We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Positive Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Newport News
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Positive Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2007

Effortless check-in & check-out. Friendly & accommodating desk staff. Extremely nice housekeeper. Nice clean room. Very comfortable beds. Excellent breakfast included. Staff always greeted us when passing by in the halls. The only complaint is that I had confirmed a specific request with a front desk clerk regarding no phone calls to our room, which didn't seem to get passed down to other desk staff. And it would be nice if the breakfast could run maybe just 30 minutes or an hour later. But overall, our stay here couldn't have been better. We were visiting under extremely difficult circumstances and our positive experience at this property made that part of our visit much easier. This is the 3rd time we've stayed at this hotel & have always had a positive experience here.

  • Liked — Staff, beds, cleanliness & the breakfast
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eliziam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    85
    25
    7
    5
See reviews for
72
79
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2006

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a week while some work was being done on our house.

I have stayed at a lot of hotels over the yrs and was thrilled with the new comfortable beds.

The staff was helpful and had no trouble immediately bringing extra blankets and pillows.

The breakfast bar is above average and excellently maintained.

The only thing lacking was high speed internet hook-up.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2006

May 2006. I stayed at this hotel off of Rt. 81 during the popular Apple Blossom festival. The hotel was booked. I had asked for a quiet room and upon arrival the check in staff noted my request and explained that there was a high school band staying at the hotel but that the band would be segregated in a different area of the hotel. The check inn staff indicated that if we experienced any problems with noise to please call the front desk. When we returned to the hotel at 11:00 pm, there were chaperones posted in 2 hallways of the hotel (paid for by the hotel) to make sure that the teenagers did not get out of line. The room and bathroom were spotless and it is apparent that the management takes great pride in keeping the hotel comfortable for its guests. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Helpful?
3 Thank chrisd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blacksburg
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2005

This is a fairly standard Comfort Inn - it was clean, and well-appointed. All staff were courteous. The bedroom was a little larger than most and had wood paneling on the ceiling, which is a nice touch. The hotel has a large expanse of lawn in the back complete with several picnic tables - great for kids. The pool is located in this lawn instead of surrounded by a parking lot. My room was supposed to have both a fridge and a microwave, but lacked the microwave - I didn't mention it, so they may have quickly addressed it if I did. Took a shower in the evening and it was hot with great pressure. Took one in the morning and after about 20 seconds lost hot water and then lost water pressure, so it was just a trickle. I called down and the lady was very apologetic and polite - said they were working on it , then it should be fixed and try again. I did and the same thing happened. I called down again and she was again very polite and siad she would send maintenance right up. I said not to bother as I wanted to hit the road, she immediately said they would adjust my bill. While the shower situation was annoying, I felt they really handled it well. Breakfast was average, but the service was great. One thing to be aware of if you plan to check in during evening rush hour is that traffic gets very backed up in front of hotel entrance, making it hard to access. Hotel is right next to exit from 81. Exit ramp from 81 N has light, but 81 S exit doesn't; hence there is a bottleneck. I got off of 81 N and about one car was getting through the light at a time. There are two left turn lanes, you want to stay in the right-most one because if you get into the other it will be very hard to get over to the hotel entrance. After that experience I decided to forgo driving anywhere for dinner and stayed at adjoining Denny's. There were no problems in the morning, though it was a Sat.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lisatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2005

Standard off-highway hotel. Nice and clean, room was good size, bathroom on the small side, helpful staff. Good choice for a one night stopover, which is what we did there.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alexperi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#5 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester
3.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Winchester
Red Roof Inn Winchester
#17 of 25 in Winchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 1601 Martinsburg Pike, Winchester, VA 22603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Winchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Choice Hotels, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Winchester
Comfort Inn Winchester
Winchester Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing