We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well priced and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
208 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Well priced and clean”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This Hampton Inn hasn't been updated in a while and you can tell. The trade off is that it was priced quite affordably. The room was clean but the toilet and sink were very low. The room had an unusual smell that kept filling the air of the room - at least it wasn't an unpleasant smell! When we asked the front desk they didn't know where it was coming from. Down side was that the room next door was extremely loud. The folks covering the front desk were helpful and friendly. The only other thing from our particular stay is that I noticed a few different food options that most of the other Hampton Inns. They have these egg, cheese, and bacon bagels. Quite good! Overall a good stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    163
    59
    28
    4
See reviews for
158
216
51
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kennebunkport, Maine
Level Contributor
395 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

On a recent trip from Maine to Texas my husband and I stayed at the Hampton Inn with our small dog, Max. We did not have a reservation, but they were able to give us the only room available which was a smoking room. We are non-smokers. The beds were comfortable with crispy clean linens. The room had been a bit abused by smokers... burns in the carpet, etc. The room did smell quite strong of cigarettes. My husband went to the local Walgreens and bought some Febreeze. After spraying the room it was a little better. I am sure that the non-smoking rooms are very nice. The hotel is very quiet and the breakfast is pretty good. The rate for the room was unbeatable, $79 per night!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paw Paw, West Virginia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I've come to expect cleanliness in Hampton Inns, but this Inn struck me as especially clean. Even the carpets in the halls seemed newly laid. The front desk was helpful and friendly. Our breakfast in the morning was sufficient, and tasty. It was a one night stay, but enjoyable nonetheless.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobRoy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

This is a Hampton Inn that is still yet to be refurbished so don't expect a typical Hampton room. It was still ok; clean and reasonably comfortable, but not what I look for from this chain. Even the AC units are old school dial controls.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VT4Me2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEBuckeyeFan, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry for the condition of our property. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will come visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mocanaqua, PA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Ok hotel overnight, outdated ac system can only put it on high or low with a temperature guide like your car. Door locks are one of a kind all you have to do is touch your door card to the lock and it opens, you don't insert it like other door locks, bathroom toilets are very loud, they scream loud when refilling, lobby tv is a small 27 CRT from the 60's, Breakfast is the normal very good Hampton inn breakfast

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarylPawlush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THEBuckeyeFan, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry for the condition of our property. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will come visit us in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
208 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have been on a three week vacation. During that time we have stayed at nine different hotels. Seven of them were Hampton Inns. We always have handicapped rooms.
Tonight, I am writing this review on my laptop. The laptop is on the ironing board, and I am sitting on the bed. Why? The room has no table or desk! Where the room normally has a built in wardrobe is an empty space. On the far side of the bed is a LARGE wardrobe. There is an AC/USB charging station on the single bedside table. There is no room for a bedside table on the otherside of the bed because of the wardrobe. There is a microwave/refrigerator in the room. I suppose we could go to the foyer to use one of the breakfast tables. There was a chair, just nothing to sit at.
Our room is quiet. I do not know about the opposite side rooms next to the two busy roads that skirt the hotel property.
We were told to bring our things in through the lobby, even though there is an outside access door next to the room.
Never have I given a Hampton Inn a score this low.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoTimTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erinmason21, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Hello, my name is Erin Mason I am the Assistant general manager here at the Hampton Inn university mall, we sincerly apologize that your stay was not one of the best experiences you've ever had at a Hampton. I'd also like for more information on why your stay wasnt all it should be. if you would like to give us a call and ask for myself or Eliza Miramontes the GM, we would love to here ourselves what you think we could have done to better your stay..


Thank you,
Erin Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

First stay at this hotel and it was a great stay! Hotel staff was very friendly and efficient. Check in was a breeze, the room was very clean, comfortable beds, and the best air conditioner of any hotel I've ever stayed in! The breakfast was delicious, many things to choose from. The hotel was very accomodating to our group, they put all of us on the same floor. They also allowed us to park our motorcycles right in front on the entrance, so we felt safe leaving them there. It's also in a great location. I think this will be our new "go to" hotel on our yearly trip to Winchester.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#5 of 25 in Winchester
622 reviews
1.4 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
671 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area

Property: Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Address: 640 E Jubal Early Dr, Winchester, VA 22601-5177
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Winchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#6 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Hotel Winchester
Winchester Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing