We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel - clean rooms, nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very good hotel - clean rooms, nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed at the Holiday Inn from 11/2-11/3. Nice reception area, fireplace, bar and small restaurant. Rooms were large, for a hotel of this type, and clean. Facilities seemed newish and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snorkelbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Evening Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
It is wonderful to know that you had a wonderful time at our hotel. We are still new-ish at only four years old, but we try to keep it as clean as it was when we opened. Now that the cooler temperatures are setting in, it is nice to have the fireplace on because it does add a nice warm glow to the lobby. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have you stay with us again the next time you are back in the Winchester area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    111
    32
    8
    2
See reviews for
107
110
25
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

As we were on tour to the south we found this hotel for a night sleep. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Nice rooms, we had one for disabled )do not know if all the rooms are like that.
Free wifi, free parking, no place to sit in the late evening. Far from things to doo.
If you are looking for a good place, right price. stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billienetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Evening Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
We hope that your tour was successful, and thank you for making us one of your stops! We really appreciate that you took the time to give us a review on your stay with us, and hope that you will keep us in mind if you are ever back in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is a newer hotel. Great room with comfortable beds. We paid an extra $10 for the room to come with breakfast - it was well worth it. You can choose from a menu. The food was very good. The bathroom had a great shower with good pressure & a door that opened out instead of in. This gives you more room in the bathroom. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cruisequeenMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Evening Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for recognizing the value in our Best Flexible with Breakfast package, and it’s great to know that really enjoyed the meal! I am happy to read that you had a wonderful stay and your room was comfortable for a good night’s sleep. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a nice room with a very comfortable bed. We stayed here one night and hated to leave.
We did have breakfast in the restaurant in the hotel. The food was very good. Julie was the waitress. She did an excellent job. She had so much to do but was so very pleasant. Holiday Inn has a great employee---Julie. We were very impressed with this beautiful, clean hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chattchoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Evening Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
It is wonderful to see that you had a very pleasant stay at the Holiday Inn Winchester! We appreciate all of the nice comments about our hotel and for recognizing Julie for her hard work. We would like to thank you for staying with us and hope that you will be able to come back again the next time that you are in Winchester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a beautiful, new-looking Holiday Inn with very comfortable beds and great sound insulation. I didn't hear a peep from any neighboring TV's, although the in-room heating/AC unit was not particularly quiet. The bedding was sumptious! Very clean room and bathroom, and quite spacious. Beautiful decor throughout the hotel, with a small, modern restaurant and cozy bar area. The ony complaint would be the absense of a complimentary breakfast: however, there is free coffee in the rooms and in the lobby in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beentheredonethat46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Evening Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We really appreciate you for taking the time to write such wonderful comments on how clean and spacious our hotel is kept! The reason that we don’t have a complimentary breakfast is because of our brand, we offer a full-service restaurant. For IHG Hotels, the brand that offers the complimentary breakfast would be the Holiday Inn Express. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will come back and stay with us again if you are ever back in the Winchester area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night during our road trip through PA and VA. Nice, clean hotel with friendly staff. We had a king room that had a comfy bed, though we had to call for extra pillows because the size of the pillows on the bed were the size of couch throw pillows. The bathroom was spacious and had only a shower with slide glass doors. Water pressure was nice. I do wish there was a place that was big enough to hold a standard size shampoo and conditioner, but the shower floor worked OK. What I really liked about the bathroom was that the door opened out. So many hotel bathrooms have the door open in to the bathroom which makes you have to dance around the door to get in and out and often you have to close the door just to be inside the bathroom. They do have coffee makers in the rooms, but be sure to bring your own water because they don't offer bottled water in the room.

Overall, nice and easy place to stay. I didn't even wake up once throughout the entire night!

Room Tip: Bring your own bottled water if you plan to have coffee in your room; they don't offer it as an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shrimpybait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Evening Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your thoughts on our hotel! We are happy to know that you had a great stay with us. Our pillows are standard size, but the housekeepers do shape our pillows in to give it the standard Holiday Inn look. I hope that you had a wonderful road trip and that you think of us the next time you’re driving through Winchester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a quiet, clean comfortable room twice in the past week or so, each time for one night. I recommend it if you find yourself in or passing by Winchester. I'd suggest the nearby Cracker Barrel for breakfast as the restaurant in the Holiday Inn is understaffed for breakfast.
I also suggest you join the Holiday Inn loyalty program for free.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akaArturoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Evening Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and being a loyal Priority Club member! It is fantastic that your past stays with us have been a retreat in your travels. I am sorry that the restaurant has been too busy for the amount of staff that we have, and we are continually trying to monitor of staffing levels to be adequately prepared. Although, I do suggest trying the restaurant sometime in the future, as they have a wonderful fresh, made to order menu of delicious items!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#5 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#6 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 532 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway

Property: Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Address: 333 Front Royal Pike, Winchester, VA 22602-7320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Winchester
#9 Family Hotel in Winchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newest hotel in Virginia's famed Shenandoah Valley. Holiday Inn Historic Gateway, located just off I-8 in the heart of Winchester, VA, is close to the area's historic sites and modern corporations. Our Winchester hotel understands the needs of the business traveler so we offer high-speed, wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business center and excellent meeting facilities. Our hotel is minutes from Shenandoah University, Trex, American Woodmark, Kraft, HP Hood and Rubbermaid. Leisure travelers appreciate our hotel's Winchester, VA location because it allows them to easily visit the Valley's top attractions such as Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, Luray Caverns and Skyline Drive. With a central location for Civil War sites, museums, wineries, and golf courses, we're the ideal choice of hotel in the Shenandoah Valley.Our hotel amenities make your stay a terrific experience. There's an indoor pool with an outdoor sundeck, a well-equipped fitness center and a 24-hour convenience store for snacks and sundries. You can dine on American cuisine at Kem's Restaurant & Bar. We'll be happy to create a golf package for you to play your choice of nearby courses like Rock Harbor or Virginia National. Our professional and courteous staff welcomes you with Southern hospitality and a warm smile. You can relax when you stay at our Holiday Inn Historic Gateway hotel in Winchester, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Se Historic Gateway Hotel Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
Winchester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing