We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not up to par for Red Roof Standards” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Winchester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Winchester
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
South Plymouth, New York
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Not up to par for Red Roof Standards”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Had a superior king room. Housekeeping extremely poor. Dust, dirt & bordered entire perimeter of room. Mirrors greasy & foggy, window even worse. Could feel every spring in the mattress. Other side of the Inn looked pretty seedy, as if rooms were rented by the hour. The breakfast was done nicely & the inn is quiet at night. First & only Red Roof we've ever been unhappy with. If this was our one & only Red Roof experience, we never would have become repeat customers.

Room Tip: Would not recommend this Red Roof Inn, even for a night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljc2tall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Winchester, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
We have recently made some changes in our housekeeping policies to make sure that rooms get cleaned thoroughly without cutting corners. Also, mattresses in our superior king rooms have been replaced with new ones as well as they have 40" flat screen LCD TV's. Please give us another chance to make you our repeat guest again.

Judy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    80
    61
    26
    39
See reviews for
75
87
42
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I stopped in here for rest during my trip north last week.
Hotel is clean, room was ok but the bed was a bit old and not real comfortable.
The noise level was louder then I prefer and it seemed that some of the guest might be living there longer term.
There was nowhere to plug in a laptop or anything else at the desk.
Ive had better for the price. It is close to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank floatmanjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Staff at reception were attentive and polite. Room was clean and bathroom was spacious.
Like all hotels carpet should be replaced by tiles for easier upkeap.
Restaurants are close by as well as easy acces to interstate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank taxman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel several times on our trip to and from the southern USA. This motel has upgraded their rooms , and have elevated their standards of cleanliness. Our superior room on our last stay, was well equipped and clean. The breakfast was adequate and had several choices, including fresh fruit. Very good value. The new management are doing a good job!! Wifi is a real asset!

Room Tip: Book non smoking, superior rooms . Look for early booking specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy T, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Winchester, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you for the excellent review of our Red Roof Inn in Winchester VA. Thank you for the nice comments about our management team. We are glad that you enjoyed staying in our superior king room. Our housekeeping staff will be delighted to hear your comments as well. Very high praise which we genuinely appreciate and we will continue to strive to provide the best service possible to you and all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinesville, Ga
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The room was decent. I read that the rooms had been redone recently. However, they either didn't spend money on new beds or kept the old ones. The room was clean and nice, but after a couple of nights on that mattress my back was killing me. The room is nice but small. For one person or a couple it would be alright. I was with kids and the room was big enough for everyone. It's right off the highway, but it's not as close to restaurants as some other places.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Surelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy T, Manager at Red Roof Inn Winchester, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thank you very much for the honest review regarding your stay at our hotel. As you mentioned we are in the process of updating our mattresses. We appreciate the comments on the cleanliness of our rooms. Your review will be shared with the rest of our team. In terms of restaurants, many chain restaurants are located about a mile into town, though are many locally owned restaurants within walking distance. Thanks for mentioning that we are also conveniently located for travelers, right off I-81. Our team will continue to strive to provide increasingly better service, and hope to accommodate you and your family again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danby, Vermont
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great traveler's rest. It is located in a busy area right of I-81 so be prepared. the place is spotless and comfortable and the staff hard working and helpful. I highly recommend this hotel for an overnight or a short visit.

Room Tip: One side face the highway. you might want to ask for a room on the other side if you are a light sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy T, Manager at Red Roof Inn Winchester, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
There are few things that brighten my mornings more than hearing a review such as yours.Rarely do we have the opportunity to hear this kind of positive feedback from our efforts, and to say that it warms our hearts would be an understatement. We take pride in what we do and feedback like yours fills our heart with joy. We are looking forward to see you soon until then travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We've been staying at the Red Roof in Winchester for years and have never had a terrible experience, so I'm surprised at the negative reviews. The price is reasonable, and as with most Red Roofs, the rooms are big and clean, wifi is free and works well, and bed is firm and comfortable. This location also has a better breakfast selection than most Red Roofs... Cereal, little muffins, orange juice (pass on that since they water it down), coffee and bagels with cream cheese or jam. We usually bring some Greek yogurt, fruit & nuts, have a bagel & coffee on the side, and we're good to go.

Maybe we've just been lucky the 20 or so times we've stayed at this property, but I've never noticed a terrible amount of noise. Last weekend for instance a bunch of people came back from a night out, talking and laughing in the parking lot, and then went to their rooms and all was quiet. Maybe I'm weird, but it doesnt bother me to hear people having a good time. And after all, it IS a motel, not a gated community... just ask the front desk to handle it if it gets too ridiculous, or turn on the fan for white noise if you are a really light sleeper.

Anyway wanted to balance some of the negative reviews since we've stayed here a LOT... And have never had a bad experience here. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deee1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy T, Manager at Red Roof Inn Winchester, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you from the bottom of my heart for your continued admiration and loyalty to our facility and team. .As always we will welcome you back as if you had never left, and hope that your time in between your stays are safe and joyful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Winchester
Candlewood Suites Winchester
#19 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
aloft Winchester
aloft Winchester
#14 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Winchester

Property: Red Roof Inn Winchester
Address: 991 Millwood Pike, I-81 at Millwood Pike, exit #313/313-A, Winchester, VA 22602-4380
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Winchester 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester
Winchester Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing