We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, clean and well appointed hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Owings, Maryland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very nice, clean and well appointed hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2009

We arrived at the Wingate Inn at about 6:00 PM and were quickly processed and into our room. The evening clerk had good suggestions for restaurants and the one we chose (China Jade) had excellent food. We found a very clean and new room with comfy beds and new bedding. The room was appointed nicely with all of the expected amenities and some that weren't like the garment steamer, refrigerator, microwave, a ceiling fan, plenty of lamps, a nice-sized working desk with a "wired" high speed internet connection. I could go on, but you can look at the specifics on the hotel description. We enjoyed our stay thoroughly and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. It is conveniently located to the interstate, Shenandoah University, and s short distance to historic Winchester.

  • Liked — Clean room.
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank macfanmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    336
    110
    36
    21
See reviews for
431
333
56
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2008

Positives: Spacious room, comfortable bed, clean, free business center, warm cookies upon arrival, nice breakfast(wafflemaker, boiled eggs, muffins etc), decent gym, free newspaper, fridge, microwave

Negatives: None

It's a nice hotel for its class.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank TSyed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland township, michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2008

we rented three rooms for my family. all three rooms were clean, firm beds and we liked the refrigerator and microwave in the room. also enjoyed the free internet....it made it easy to keep up on emails and research for the next day sight seeing agenda.

the staff was accessable and friendly. The breakfast bar was some of the best we have seen. make your own waffles...wonderful. the staff kept all the food well stocked. we like to sleep in and we were thrilled when even with only 10 minutes left all items were still available. they even had fresh cookies throughout the day. the dining area opens into the hotel lobby so it was a nice large area for us to congreagate and meet family.

grocery store and even clothes shopping was less than a mile away.

i thought the prices were very reasonable.

  • Liked — free internet
  • Disliked — nothing, i hate this question. it challenges you to think of something bad even when you have no complaints. it would be better say ...
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank darstevus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2008

this hotel is great. the rates r high for the area but are well worth it. when i arrived i was told that they needed to run a hold on my credit card for the room and my check wasnt clearing till midnight that night but they gladly told me to just pay in the morning when i woke up. large room with a jacuzzi for no extra charge. very clean and everything in the room is nice and perfect for my needs. great soft bed with 5 pillows, some soft and some hard. just an overall great experience

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zdawgg24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2007

We had no problems with this particular Wingate hotel, and would recommend it for anyone travelling in the area. Other than hearing a few doors slam once or twice, it was very quiet (don't think there were many staying there that night, either).

Incredible breakfast (biggest and best I've seen in a hotel/motel), pleasant staff, decent indoor pool and hottub. Many restaurants and stores nearby.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Beeloo03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2007

What can I say? This place is horrible. I worked in a hotel years ago, so I know what to expect. When the hotel was built, they obviously cut corners at every opportunity. For example, when guests complained that the pool was very cold, we were told that there is only ONE heater for both the pool and the jacuzzi--they have to switch it back and forth. That is the most asinine thing I have ever heard!
It is very noisy (due to more corner-cutting on the insulation, no doubt) and the vending machines and laundry facilities never work. Apparently the vending machines and the laundry machines are both serviced by companies owned and operated by family members of the management. Also, the satellite television did not work properly.
The computer system at the desk is also unreliable. God help you if you need a copy of a receipt from a previous stay for your records. They have to practically shut the system down and then go into the office and look for the 'disk' that has the records for that date. Meanwhile, everyone else in line has to wait, and wait, and wait . . .
This is by far the most sloppily run property I have ever seen.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
Thank Pamela0725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, VA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2007

My family stayed there this past weekend while we were looking at homes in there area. We stayed here 4 years ago for a wedding I was in so we were familair with the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I told them we needed info on the area as we may decide to relocate and they had plenty to give us. We had a King Bed and a pullout loveseat. Our kids are 3.5 and 11 so it was a tight fit. My youngest felt crowded so we gave her our very comfy and heavy comforter an she slept on the floor. The king bed had a lot of motion to it and wasn't very comfortable, but that's just my opinion. I like firm mattresses and this wasn't. A suggestion for anyone who stays at this hotel...ask for a room on the opposite side of the 2 restaurants. First, I heard a train go by around 1am and then around 3am or so I heard garbage trucks emptying the huge trash dumpsters from Chili's and Glory Days.

You can walk to Chili's or Glory Days through the parking lot and it's very close. The breakfast was not bad, but it didn't include sausage or eggs. I think that's included only on weekdays and we were there on a weekend. Mu husband and kids really enjoyed the pool. The first night it was a bit cold, but they turned up the temp. and they said it was better the next night. All in all, I would recommend this hotel and I would stay in it again. the price wasn't bad either. For a decent hotel around within an hour of D.C. you'll pay around $99/night. It's more expensive the closer you get to the city.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Dznyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.4 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Winchester

Property: Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
Address: 150 Wingate Dr., Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Winchester
#6 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#8 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Winchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax on your trip to the Shenandoah Valley at our Wingate by Wyndham Winchester hotel. Conveniently located off Interstate 81, our pet-friendly Winchester, VA, hotel near Shenandoah University offers all-inclusive value and thoughtful amenities to help make your trip easy. Start your morning with a workout in our 24-hour fitness center, then head down to the lobby for free hot breakfast. Use free Wi-Fi Internet access to catch up on email, or relax with a swim in our heated indoor pool. We provide microwaves and refrigerators in our hotel rooms, and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Winchester Hotel Winchester
Wingate Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing