter hotel chains of the past. Some unique design features makes me feel transported to Europe, even in Winchester. Dog friendly, small fridge and nice tv in the room. Plenty of outlets. Convienent location. Bar and entertainment in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jorgensen2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I enjoyed the design features of the room, but had issues with some things. The bed felt like I was sleeping on a slab of cement, and I couldn't get up early to shower without waking up my partner because of the window in the shower that looks out by the bed, and the close-up photo of cow fur over the bed was--unique! My biggest issue was the fact that there were loud parties going on throughout the hotel until just before I had to get up. I was later told that some students from the nearby university actually live in the hotel. If I'd wanted to stay in a dorm, I could have stayed at the school!

Room Tip: find a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nightowl16144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We thought hotel is good after reading others review but when we went there the front desk lady was very rude and not helpful and looked she does not care of customer and in night about 10pm when we came back after a trip from town found there is no parking and when we went inside we saw a big party going on near the lobby with very loud sound and again the same frond desk lady told they rent the lobby/bar every weekend for party and so there is no parking and told us to come back after 2-3 hrs when the party is over to find parking and we cant believe she said that even we are guest of the hotel they do not care and looks like they are just trying to make money by giving the space for party.We also saw people drinking even with kids around and few people drinking even in parking space and as we have kid of 6 year we did not feel safe and we stay in so many hotels and never saw such bad environment and not sure how can they allow people drink in parking lost with kids around and should complain to police and so will recommend no one to stay and if you have kids never think of staying in this hotel as you will only find party with loud noise and no parking spot and rude font desk.Mark my words...

Room Tip: As said do not stay in this hotel and there are many other good 4 star hotels near by with cheap pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Aloft hotels are a nice option for a quick stay, the bathrooms are nice and TV set up is great but not movies at this location, very dog friendly.
There is not microwave and very little choices to grab a bite there's only old sandwiches and junk down in the lobby, very limited choices in walking distance. The staff is great, gym and pool are also great. A few drawbacks a little pricey for the area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worksleeptravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I rented the Aloft Hotels patio for a birthday party and it was above AWSOME! The staff was very accomadating and gave excellent customer service! Several of my guests and I stayed there and the rooms are very modern, clean and nice!
I highly reccomend this hotel and I actually use it to put up my clients from out of town there!

Room Tip: It is also pet friendly!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeanettD66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.9 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Modern Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Modern Winchester

Property: Hotel Modern Winchester
Address: 1055 Millwood Pike, Rt. 50 East, Winchester, VA 22602-4311 (Formerly aloft Winchester)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#13 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Modern Winchester 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Modern Winchester is nestled in Winchester, VA, a community tucked away in picturesque Shenandoah Valley and full of history. Whether you have half a day to enjoy or are planning a week long vacation, our Winchester hotel's accessible location and hip style will answer all your needs. For a change of scenery, head out and about and peruse the Historic District for the perfect gift and step foot on some of our nation's Civil War battle sites. You will be glad you made the trip! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Modern Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Winchester Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing