We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An older hotel. Still nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
National Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
334 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“An older hotel. Still nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed in this Hotel in Winchester again for "The Apple Blossom Festival" An older property whose rooms are small, but well maintained. The bed was very nice. The maid service excellent and very nice. The breakfast area was just remodeled and comfortable. The front desk was very good. This is a great hotel to stay at to get around the town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    157
    57
    26
    4
See reviews for
152
211
48
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Have stayed here several times and have always found staff to be very friendly and helpful. Hotel is getting a little tired but clean and with our discount coupon it was great value. Decent Hampton style breakfast and brown bag "breakfast to go" for those in a hurry. Nice touch. Convenient location near I81 and some decent restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Brad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

A nice quite place, clean and comfotable. Many sights to see in Winchester and a great starting point for visiting things in the Valley. For the Civil War buff you have 5 battlefields within a 2 hour drive. The complimentary breakfast will get you going in the morning and at night there are plenty of places to eat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drums, PA, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

With homes in 2 different states, this is a half way stop for our return to our primary residence. We chose Hampton Inn because of their reputation, and quality of amenities. And they also offer a wonderful complimentary breakfast which is very adequate. We have enjoyed staying at other Hilton properties in the past and trust their brand.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Clean room, tidy bathroom, and comfy bed. This is what we've come to expect from Hampton. Breakfast wasn't up to what we've had at other Hampton Inns, but it was adequate and the coffee was perfect. We love Hampton Inns!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I started staying in Hamton Inns over a decade ago for work. Now I always look for Hampton Inns when traveling for work or pleasure. The rooms are clean and beds are extremely comfortable. The breakfasts are excellent with a large assortment from cereal, fruit and yogurt to eggs, waffles and bagels. Coffee is great and a nice selection of juices as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLee81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here twice in the fall 2012. I was surprised how old everything looked and felt on this property. Fairly dated, it is in need of the major renovation that Hilton has done to virtually every other Hampton Inn property. It's a shame since this one is located in the middle of town. I chose on a future stay in the winter to stay at the nicer, newer version out near the interstate and enjoyed up to date furnishings and clean/new amenities.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank OBXfan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.4 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#5 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area

Property: Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Address: 640 East Jubal Early Drive, Winchester, VA 22601-5176
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Winchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#6 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Hotel Winchester
Winchester Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing