We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Edgewater, Maryland
Level Contributor
172 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Due to a battle reenactment weekend we were unable to secure a 2 night stay at any local inn so we wound up at the Holiday Inn for Saturday night and were very impressed with the modern decor even if the actual location (while convenient to our driving destinations) lacked "charm and appeal".

Our king room on the 4th floor was exceptionally spacious, comfortable, quiet and clean. I actually slept better here than the inn we stayed out the night before. We didn't eat or drink in the cafe/bar area downstairs or use any amenities (other than the free wifi which worked great) during our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lsnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn. While the hotel’s actual location is a convenience to most travelers, we hope that our comfortable (and spacious) rooms and modern decoration, made up for its lack of “charm and appeal”

We sincerely hope that you would consider staying at Holiday Inn on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    114
    34
    8
    2
See reviews for
111
112
25
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Loved every minute of my stay. I was there over Labor Day weekend to join some friends for our annual gathering of the "Always Patsy Cline Fan Organization". The Holiday Inn took great care of us. They serve up an excellent meal in their banquet facility and the staff at the front desk along with everyone throughout the entire hotel is super attentive and accomidating. The rooms were great and very comfortable, I love the fact that there is a refrigerator, coffee pot and microwave available in every room. The restaruant/bar area was very nice and we enjoyed some great appetizers there. Very reasonably priced drinks/snacks are available near the front desk. This is a wonderful, clean hotel with great service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Holiday Inn. We are thankful that you and the other guests were very satisfied with the performance of our attentive and accommodating staff, as well the very generous review you made of our rooms, amenities, and restaurant/bar area.

We truly look forward to see you again at Holiday Inn soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

My sweetheart and I cruised in to the Holiday Inn Winchester for a first night before beginning a lazy travel down the Shenandoah Valley following Route 11. We enjoyed Winchester and the Holiday Inn Winchester so much we stayed an extra night.
The staff is very accommodating. The hotel is probably the cleanest and most up-to-date I've seen in a while. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were very nice.
We'll stay there again on our next venture to the northern Shenandoah Valley area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyW610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience during your stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Holiday Inn so much that you decided to book another extra night.

We do hope that you would consider staying at Holiday Inn again for your next visit at Winchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glen burnie,MD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great, helpful staff.Very clean rooms in a new hotel. convenient location. Would stay there again in a haertbeat! Winchester is very close by and easy to get to from the hotel. Amenities in the hotel are numerous.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theupsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello,

We are glad that you will consider visiting our hotel again. Thank you for your positive reviews about our staff, the cleanliness of our rooms, the amenities and finding our hotel in a convenient location for your travel purpose.

Your input will be an added motivation for our Team to maintain and continue on working for more improvements.

thank you for choosing to stay in Holiday Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

The hotel is easy to get to, it is near the intersection of rte 17 and I-81 on rte 522. Check in was quick and easy.The wedding package consisted of reduced room rate and two free breakfast coupons. We had a room on the 5th floor that was clean and spacious. There were two queen beds that had two firm and two soft pillows each, a small refrig, microwave and coffee maker. Our room overlooked a vacant lot but in the far distance we could see beautiful mountains. There are two things I would change about the room: one is I would rewire the ac so the fan remains on while the compressor cuts off once the room reaches tempreature, this will muffle hotel noises e.g., doors closing, people talking loudly in the hallway etc.The other thing i would change would be changing the floor lamp to a wall lamp this would allow more space behind the chair . As it is now when you sit in the chair you head hits the lamp shade and if you move the chair away from the lamp it makes it difficult to get in and out of that side of the bed.The indoor pool was small but was well stocked with towels. The workout room was small but had a treadmill , eliptical trainer and a few other pieces of eqipment.The restaurant had a buffett the weekend we were there that consisted of eggs, bacon, sausage links,biscuits and gravy, home fries, cereal , fruit , danish, and bagels or you could order off the menu that had typical breakfast diner food.It seemed some what expensive for wat you got. There are other breakfast options near by like Ihop, Cracker Barrel , and Golden Corral. There is an small airport nearby but I only heard planes during the day never at night or early in the morning.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueNebula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for bringing to our attention your reviews and concern on our room facilities. We will conduct evaluation on the matter so that this shall be corrected accordingly. Our goal is to provide our guests comfortable stay in our hotel and the best value services to the satisfaction of our guests and we appreciate you input as we use it as reference to identify the aspects that we need to work on.

Thank you for choosing to stay in Holiday Inn and we look forward to servicing your accommodation needs in our hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville,NC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stay about twice a year, have always been satisfied. Staff is friendly. Hotel & rooms are clean and comfortable. Typically have late night check-ins as this is our mid trip stopping point and have never had a problem. Was a little concerned this trip as our room was adjacent to the elevator but we never heard anything during the night. No free breakfast but the restaurant is reasonable and the food is good. Waitress Tina very friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Haven't had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hello Mr. James J.,

Thank you for continuing to stay in Holiday Inn.

Your positive revue ensures that we have done our best to maintain the quality of services that you enjoy during your stay in our hotel. Indeed, it inspires our Team to strive for excellence and give YOU, our guests, great value accommodation you deserve for giving us your business.

We hope to have the opportunity to continue on providing you our services in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
371 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here for a week on a business trip. It is a newer Holiday Inn Express that was spotlessly clean inside and in the rooms. The front desk staff was friendly and clearly customer service oriented. The gym is small and not so well equipped, but it is on par with most hotels of this size/price. The room was clean and equipped with a strong wi-fi signal, clean bathroom, plenty of outlets, a flat screen TV with tons of channels and comfortable beds.

The breakfast was not free, but maybe it is with a different rate plan. I paid $77/nt. For $5 each day, I had a sausage/egg/cheese bagel and a coffee that was pre-ordered and waiting for my pickup time, so that worked out well. Still, the Marriott down the street boasted free breakfast and free wi-fi.

Overall this place is a sound choice in business lodging in Winchester. There are restaurants to walk to as well as a grocery store and Costco. I'd stay here again if I returned to Winchester.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danield528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Danield528,

Thank you for your business and for considering visiting our Hotel again.

We are very glad that our services and facilities sufficed your needs and finding our staff to be helpful and accommodating. Your positive review is indeed a gem in our hearts and motivates our Team even more to further improve our performance to be able to offer our guests great experience every time.

Thank you for mentioning about the breakfast. We shall evaluate this matter and see what we can do to serve breakfast even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#5 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
2.1 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#6 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway

Property: Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Address: 333 Front Royal Pike, Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Winchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#9 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newest hotel in Virginia's famed Shenandoah Valley. Holiday Inn Historic Gateway, located just off I-8 in the heart of Winchester, VA, is close to the area's historic sites and modern corporations. Our Winchester hotel understands the needs of the business traveler so we offer high-speed, wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business center and excellent meeting facilities. Our hotel is minutes from Shenandoah University, Trex, American Woodmark, Kraft, HP Hood and Rubbermaid. Leisure travelers appreciate our hotel's Winchester, VA location because it allows them to easily visit the Valley's top attractions such as Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, Luray Caverns and Skyline Drive. With a central location for Civil War sites, museums, wineries, and golf courses, we're the ideal choice of hotel in the Shenandoah Valley.Our hotel amenities make your stay a terrific experience. There's an indoor pool with an outdoor sundeck, a well-equipped fitness center and a 24-hour convenience store for snacks and sundries. You can dine on American cuisine at Kem's Restaurant & Bar. We'll be happy to create a golf package for you to play your choice of nearby courses like Rock Harbor or Virginia National. Our professional and courteous staff welcomes you with Southern hospitality and a warm smile. You can relax when you stay at our Holiday Inn Historic Gateway hotel in Winchester, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Se Historic Gateway Hotel Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
Winchester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing