We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun , new hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of aloft Winchester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
aloft Winchester
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Ashland, Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun , new hotel”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

By chance, stayed at this hotel after hiking on the Appalachian trail. Friendly staff, and the modern or "hip", as the hotel calls it, decor was fresh and fun. Large rooms with two queen beds, and double sinks outside a large walk-in shower, with a toilet area. Breakfast was a la carte but very reasonable, and they provide handled brown bags to pack up a lunch or breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    170
    77
    34
    16
See reviews for
140
168
35
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

Friendly staff upon arrival and departure. Our room had a view of the Super 8 next door. Modern lobby and rooms with flat screen TV. Mini fridge was a nice touch and the complimentary bottles of water are as well. As another user mentioned, you can hear the doors of other guests close loudly but luckily everyone was settled in before 11 pm. The pillows were a bit too soft for me personally but all in all, I would stay again. There are no other competitors in the area when it comes to the decor/vibe. Didn't visit the bar area but there were a few guests there and playing pool.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsPerfection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Reasonable & clean, colorful, modern boutique hotel. Very nice helpful staff. Best muffins that are made on site. Pool table in lobby...looks like a fun place for younger crowd, although we're older & still enjoyed!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilovetheCotswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1,666 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012 via mobile

Its the details that matter when it comes to hotels. Little flaws point to bigger problems. The room I was in looked worn, the covers on the hallway light fixtures were coming off or improperly attached, and it was not a typical Aloft experience.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alzor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We booked a one night stay through priceline's name your own price feature. We paid $46 for the room. It was well worth the $46. They have a fitness center, a small saltwater pool, a pool table, and a bar along with a snack bar in the lobby. The rooms were very clean. The beds were lumpy but not bad. The rooms have a very modern shower but do not have bathtubs. We could hear some noise from the road but not enough to keep us awake. It is a hotel that is more for singles or executives. We had our two small children with us. One child slept on the other queen bed and the hotel provided an aero bed (complete with Hello Kitty sheets) for our 3 year old.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Clean, modern hotel with bright happy colors and terrific rates. No extra charge for a small pet and he even gets a big Milk-Bone dog biscuit! The staff is friendly and helpful. Don't plan on eating anything "substantial". Little snacks, mostly healthy and drinks also. There is a bar, pool table, a swimming pool and there are many restaurants and stores within walking distance. A comfortable place with a small room....kind of European style...but with everything you need. A lot of room in a small space. The hotel did have many menus and web-sites for nearby restaurants...just ask. No ice or vending machines on every floor seemed kind of strange, but not such an awful inconvenience. Bliss toiletries provided...nice touch, also. Most hotels this comfortable and clean charge a lot more money. I guess it depends what your priorities are.

Room Tip: My only tip would be to bring your own coffee and coffee maker. The coffee in the room, as in most h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bevo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We needed to spend a night in Winchester, and when we used Priceline to get a cheap room, we ended up booking the Aloft. It sounded fun on their website, so we were happy. Then we saw that they're 100% smoke-free and we were THRILLED, we didn't have to make a phone call requesting that! The Priceline raiting for the hotel was 3-star, so I expected that.

The hotel was good - the room was clean, the beds were pretty comfy, I appreciated the decor and fun colors and design throughout. The in-room amenities were sufficient - soap and lotion at the sink, dispensers 2-in-1 shampoo/conditioner (didn't try it) and body wash (smelled great) that reminded me of being on a cruise but unfortunately we weren't ;) , two free bottles of water that we put in the small refrigerator and were GREAT the next VERY hot day, coffee maker (without much creamer or Splenda, as usual for hotels), etc. Free WiFi made things easier, too. The pool and exercise room looked good, but we didn't get a chance to visit them. The lounge area also looked nice, but again, no time for us. :)

Our biggest downfalls were that we were travelling with younger children, and the sinks, although fun in design, were very challenging for our kids to manage because of their height (and our kids are tall!)... it would have been nice to be offered a stool since they were so much higher than most sinks. We also found the shower (no tub) a bit of a bummer, simply because the shower head wasn't hand-held, so it was challenging to clean two shorter bodies. ;) My husband and I were fine with the shower, of course. The chairs in the room (desk chair and a bench) were uncomfortable, but I probably wouldn't have noticed if I wasn't trying to fill my time quietly while my kids were sleeping.

There were convenience-food items available for purchase by the lobby, which was nice to have, but they were much pricier than if you just ran to a closeby store for the same items. I understand that, but wished I could have justified the cost of a breakfast sandwich in the hotel. :)

Overall, for the price we paid, I was pleased with our stay. I do think the star-rating was a bit off... it seemed to me pretty similar to 2.5-stars like Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express, just without the free breakfast.

Room Tip: Outside noise was pretty noisy - if you don't have a sound machine or white noise app on your ip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.9 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 25 in Winchester
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to aloft Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Winchester

Property: aloft Winchester
Address: 1055 Milwood Pike, Rt. 50 East, Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#13 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Winchester 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Winchester Hotelis nestled in Winchester, VA, a community tucked away in picturesque Shenandoah Valley and full of history. Whether you have half a day to enjoy or are planning a week long vacation, our Winchester hotel's accessible location and hip style will answer all your needs. Enjoy our hotel amenities, whether you meet, mix and mingle at w xyzSM bar or play in re:mixSM lounge. Or for a change of scenery, head out and about and peruse the Historic District for the perfect gift and step foot on some of our nation's Civil War battle sites. You will be glad you made the trip! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your aloft Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Winchester Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing