We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Still a nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh PA
Level Contributor
152 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Still a nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at this property a few years ago with our children. We loved the fact that it had the high beamed ceilings in our rooms. This time it was just my husband and I. We booked a king room. It was located on the first floor so we did not have the beautiful ceiling in our room. A bit of a disappointment. But the room was very clean and well maintained. We booked a two night stay to take in the history of Winchester and the Wine Fest that also goes into the Apple Blossom Festival. We arrived around 4 and we were pleased with our room. It had the microwave/fridge which is always nice when traveling. The first night the desk gave us some directions to a few places we were interested in. They were all very nice at the desk. We did breakfast at the hotel both mornings. We were a bit disappointed that the selection was exactly the same both days. I would think they would change it a bit considering folks do spend multiple nights there. They do provide coffee makers in your room and you can help yourself to coffee and tea that is available on the first floor.

They do have a fitness room which we did not use, no one was using it any time we walked by. The Denny's next door was handy and we did go there our second evening. There was night construction going on coming up 81. We got caught in it coming back from dinner the first night. Our room was close to 81 and unfortuantly we did hear some of it during the night. Entry to the parking lot is a bit confusing too. They share and entrance with another hotel. When you pull in, the other hotel is to your right, the Denny's is to your right and you have to go past the Dennys to get to the main entrance of the Comfort Inn. Overall we had a nice stay. The construction couldn't be helped. We were disappointed with the breakfast variety the second day, missed the beautiful ceilings. But it was a nice weekend and close to what we wanted to do. If you are looking to visit the Old Town of Winchester, it is a good place to stay, easy to get to the Old Town and things are marked very well to the Pedestrian Mall, the museums etc....Staff was helpful with directions too.

Room Tip: May want to call direct if you want to attempt getting a room with the beamed ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KAG39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to write such a thorough review. Its great when guests take their valuable time to let us knwo what we are doing right and what we are doing wrong. They help us figure out which areas we can improve. And yes, we all like the 2nd floor rooms also due to the high wood ceilings. It makes the rooms feel so much more spacious, only downfall being, no elevator but still worth walking up one flight of steps.
Thanks again and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    75
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
69
65
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have stayed at this Comfort Inn the past three years on our way to and from Myrtle Beach. The drive is about half way from home and is easy to find off of I-81.

We find the rooms to be clean and very large for our needs. We have stayed there during the renovations and have had no problems. Having Denny's attached to the motel is nice also.

Nice to book on-line as we got a better rate. We will be returning again this November.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bwp6767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thanks for staying with us during our renovations. We are trying to make everything nicer for our guests, but putting up with construction while being open has been very trying but all worthwhile. Its great to hear such nice reviews especially during the renovation process..
Thank you and we would love to see you again in November or anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

When we arrived I had a couple of questions regarding rates that I might qualify for and the current promotion the Choice Privileges was running. Gal gave me the rates and even let me call the 800 # so that I could qualify for the promo. Even though they are going through renovations right now, I would not hesitate to stay here. Room was clean and bed comfy.
After a long day of travelling, that is all we needed and don't need to nit-pick about renovations. Staff was very friendly and helpful and that is what matters to us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abram797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
It's always great to get good comments about our staff. Thats very important to us to hear that you were taken care of during your visit here, which is very important to us. We would love to see you again and thanks again for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I would choose another hotel. Dark, dingy rooms, slower than dial-up internet when it works, thin walls, and in serious need of renovation. The carpet was coming up on the floors, walls were dented, wallpaper torn. One night there were beer cans littering the hallways & a hole in the wall where a drunk guy yelling for condoms at 1am punched it. Plus the hotel is next to the train tracks so you can hear the train whistle blowing at 10pm, then at 11pm, and sometimes later. The freeway on the other side of the hotel contributes to road noise too. There is a Denny's restaurant attached to the hotel but others in my group complained of getting sick from their food. However, the hotel staff was nice and helpful and the free breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lthammari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time from your busy schedule to write the above comment .I would also like to apologize since your stay was not to your satisfaction. First, just want to let you know this is not a normal guest experience. As you seen, our hotel is under renovations, (pretty sure that would Of been the hole in wall thing). We have just won an Gold Award from Choice Hotels for guest satisfaction, which makes this comment upsetting. Please be assured that the issues you have raised, have been addressed, and appropriate action has been taken.We take pride in our hotel and staff, and do our best to prevent problems from recurring. Again, T.hank you for sharing your concerns with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is one of the best Comfort Inns I've ever stayed in. The staff was the best and the rooms were spacious and very clean.I give them a BIG thumbs up! An added plus is a Denny's is attached to it. You don't even have to go out to eat after a long day of traveling.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QuiltingJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
THANK YOU! THANK YOU! This is what its all about! Comments like this makes our whole staff feel proud of their job which is very important in the hospitality business. My staff and I work very hard just to receive such great reviews and we look forward to serving all of our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Great experience!!!!! Rooms are clean and not dated. Some renovation going on but I didn't mind!!! Near interstate so depending on your room location noise level in room could be high. Otherwise perfect!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seanberg671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your guest experience with us and the world. We strive for these kinda of comments. All comments are like our report cards, and we want straight "A"s! And we will keep working on that, so all guests can expect good service from us during any future stays. We look forward to serving you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I checked out of this hotel 2/13/2013 and realized I had lost my travel cash. I turned around and at the hotel asked for a key to my room to search for it. A lady from the desk came in to inform me she thought she might have my cash. The security guard was locking the doors at midnight and found cash in the hallway, put it in a envelope and left it to be claimed. GAGE you are the best, it was $150 cash. He could of pocketed it and no one would have known. The staff was amazing from check in to check out and a return back! The rooms rated to the Comfort Suites, cannot express how amazed I am with the experience! Clean, great space for dog to run before the rest of our trip. Breakfast and COFFEE & HONESTY!! Again a shout out to GAGE, MAY YOU BE BLESSED, THANK YOU for not taking advantage of me being tired and not being responsible, you have taken me to another level!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
You willingness to share your guest experience is genuinely appreciated. The principal goal of our staff and hotel, is to have guests leaving with a positive experience. Its even better when these guests take the time from their own busy lives to make such nice comments, its sure makes us feel like all the hard work is worth it. We look forward of taking care of you and all of our guests in this manner in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
4.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#6 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 544 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 1601 Martinsburg Pike, Winchester, VA 22603-4612
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Winchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Winchester
Comfort Inn Winchester
Winchester Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing