We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Winchester
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
St. Louis, MO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed April 12, 2008

Great place to stay. Easy access from the highway. Room was clean. Front desk staff was very friendly.

I prefer staying at hotels with interior corridors, and was surprised that I never heard any noise from outside at this location. They did offer a free breakfast, which I've never seen at a Red Roof Inn before. It consisted of bagels, cereal, coffee, juices, and dougnuts. I wasn't expecting it, so it was a nice bonus to get me on the road the next day.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eblank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    89
    66
    30
    43
See reviews for
86
98
49
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2008

I had not stayed in a Red Roof Inn before, so I was a little unsure what to expect. I was very pleasantly surprised by the Red Roof Inn in Winchester, VA. It was obvious that the place had been recently redecorated and the furniture had the look of a more upscale hotel. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful and the location was easy to get to, right off 81.

Red Roof Inn is still a motel, with flat beds, simple bedding, bath towels on the smaller side, and limited bathroom toiletries. That being said, some of the upgrades were impressive – hard wood floors and a heat lamp in the bathroom and a nice 27” TV in the bedroom. It would have been nice to have a fridge/microwave or even a coffee maker in the room. But the place has a nice breakfast area with a 24 hour coffee maker that makes a bunch of specialty coffees (mocha, vanilla latte, etc).

All in all, my husband and I were really impressed with the Inn, especially at a little over $50/night, and would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Rooms were clean and upscale looking
  • Disliked — Not easily walkable area - good for stop along the way
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ebush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2008

This place was really great. I'd left a large case of CDs/DVDs there, and they kindly shipped them to me.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank adelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2007

Rooms were clean but supplies were limited. Bring a blow dryer with you...they don't supply one. Kleenex is limited to a small pack for you purse. Breakfast...save your time and go to the nearest McDonald's. Lost $$ in vending machine for laundry soap, reported it and was told that they didn't know what to do...They suggested that we drive to a grocery store and buy some there....Guess they never heard of a refund?

  • Liked — price and location
  • Disliked — very limited supplies and very complacent front desk....not very friendly at all....or helpful!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lori s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Winchester hotels

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2007

Wow!
We arrived around 11pm not really expecting to be blown away! the front desk check in was great friendly clerk who didn't seem to mind that we were checking in as late as we did. And the room was awesome! New fixtures, new bed, and an new bathroom area with granite countertops. Breakfast the next day was a usual continental breakfast. Check out went as smoothly as check in. Housekeeping was great as well.
Will definately be staying again.
Also pets stay for free as well, can not tell from appearances that pets are allowed on the property.

  • Liked — the room
  • Disliked — nothing, everything was great
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tigger1255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh PA
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2007

They advertise on the internet that they are one of the ones that have recently been remodeled, hair dryers in each room. Our room did not have a hair dryer in it. It looked like the photos as far as color scheme and furnishings. The shower drained slowly. Almost felt like the tub was filling up for a bath and it had that mildew smell.
I didn't think it was all that great of a place. The breakfast area was ok. The basics for the most part but they did offer a little more
variety with their coffee machine, some flavored cofees. Front desk staff was nice upon check in and out. There is a Best Western that had about the same rate as this property had. I may check them out the next time. I just don't think this hotel lived up to what they advertise.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank KAG39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeensboro, NC
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2007

Having read the reviews of this motel, I booked a room with some trepidation. I was very pleased with the experience however. The room was nice, no odors or icky carpet, and seemed to have been painted recently. The staff was courteous and friendly in my interactions with them. The "free breakfast" was typical, lots of carbs, so the wife and I adjourned to the nearby Cracker Barrel.

Would I stay here again? Definitely.

  • Liked — Best mattress I've slept on in a motel in a long time!
  • Disliked — The "free breakfast".
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lowboync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 25 in Winchester
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#13 of 25 in Winchester
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
aloft Winchester
aloft Winchester
#14 of 25 in Winchester
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Winchester

Property: Red Roof Inn Winchester
Address: 991 Millwood Pike, I-81 at Millwood Pike, exit #313/313-A, Winchester, VA 22602-4380
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Winchester 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester
Winchester Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing