We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of "management style" of Comfort Inn in Winchester, VA”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Review of "management style" of Comfort Inn in Winchester, VA”
Reviewed March 13, 2010

Dear Kerry,

I am deeply disappointed with the behavior of your manager, Donald. We are currently staying in the hotel, which allows dogs. There are several dogs in rooms adjacent to ours. This morning, one of this dogs was crying. The sound was coming from one of the rooms in front of ours. Me and my wife left in the morning with our dog, and when we came back, Donald approached us with a very rude and arrogant manner, mentioning that "several guests have complained about our dog and if this continues he would kick us out of the hotel". Not only our dog was not the one barking, and we were not in the room for most of the day, but the most astonishing fact was that the meager, Donald, refused to listen to what I had to say, simply threatening me to "kick me out of the hotel if I argue with him".

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maxversace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    85
    25
    7
    5
See reviews for
74
81
15
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2010

We have stayed at several hotels in the Winchester area and this place has become our new favorite! Very comfortable rooms with a warm, welcoming staff that did everything to make sure even just our one night's stay was a pleasure. The 1st room provided was great but there was a problem with the room heater. We were moved to another room immediately just a few stays doen the hall so it was very little, if any, inconvenience. There was a lot of snow in the parking area but that was not a big deal and the guest entrance area was cleared and salted for the guests' safety. We topped off a comfortable night's sleep with a warm, satisfying, complimentary continental breakfast. Try the sausage gravy! I'm so glad we found this place, largely due in part to the positive reviews on ths website. Stay here, you'll enjoy it!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsagvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

This was an older Comfort Inn, but kept up very well. We asked for a quiet room and were placed away from the freeway noise. Rooms were clean, front desk
personnel very accommodating. The breakfast room is large and is managed by a
very conscientious person. They had eggs and biscuits and gravy. I observed that they had a good variety and lots of extras- such as sugar free syrup for diabetics.
The Denny's that is accessible from the lobby of the Comfort Inn has moved their smoking tables to the opposite side of the restaurant, so smoke was not a problem. After a long drive, it was nice to have an attached restaurant.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaBAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2009

This hotel was selected as a stopover from SC back to NC. Having spent around $80 on previous hotel stays, we elected for something a bit less expensive. This property was the price winner in the Winchester area. We had stayed at this hotel over 10 years ago, under a different name and management, and were not impressed.

However, this time, we were. Our room looked newly renovated. New carpets, new bedding, new furniture, everything perfectly clean. My parents are light sleepers, so when they're able to get a good night's sleep in a hotel, that means the room was near silent. No truck traffic, no slamming of doors down the hall.

The outside also looks new, compared to our stay years ago when it resembled an old Howard Johnson's. There is a Denny's accessible through the lobby. The quality of food at Denny's varies widely, but we found this one to be better than most. This greatly added to the convenience of the property. Breakfast was also good.

All in all, an excellent stay, and we could find no faults with the property. And how much did we pay? Just over $58 with my parents eligible for Choice's 60+ discount. An incredible value, and a highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGILMAN479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2009

Simple rooms, small, but nicely furnished. Everything (even the ceilings) is made of a deep, dark, rich wood finishing -- almost seems like a cabin. Staff was incredible.

However, the Intenet access sucked. Would not work -- it either wouldn't assign an IP, or when it finally did, the speed was so slow as to be almost unusable. Mostly did work from the internet on my phone -- it was faster than what the room provided!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captain_skyhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkin nc
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We went to Winchester to play baseball with a group of teenage boys 16/18 the staff at the hotel were very accomadating and went out of there way to make our stay perfect by the way they were booked so we were not the only group there the rooms were clean and roomy plenty of towels and a very nice pool the Dennys restaurant that is connected to the lobby is open 24 hours a day and the food is great is great .

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElkinncBaseballmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdp930
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2009

We were just passing through and stopped here for the night. They have a great pool and an amazing breakfast. The staff was so warm and friendly that we decided to stay an additional night just for kicks. Loved it

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdp930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
3.9 mi away
Best Western Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 25 in Winchester
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester
3.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#5 of 25 in Winchester
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 1601 Martinsburg Pike, Winchester, VA 22603-4612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Winchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Winchester
Comfort Inn Winchester
Winchester Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing