We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Unique Experience”
Review of aloft Winchester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
aloft Winchester
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Reisterstown, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cute Unique Experience”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This is a gem in Winchester. A unique modern hotel, with all the amenities anyone could need. The only problem I encountered was the service at the bar was very slow. I enjoyed my time there and had a fun experience in the hotel. The pool is great and the Fitness center is wonderful. Comfortable bed and large TV!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    174
    77
    36
    16
See reviews for
143
171
39
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kitty Hawk, NC
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Wife and I are retired and booked the room on HW so got it by chance alone. The review by Zinger is quite accurate and says many and even more of the same things that I noticed and would agree with in my observations. We appreciate a daily paper and complimentary breakfast with our stays and Aloft provides neither and did not give us any information about the ReFresh "pantry" that others comment about in reviews.
As noted in another review we stayed at the end of March and the hotel did seem rather hot and particularly the halls; we ran the AC all night.
Two of the oddest things about the room are the design and lack of comfort. There is only one functional but creaky chair by the desk and the only other seating is a hard bench UNDER the flat screen TV facing the bed. The door opens to reveal a full view of whomever is standing in front of the wash basin and mirror.........so if your partner has just emerged from the shower anyone in the hall will get a full view if you happen to enter the room just then. Also, no glasses in room only paper cups and only 2.
Wife did not comment about the bed but there were only two really small pillows on it and we did find another larger one above the rather tiny clothes hanging area.....which does not qualify for any other description as it does have only a few hangers and minimal space.
This hotel would likely be best suited and highly rated by singles and road warriors or small groups of business people who seemed to be congregating in the noisy small bar area just next to the welcome desk.
Tip: The China Garden restaurant two doors away and a very short walk is very good and a local rated it as best in the area as we talked with him when entering. They have buffets only in the afternoon and Wednesday evening so don't be misled by their sign.....but menu items were quite tasty and we both recommend the hot and sour soup for those who like it.

Room Tip: No glasses in room so take up some empty coffee cups from coffee area if you will need them. Good C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OBXRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This is a nice looking hotel with a modern design. The lobby had an open feel with a bar, pool table and games available. The rooms are clean but we found it very warm for the middle of winter and actually turned on the AC. My husband slept well; however, I found the bed uncomfortable. The evening we decided to eat at the hotel, there was a party in a room off the lobby. They seemed to be short staffed. The young lady at the front desk took our order. The food was average, but reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jam214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Our son is a student at Shenandoah University and we love staying here when we come in town for his lacrosse games! The rooms are modern & clean. There is free wireless, a big tv with lots of channels, and the staff are Fabulous! Bobby at the front desk is always professional, pleasant and helpful...no matter how many times we ask him questions! The hotel is convenient to the university and you are close to many restaurants and stores as well. Keep up the good work - we will be back next week!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chintzq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This was our first stay at an aloft hotel and we were not disappointed. The parking is free. The entrance is ultra modern with computer(or very friendly and helpful human ) check in . The rooms were minimalist but highly functional with no wasted space. Excellent large shower only bathrooms. Free WiFi. Windows are well insulated from highway noise.
Good quality exercise equipment in the small but airy GYM.
The location is close to I 81(1/2 mile) and surrounded by restaurants. The mall is 1 mile.

Room Tip: No concerns
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZingerOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I was on a pleasure trip with my wife and was curious to try this new concept that Starwood has launched to attract millenials. So, let me mention two caveats:

1) This is a clean, well run hotel.
2) My concerns pertain only to the design of the guest room and the lobby. The hotel's concept is targeted at a demographic of 2-3 decades younger than me and it just didn't work for me.

Excellent service. Had a problem with a slow drain. Fixed promptly. Friendly people at the registration desk and housekeeping staff. Modern decor with all elements in great condition. It's very European in style. Superb fitness room.

But I would not return. In the evenings, the lobby becomes a "friends" type hangout, very loud. On check in couldn't hear the desk clerk above the din of socializing in the adjacent bar area.

But my main problem was the guest room:

- Big king bed, lots of floor space, but no comfortable chair or coffee table area to sit at. Just a desk chair that is functional but not relaxing.
- Flat screen TV on wall opposite the bed. No place to watch it–or to read, for that matter–except in the bed. There was a leather bench type piece built into the wall directly below the screen. It was useful only for putting your suitcase on it.
- Dark decor, plain walls, no pictures, gave it a cold atmosphere
- No glasses provided. You can use the paper coffee cups if you want a glass.
- Awkward clothes rack held only five hangers and difficult to access.
- Bottom line, not a room conducive to relaxing in (and did I mention that the lobby was too loud? So where does one go?)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyager075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Jamie and Amy are quite the duo. I watched them run raged while making sure every customer felt special. When in the area again, I will definately choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh R, Manager at aloft Winchester, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Rodney R,

Thanks for the comments!

"The Night Crew" is a terrific bunch of people! We appreciate everything they do for our guest and for us.

Jamie came up with the idea to do Karaoke on Friday Nights from 8pm-11pm in the W XYZ Lounge. Its been a great success so far and we hope more of our guest can join us for this.

We can't wait to see you again soon!

Thanks,

Josh Reichert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.9 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to aloft Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Winchester

Property: aloft Winchester
Address: 1055 Millwood Pike, Rt. 50 East, Winchester, VA 22602-4311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#13 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Winchester 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Winchester Hotelis nestled in Winchester, VA, a community tucked away in picturesque Shenandoah Valley and full of history. Whether you have half a day to enjoy or are planning a week long vacation, our Winchester hotel's accessible location and hip style will answer all your needs. Enjoy our hotel amenities, whether you meet, mix and mingle at w xyzSM bar or play in re:mixSM lounge. Or for a change of scenery, head out and about and peruse the Historic District for the perfect gift and step foot on some of our nation's Civil War battle sites. You will be glad you made the trip! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your aloft Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Winchester Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing