We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Close to perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge North
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Close to perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

what a nice, clean, quiet place to place. the owner and his wife are very friendly. rooms are spacious and very clean. simple breakfast, about what you'd expect. don't really have anything negative to say and that's not usually my way. if simple breakfast isn't enough, Denny's restaurant is just 15yds. away. wow, that came in real handy during the snow we had while we stayed here. maids really do their jobs. would def stay here again.

Room Tip: parking lot faces only one side of hotel. only two entrances to rooms whose entrances are on the in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    22
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
17
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
153 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Room was clean and the shower was great although they only provided a minimum number of towels and pillows. Restaurant and gas station are nearby. Breakfast was very limited but for the price a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Building is very dated. Room was basically clean, but mattress was horribly soft and saggy. Breakfast as advertised consisted of coffee, pastries and juice. However, the orange juice was that in color only, as it tasted as close to water as one can imagine. It is convenient to I-81 and there is a Denny's Restaurant in the same parking lot, but that's about all it has going for it. They also had signs warning anyone caught filling a cooler with ice from their ice machine would be charged a $20 fine. Really? It’s just frozen water that is needed by travelers who haven paid and chosen to stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GTPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Isidro, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I will join the other reviewers and say that although this is an older facility, I had a pleasant stay. The room was clean, one of the cleanest smelling rooms when I first walked in of any place I have ever stayed. I did not check out the breakfast room as I needed to get going in the morning. I would stay here again and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh, nc
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

as my mother used to say about her cooking, it's not very fancy. but, for my money, a very good place to stay when you are in winchester. the other guests with whom i spoke during the (free) breakfast time all agreed. an older place, but well built with good sound insulation. very clean. fridge and micro in the room. and a good price. unless you are expecting all the trimmings, you can't go wrong here. as another reviewer put it well, a lot of bang for the buck.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank willizannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia beach, va
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Tried to change my reservation to one night later and thought everything was fine until I came the next night and they didn't have my reservation. Sure enough went and looked and those crooked thieves had charged me for the night before. Tried to get them to refund the money, but the crooked choice hotel thieves wouldn't help me. Stay here if you don't think business ethic and customer service are important virtues any more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seitzjus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed for one night en route to Florida from Ottawa. The last time we stayed at the Comfort Inn across the parking lot, but found the walls to be too thin.

This place is likely older, but is in good shape and the room was quiet. We stayed on the side away from the Interstate and it was quite quiet.

Breakfast was minimal, but what do you expect for $48 for 2 including taxes.

We will stay again at this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winchester
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#13 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
21.2 mi away
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
Clarion Inn Harpers Ferry
#2 of 3 in Harpers Ferry
3.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge North

Property: Econo Lodge North
Address: 1593 Martinsburg Pike, Winchester, VA 22603-5404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge North 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Choice Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing