We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice place / great staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 Martinsburg Pike, Winchester, VA 22603   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place / great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This hotel offered us everything we needed as we passed through the area: a cordial reception, a clean & comfortable room, a peaceful night's sleep, and a nice breakfast before sending us on our way again! The front desk clerk was friendly & helpful -- gave us directions to find nearby restaurants where we could enjoy a good dinner before turning in after a long day on the road. We were satisfied enough by our first visit that we stopped by to spend another night there on our return trip -- but, to our disappointment, we had not made reservations & they were 'full' that night. Once again, the desk clerk was extremely helpful & advised us of another hotel nearby where he knew there were still some vacancies that evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ksimpson009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a trip advisor review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    73
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
65
62
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dothan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

First of all the location was better than I expected. It was off of the Interstate just enough that you could not hear the traffic usually associated with major thoroughfares. The hotel was clean, and the room was clean as well. The serv ice was polite and accomodating. Breakfast was standard as with all Comfport Inns. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. The room took a litrtle while to cool down but once the temperature was conducive to sleep I had no problemsa falling asleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This Comfort Inn was better than I expected. The room was recently renovated I think - new carpet. It had most things that i value - comfortable bed; nice sized sink; good wifi; decent towels; standard Comfort Inn breakfast. The staff was helpful. The carpet was dusty in places.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to completea trip advisor review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.
Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
416 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

First off, the hotel was under renovation when we were there.

The first room we were checked into stank of cigarette smoke. I went back to the front desk, and they did not have any rooms of our type on that floor, so we got a room with two double beds. The air was much better and the room was clean and modern. I think it must have been recently renovated.

No Elevator. I do not understand why hotels are built without elevators. If you are paying for a room, why should you have to lug your baggage up the stairs?

Yes, for sure if I had a one night stop on my way, I would definitely stay here again. Easy access to the interstate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler06232009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team.Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope you will stay again with us while in the Winchester, VA area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalmette, Louisiana, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This hotel was not friendly. When we first arrived, although we had reservations, we had a coupon from the Virginia welcome center but they would not accept it and were very rude about it. We had asked for a non-smoking room but the room we were given smelled like smoke. When we complained about it since my husband is allergic to smoke, they would do nothing. They said there were no more pet-friendly rooms available. Then my husband took a shower and found out the tub did not drain properly. He was standing in several inches of water. The sheets were also stained with oil or grease. When we notified them of this, they were finally acting friendly and changed our room. The second room was cleaner and did not smell of smoke. However, the toilet kept running and there were ants and spiders on the bathroom floor so that we could not put anything down for fear the bugs would get into our stuff and then into our car.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJW711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation. We will address these concerns. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I am not a frequent traveler, but I do enough to know what I am looking for at the end of a tiring day on the road. I have stayed with Comfort Inns before and have been satisfied always. On the night of Aug 1, I stopped for a room in Winchester, Virginia, having driven down from Michigan that day. Luckily, I got one of their last rooms.....a single and unfortunately, a smoking room but I took it. The quality of everything else about the room, the people, the price, the amenities MORE than made up for having to deal with the odor, which was minimal. Please commend the staff on Aug. 1 and morning of Aug 2 for their great customer service, a yummy breakfast in a CLEAN and comfy atmosphere, friendly and easy check-out, and for NOT disappointing my expectation of Comfort Inns. Kathy Sugar, Chesapeake, Virginia

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to let us know how your stay was. I am very glad that you were comfortable with your stay even though the room type you received was not your first choice due to the smoking. If your ever coming to Winchester again, just give us a call so we will get the room you want. Its great to hear your good comments so we know we are doing our job!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
201 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were traveling between North Carolina and Massachusetts and stopped at the Comfort Inn for one night. While the outside made us think about going elsewhere, we found out that the inside had been completely remodeled. The front desk staff were friendly and professional. The room was remodeled, nicely furnished and clean. We liked that thye left what appears to be the original wood ceiling. The only complaints that we had about the room were the pillows - they were very small and not supportive and the bedspread had cigarette burns in it - even though this was a non-smoking room (it appears that while they have remodeled the rooms they did not replace the bedspreads or pillows yet). Once they complete the outside remodel the hotel will also look very nice. Breakfast was standard fare but better than some places that we have stayed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
It is sure nice to have guests notice our renovations. Its been alot of work, during a very busy time at hotel, but guests like you make it all worthwhile. And yes, all new bedding is on the way here very soon, which I have to agree with you, is very much needed. Hope to see you when all is complete!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
4.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#4 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 1601 Martinsburg Pike, Winchester, VA 22603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Winchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Otel, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Winchester
Comfort Inn Winchester
Winchester Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing