We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed in the Holiday Inn in Winchester for an overnight on the way home. It was very clean well appointed. Check in was a breeze. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Beds were comfortable and cozy. We ate dinner and breakfast in the hotel restaurant. Food was good, kids ate for free. We swam in the small indoor pool in the evening, water was warm and pool was clean. Had a very pleasant stay, thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTravelMAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

It is our goal to provide our guests the best service there is to offer like no other hotel can, and we sincerely appreciate the time you took in writing us your valuable feedback to commend us for the services we have given you. We couldn’t be more pleased to have served you well and made your stay a memorable one. It pleases us to know that you appreciated the entire hotel experience in total, for we wish to make the stay of our guests as comfortable as possible while giving them the best value for their money. We hope to be of service to you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (404)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 404 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

This hotel provides excellent service and will organize your entire golf holiday for you. They book your tee times and even provide a complimentary breakfast to start your day. When you arrive you receive a package with all the necessary vouchers and great directions to the courses you have selected. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

We thank you for sharing your experience with us. It gives us great joy that we were able to meet your expectations, and we couldn’t be happier to know that you gave us high recommendations. It is our goal to provide a memorable holiday for our guests as well as give them the best staff services we can offer. Thank you for expressing appreciation for the overall experience, rest assured that we will maintain all the positive remarks you have mentioned. We look forward to serving you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived until the next morning at checkout, it was the epitome of a perfect stay. The front desk personnel were wonderful, the beds were fantastic, the restaurant was great, the rooms were spectacular... I just can't say enough great things about this place!
I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to stay in the Winchester area.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tazzbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and spending time and effort in writing us your wonderful feedback. It brings us great joy that we were able to make your experience a memorable one. The notice and appreciation you gave regarding our staff services and room facilities gives us great pleasure and motivates us even more to further improve in meeting your utmost satisfaction. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I've stayed at many hotels in Winchester when I'm driving at nearby Summit Point Motorsport Park and this is definitely my favorite. Lobby has a modern feel and the rooms are clean, relatively spacious and comfortable. Always have a great nights sleep and like the fact they give you both hard and soft pillows so you can pick the best one for you. My room faced the back parking lot and was very quiet. Also has a bar downstairs if you want to grab a drink, something many of the other hotels in this price range don't offer.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write down your review. We couldn’t be happier to hear that we’ve made your experience a pleasant one. Your comment about our clean and comfortable accommodation as well as the entire hotel experience brings us much delight and has motivated us to outdo the service we’ve given you should you visit us again soon. It would be of great pleasure to be of service to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This property is definitely a cut or 2 above the "average" Holiday Inn, maybe because it's a relatively new property (opened 2008). The amenities, including a business suite good for printing out business/airline documents and a restaurant, are good to excellent, unexpected in this price range.

Their people were quite accommodating when I had to delay my arrival in Winchester by a day, owing to a late-season 4" snowfall that caused the cancellation of the event that we were supposed to attend. Even though my reservation was pre-paid, there was no issue about changing the arrival/departure dates.

The location, on US 522 (Front Royal Pike) just off the US 17/50/522 interchange with I-81, is very convenient to Shenandoah University and is not far at all from the historic sites of both downtown and the surrounding vicinity. A relatively short drive south brings one to the north entrance of Skyline Drive/Shenandoah National Park.

Overall, a good "base" from which to do many activities in the Shenandoah Valley.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank radishmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

We are more than happy to hear that you definitely enjoyed your stay with us even to the point of making us your new favorite hotel. It brings us much joy to know that our efforts to give you good service is well appreciated. It is our aim to give the best service there is we could offer to our valued guests, and ensuring that their needs are well attended to. We hope to see you soon in one of your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights last weekend. Convenient location off of I-81, there are many food options within a short drive of the hotel. Winchester is located about 20 miles north of the entrance to Skyline Drive in Shenandoah National Park and the drive from hotel to park entrance was about half an hour.
Hotel appears to be a newer property as everything looked fresh and was in good shape. Room was fairly large with 2 queen beds, also had flat screen tv with over 100 channels, microwave and refrigerator. Room was very clean and furniture appeared to be new. Hotel also has indoor pool (pool was small) and a fitness room with 2 treadmills and 2 multi purpose workout stations. Although fitness room was not large, i was able to make adjustments to the settings on the workout stations and managed to do at least 1 exercise for each muscle group.
We had 2 breakfasts and 1 dinner at the hotel restaurant, food quality was pretty good and service was excellent. We also had a couple of drinks at the bar, bartender was friendly and poured pretty strong drinks. We found all of the hotel staff to be very friendly and accommodating.
Overall, we had an excellent stay at this hotel. Although it was a Holiday Inn, the overall decor, accommodations, and staff were what you would expect from high end hotels such as a Hilton or a Marriott. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone staying in this area of Virginia.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ronnoc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

We wish to extend our sincerest appreciation for the time you took in writing us your valuable feedback. We couldn’t be more pleased to have served you well and made your experience a memorable one. It pleases us to know that you noticed the cleanliness and the offered facilities and amenities of our hotel; for we aim to offer our guests a comfortable environment should they wish to stay with us. We hope to be of service to you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This Holiday Inn offered a comfortable and clean place to stay on our trip from New England to North Carolina. Our only, minor complaint was the noise of the air handlers on the roof. There was a constant rumbling noise. The air conditioning unit in our room worked well so we assume the noise has something to do with the total building engineering.
The room was very comfortable (good bed, pillows, and sheets) and clean. The bathroom, while not overly large, was totally functional and the water pressure was good. The lobby of the hotel had a fireplace and small seating area and the restaurant was good. The modern decor made it seem a little noisy since there was no drapery nor carpeting to absorb the noise from the bar. The food was fine and the service friendly.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Perhaps a room below the top floor would be a little quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ncgrampy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BartlettJ64, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thank you very much for you response. I stay here quite often as well and I would agree that when it is windy the air handlers can make some noise. This is normally not a problem but welcome to March (old man winter can keep the snow though). We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
2.1 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
704 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway

Address: 333 Front Royal Pike, Winchester, VA 22602-7320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Winchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#9 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: $103 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newest hotel in Virginia's famed Shenandoah Valley. Holiday Inn Historic Gateway, located just off I-8 in the heart of Winchester, VA, is close to the area's historic sites and modern corporations. Our Winchester hotel understands the needs of the business traveler so we offer high-speed, wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business center and excellent meeting facilities. Our hotel is minutes from Shenandoah University, Trex, American Woodmark, Kraft, HP Hood and Rubbermaid. Leisure travelers appreciate our hotel's Winchester, VA location because it allows them to easily visit the Valley's top attractions such as Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, Luray Caverns and Skyline Drive. With a central location for Civil War sites, museums, wineries, and golf courses, we're the ideal choice of hotel in the Shenandoah Valley.Our hotel amenities make your stay a terrific experience. There's an indoor pool with an outdoor sundeck, a well-equipped fitness center and a 24-hour convenience store for snacks and sundries. You can dine on American cuisine at Kem's Restaurant & Bar. We'll be happy to create a golf package for you to play your choice of nearby courses like Rock Harbor or Virginia National. Our professional and courteous staff welcomes you with Southern hospitality and a warm smile. You can relax when you stay at our Holiday Inn Historic Gateway hotel in Winchester, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Se Historic Gateway Hotel Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
Winchester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing