We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not Bad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Winchester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Winchester
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Not a bad place when you need a quick place to stay. Room was clean and comfortable and the price was really very inexpensive. Even without a coupon book we only paid $57.00. There was even a continental breakfast in the morning. One of the better roadside motels I've stayed in.

Room Tip: Make sure you check the heating unit. I think my mother had a problem with hers. This is no luxury h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurakrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    80
    61
    26
    39
See reviews for
75
87
42
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norcross, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed Christmas night after driving 9 hours, beds were full size so, not to roomy. Heater made noise but for 50 bucks we were warm. Breakfast was minimal with cereal, frozen waffles and the tiny muffins.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westtown NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed in room 130 found mold on corners of bathtub walls, also took 145 minutes to get hot water. Bed not very comfortable. No coffee pot in room, TV old and fuzzy. No oders close to I81. Probably not sty here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philandterri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed one night on our way driving south. Plenty of places to stay off I-81 but we had picked up the coupon book on our entry into Virginia and decided on the Red Roof Inn to try something new. We were pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness and value for the price ($46!!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mimiKigali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astor, FL
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This newly renovated room was very nice, better than most Red Roof Inns I've stayed at. The room was clean, quiet and had many nice features including a refrigerator, microwave, wide screen TV, quite fast internet, coffee maker and small work station.
The morning breakfast offering was also better than most other Red Roofs. There was hot and cold cereal, coffee & tea, o.j. bagels and mini muffins.
Its obvious that the owners have spent a good amount of money updating this property. We will stay there again any time we are in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms were priced the same, standard, deluxe and superior. Take the superior!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakisland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel is in the midst of a wide range of accomodations, gas stations and restaurants. The hotel and its next door neighbor, a Quality Inn, compete for the "budget minded" overnite traveler. A portion of the rooms have been updated and exceed the usual expectations for a Red Roof Inn. Other rooms are far more dated. However this same observation can be applied to many of the lower priced hotel chains. The hotel is located on Millwood Pike just before it crosses I-81. The bottom line is if you are fortunate enough not to have a youth or sports team near you, a boisterous party of travelling companions, or work crews arising at 5 am reving their truck engines, you will find acceptable accomodations at a very competitive price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimOakisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is a pleasant place for an overnight stay, especially pleased regarding a pet being free.
The continental breakfast includes, toast, bagels, regular waffles, cereal, coffee, tea and juice enough to get you going up the road. The only complaint this trip was the bed was not comfortable, could feel the springs or lumps. I am hoping this was not because we had a pet.
Heater worked great and TV was very good.

Room Tip: Be sure to check the beds for comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pajoE96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Winchester
Candlewood Suites Winchester
#19 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
aloft Winchester
aloft Winchester
#13 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Winchester

Property: Red Roof Inn Winchester
Address: 991 Millwood Pike, I-81 at Millwood Pike, exit #313/313-A, Winchester, VA 22602-4380
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Winchester 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Orbitz so you can book your Red Roof Inn Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester
Winchester Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing