We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Ranked #6 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Even though there was a very bad storm the night we stayed, the hotel and staff did an excellent job. Our stay was very comfortable and the hotel staff was ready to care for us should there be a difficult weather situation. They kept us advised, kept us off of the elevator and directed us to the lobby should it get worse and should the power go off. The room was clean and comfortable and the rate was acceptable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broke-and-Hungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    180
    54
    32
    24
See reviews for
227
169
41
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Here for my last day after being here for a week. The hotel is nice and clean in appearance and well decorated. The staff was very nice and professional and treated me well. My room AC worked less than very well and the staff had to keep doing a reset on the computer each afternoon or the room would get too warm. I should have moved the first day but I was already unpacked. Next time I'll make the move right away. I ate breakfast here daily. It was typical for the most part. The "Fresh" pastries were anything but. Not very good and pretty stale. I asked for eggs scrambled well one day and they were so soft I couldn't eat them. The guy cooks some excellent Bacon though. The oatmeal wasn't all that good and the Nuts that sat by them were very stale. I try and eat Oatmeal daily but theirs wasn't very good. I never ate dinner here. Overall I liked this place and I've already booked it for some upcoming work later this summer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigfoot424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Requested a room months before my stay date - always away from the elevator. My room was NEXT to the elevator and the hotel was sold out, so I couldn't move. Screeching and beeping all night long through the wall next to my head. Had to go to the drug store to buy ear plugs, which were not offered in the hotel lobby store. Beds are comfy and full, but a bit lumpy in places. Also, the pool and whirlpool were cold and dirty, with no locker room to change. Fitness room was very small, but clean. Chef cooked a mean omellette, but waitstaff lacked personality and spunk. Went through 4 slices of moldy bread before I hit a clean piece for toasting. No bowls laid out for cereal. No silverware/placemats on bar. No coffee offered at bar, just tables - had to get a paper cup to get my own. Breakfast is NOT complementary here - for $10 pp, I expected more. Greeting/reception area was clean and staff was friendly and offered exceptional information. Would be wise due to their location to expand the pool/fitness area and add spa services to draw people in. For a Hilton, it's not up to par.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

The evening desk clerk was amazingly hospitable. We checked in with young kids late at night so we didn't have the desire for a prolonged check-in. He zipped us through so fast that the kids didn't even have time to stop walking! The breakfast staff was equally gracious and attentive. I wish all hotels were like this one!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biglawboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Nice room with HBO & large bath. Friendly staff, good food.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmwood, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I love Hilton Garden Inn. We try to stay at this hotel as much as possible. Here is issue with them. They are the most outwardly environmentally irresponsible hotel in their class. I recently stayed at the Sherton and they has recycling bins in the hotel rooms and on each floor for paper, plastic 1 & 2, glass and cans same goes for The Holiday Inn. They used recycled toilet paper that was soft and tissue. You had the option of getting your towels changed instead of it being automatic. Zero recycling at the Hilton Garden Inn and our towels get changed out even if they were not dirty. One of the biggest no brainer irritations I saw was their use of styrofoam take out containers in their restaurant. The cook put my one egg in this huge stryrofoam container just so I could take it up to my room eat it and throw the container away. Styrofoam is forever. If you added up all the Hilton hotels they could have a large impact on the environment world wide and other hotels would follow suit. Even if a person isn't into the environment, pollution affects everyone.

Other than my biff about the waste at the Garden Inn, everything else is great. I will give them their props for the use of compact light bulbs and salt water pools. It is a step.

Oh yeah, Hilton Garden Inn did not have a wheel chair for guests to use. I have never been to a hotel that didn't have one.

Room Tip: Ask if the bed has been checked to see if it works. They use sleep number beds and many of them are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighWoodHerbals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This is a typical Hilton Garden Inn, and that is mostly good. Very nice, clean property and rooms, good amenities, good breakfast, friendly staff, above average room service. The big problem are the beds. These adjustable beds that you find at this brand just do not work half the time, as was the case with this visit. No matter where I set the dial, the bed remained hard as a rock. Now, I'm sure some manager may reply to this review and try to put the blame on me for not contacting the front desk, but I'm getting tired of the blame shift game too. The only reasonable solution would have been to change rooms, and I was not about to do that after a long day and traveling with three other people including a young child. The real solution is to avoid the chain, and I may have to start doing so.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LYHtraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.4 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#5 of 25 in Winchester
637 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Winchester

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Address: 120 Wingate Dr, Winchester, VA 22601-4457
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Winchester
#8 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#11 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Winchester 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing