We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Winchester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Winchester
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have stayed at this Red Roof location before and have always had a positive experience. Housekeeping did a great job keeping my room tidy. The front desk staff was has happy to go out of their way to ensure everything was up to my standards. I even received a phone call shortly after entering my room to ensure everything worked and that I was happy with the room. It's rare that I receive calls like that. I would certainly stay at this location again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Winchester, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thanks for your kind words about our staff members. I'm very glad to hear that you really enjoyed your stay. Please give us another chance in the future to serve you again. Thanks very much.

Judy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    82
    63
    27
    39
See reviews for
76
90
44
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Upstate Ny
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

When we checked in, I was happy the room wasn't worse.
(Dog hair here and there, corners not vacuumed,
filthy mirrors, stains in the tub...ok...tried not to be too fussy for the price.)
When we tried the bed--it was hard, horrid, and felt like lying
on box springs. What the ?
IMMEDIATELY went to check out & was told NO REFUND,
even for the 2nd nite we had reserved.
Later via e-mail attempting to get a refund was told we
stayed the entire night so tough--still: NO REFUND.
So they not only have a lousy place, the desk clerk messes
up the records and says I stayed one night when I didn't?
What? The toilet was broken also and continued to run--
bad to worse experience. Best Western is about the same
cost (down the street) and 100% better!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cls265UpstateNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Winchester, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
I'm very sorry to hear that you were not able to enjoy your stay with us. I want to let you know that recently we have made some changes in our housekeeping policies and we are doing everything we can to ensure that our guest don't run into any problems during their stay. I would like to encourage you to read our recent reviews on hotels.com or expedia.com to see that we have better reviews than best westren down the street from us. I hope you give us another chance in the future to earn your business back. Thanks.

Judy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Pro - Pet friendly for free, Kinda cheap if you have a coupon and if they accept it. Cons- smelly room, hard full size beds, no fridge no microwave, door hard to open an close, breakfast was bages, toast, little mini muffins, and two blah cerals, orange jucie tasted horriable

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Winchester, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thanks very much for leaving us a reviews for your stay. We will definitely try our level best to make sure rooms don't have any particular smell. I would like to make you aware that our deluxe rooms have a mini fridge-micro available but they are not the same price as our basic rooms. Thanks again and hope to see you soon.

Judy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed one night May 2013. Should have checked out that evening. Check in was not friendly. Went to room and noticed that the box spring looked very old but the mattress was sealed in a clean cover. We were tired from many hours on the road so we stayed. Bathroom had cheap laminate over whatever it was hiding. It was not looking good. the ccarpet was sticky. Climbed into bed and could feel the mattress springs. We left at 6:20 am without touching the minimal breakfast. After a few minutes on the road a black spider fell from my head!!!! About 3 hours later a much larger one fell out of my hair. Needless to say I scratched in horror until I got my next shower!!!
There were many travellers stopping for the night!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgal131474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Winchester, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Please accept our sincere apology for everything went wrong during your stay. You can read our reviews on hotels.com or expedia.com to see that our check in staff has been very friendly and helpful. Also, we have updated our mattresses in some rooms and we will be replacing some more soon. I hope that you try us again in your future travel needs.

Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusby, Md
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

The room was fairly clean (except the microwave and fridge). Looked like it needed a good wiping down. Our remote was sticky (Don't even want to fathom why). We bought Lysol wipes. The breakfast consisted of mini muffins, cereals, bagels and waffles. We only got muffins to tie us over till we went to breakfast. Other than that we had a pleasant stay. The staff was really friendly and was receptive to our needs. Plenty of ground to walk your dog. Couldn't really hear the traffic. Which was great for me cause I am a light sleeper. Would stay here again. Love that they don't charge extra for your pet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniii8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Winchester, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Very nice to hear that our price is very reasonable and you were able to enjoy your stay with us. Thanks and hope to see you soon.

Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Plymouth, New York
Level Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Had a superior king room. Housekeeping extremely poor. Dust, dirt & bordered entire perimeter of room. Mirrors greasy & foggy, window even worse. Could feel every spring in the mattress. Other side of the Inn looked pretty seedy, as if rooms were rented by the hour. The breakfast was done nicely & the inn is quiet at night. First & only Red Roof we've ever been unhappy with. If this was our one & only Red Roof experience, we never would have become repeat customers.

Room Tip: Would not recommend this Red Roof Inn, even for a night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljc2tall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Winchester, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We have recently made some changes in our housekeeping policies to make sure that rooms get cleaned thoroughly without cutting corners. Also, mattresses in our superior king rooms have been replaced with new ones as well as they have 40" flat screen LCD TV's. Please give us another chance to make you our repeat guest again.

Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I stopped in here for rest during my trip north last week.
Hotel is clean, room was ok but the bed was a bit old and not real comfortable.
The noise level was louder then I prefer and it seemed that some of the guest might be living there longer term.
There was nowhere to plug in a laptop or anything else at the desk.
Ive had better for the price. It is close to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank floatmanjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
aloft Winchester
aloft Winchester
#14 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#12 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Winchester

Property: Red Roof Inn Winchester
Address: 991 Millwood Pike, I-81 at Millwood Pike, exit #313/313-A, Winchester, VA 22602-4380
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Winchester 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Red Roof Inn Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester
Winchester Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing