We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean well-run convenient Hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean well-run convenient Hampton”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

On our trips to Tennessee from Connecticut we find this Hampton an excellent choice. It is convenient to I-81. Hamptons usually give consistent good quality service. However, this unit was exceptional. My wife lost a treasured scarf on our last day. We called the Hampton after returning home in search of the scarf; after checking with housekeeping they happily let us know they found it. A Fedex delivery man just completed the circle. We will return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grandad321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleTash, Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. It is our pleasure having you stay with us! We are pleased to know that your stay was pleasant and that our accommodations and services were acceptable to you. We were happy to return your wife's scarf! Please let us know if there's any ways that we might make improvements in the accommodations and services for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    163
    59
    28
    4
See reviews for
158
216
51
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newport news, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2014

my stay was great the price, free breakfast,the staff was great arrived early and was able to check in rite away. I also liked the evening snacks in the lobby the lounge, which is very relaxing the internet service in the rooms was great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Randy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleTash, Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. It is our pleasure having you stay with us! We are pleased to know that your stay was pleasant and that our accommodations and services were acceptable to you. Please let us know if there's any ways that we might make improvements in the accommodations and services for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

I frequently stay at Hampton Inn's across Canada and the United States. This was by far my worst experience in a Hampton Inn. The beds were abnormally uncomfortable-you could feel all the springs. The bathroom was not very clean. There were hairs on the counter and on the floor. The hallway smelled of cigarette smoke although the room did not smell. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olijenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsville, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Wonderful hotel but the shower temp was lukewarm at best. Only other concern was the young students staying on site and their noise and door slamming into the wee hours of the morning. Free breakfast was wonderful with a nice array of food selections and staff was extremely helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilder, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2014

An outstanding place to stay. The staff and facility are awesome. I will definitely stay here every time that I am in the area. My family and I were extremely satisfied and are looking forward to returning. Thank you Hampton Inn for an outstanding stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Hampton Inn strong brand is consistently protected with their great service, quality rooms and prices. The comfortable beds and environment surrounded by a quality environment for our stay is a must. Recommend those who value themselves to consider staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coopersburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stay at Hampton Inn’s often and this location is typical of most locations, which is not a bad thing at all! Our room was still the original standard style room and has not been upgraded yet but was still clean and comfortable. The bottled water and complimentary bags of chips off the lobby was a nice touch too. The breakfast area was set up like the newer locations where it gets closed off during the day via a frosted glass door.

If there was one drawback about this Hampton, it was the physical location of the building. It is situated around 3 major adjoining streets, but you can only get to it from one of those. This means if you are traveling on 2 of the 3 streets you will be able to drive past the property but not be able to turn into it.

Other than that, our stay included typical Hampton Hospitality and I would definitely stay there again when in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GTPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#5 of 25 in Winchester
622 reviews
1.4 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
672 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area

Property: Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Address: 640 E Jubal Early Dr, Winchester, VA 22601-5177
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Winchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#6 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Hotel Winchester
Winchester Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing