We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Exactly what I expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Winchester

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Winchester
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Barnesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Exactly what I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Clean amd comfortable. Clean being the most important thing. The room smelled of bleach, and the tile floors were spotless. The bed linens were medium quality and the bed was comfortable enough for a night. Having read the reviews, I did bring my own toiletries. I have nothing negative to say, it is exactly what was promised by this chain. For less than fifty dollars, it far exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edevine5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    14
    12
    9
See reviews for
18
19
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
187 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

This was my first time at a Motel 6 driving back home from my road trip. If you are too tired and need to rest; this is the place. Spacious, quiet, clean room and reasonable rate. No breakfast included. The amenities are not as great as the Super 8 in Hillsville, VA even though the rate are about the same.

Room Tip: Spacious, clean room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Had heard good things about this location for the money. The rate was reasonable and our room seemed clean overall, and most everything seemed to work, if I recall. Four stars on my rating mainly for the price and clean room. I've paid a lot more for a lot worse!

The shower head was low and would be awkward for tall folks.

Our room was near the junction of two wings, so we didn't have the noise of cars driving by. I had asked for a quiet location and this was certainly better than the rooms on the opposite side of our wing (behind us); the guests there were apparently playing their drums or loud music into the evening.

Decent area to walk dogs.

Wasn't thrilled with some of the other guests we encountered during our stay. Would not be surprised to see them still there if I stay again.

Not in the most convenient location for food and such, but there were many food options just a few miles up the road.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SiriusBlackDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, VA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed here with my wife and two dogs so we could visit the Drive-In Theater in Stephen's City. The room was large, open, clean, and modern. The price was $45 with my military discount. For $45 we slept in a clean and comfortable room. This suited our needs and exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Four Oaks, North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here for one night as a stopover on a long trip. The room was very clean and we were glad to have 24 hour availability to coffee in the lobby. The only downside, and it was NOT a problem with the hotel itself, was that the guest(s) in the room next to us had a HUGE dog that stayed in the window barking at anyone and everyone who pulled into the parking lot or walked by the room. (Probably should have put this particular guest in a room away from foot traffic)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I usually stop here overnight on my way from North Carolina to New York because I travel with my golden retriever and they accept pets. I don't expect that much from a Motel 6 (at a great price), but I can't tolerate filthiness at any cost. The first room I was assigned was full of houseflies (hundreds of them) and smelled like an old ashtray. I asked to be moved and was put into a different room that was so dirty I couldn't believe it. There were cigarette burn holes on the bedspread and pillows. The bathroom was disgusting. If I hadn't been so exhausted I would have tried to find another spot, but with the dog that isn't easy at the last minute. I have stayed here many times before and got exactly what I expected: an inexpensive room with no frills, but clean. Not this time! Never again.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, insist on a room in the main building. The outer building is apparently assign...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Although this room was very large, there were several items of interest. The carpet in the room was ragged at the thresholds, and was worn throughout. The fridge was in the wrong position and I had to move to where it belonged. The TV could have definitely been bigger/nicer since it was probably 1980's model. Also, thought we were going to have to change rooms when we got up in the morning to take shower and there was very nasty/dirty water coming out of nozzle. However, to my happiness the clerk on duty did come over and assist in getting us clean water to shower with. So, all-in-all not bad place if just looking for bed to sleep in. Most important....did NOT find any bed bugs!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SlideEmHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
2.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Winchester
Red Roof Inn Winchester
#16 of 25 in Winchester
3.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
1.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Winchester
Candlewood Suites Winchester
#19 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 126 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Winchester

Property: Motel 6 Winchester
Address: 2951 Valley Ave, Winchester, VA 22601-2631 (Formerly Days Inn Winchester)
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Winchester 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Winchester VA is located off of I-81 and Route 11. Restaurants are nearby. Renew Fitness Sportsplex is 2 miles and Shenandoah University is 4 miles away. Our modern rooms include micro-fridge units and free Wi-Fi. Truck parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Motel-6 so you can book your Motel 6 Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester
Winchester Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing