We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night during our road trip through PA and VA. Nice, clean hotel with friendly staff. We had a king room that had a comfy bed, though we had to call for extra pillows because the size of the pillows on the bed were the size of couch throw pillows. The bathroom was spacious and had only a shower with slide glass doors. Water pressure was nice. I do wish there was a place that was big enough to hold a standard size shampoo and conditioner, but the shower floor worked OK. What I really liked about the bathroom was that the door opened out. So many hotel bathrooms have the door open in to the bathroom which makes you have to dance around the door to get in and out and often you have to close the door just to be inside the bathroom. They do have coffee makers in the rooms, but be sure to bring your own water because they don't offer bottled water in the room.

Overall, nice and easy place to stay. I didn't even wake up once throughout the entire night!

Room Tip: Bring your own bottled water if you plan to have coffee in your room; they don't offer it as an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shrimpybait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Evening Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your thoughts on our hotel! We are happy to know that you had a great stay with us. Our pillows are standard size, but the housekeepers do shape our pillows in to give it the standard Holiday Inn look. I hope that you had a wonderful road trip and that you think of us the next time you’re driving through Winchester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    113
    32
    8
    2
See reviews for
110
110
25
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a quiet, clean comfortable room twice in the past week or so, each time for one night. I recommend it if you find yourself in or passing by Winchester. I'd suggest the nearby Cracker Barrel for breakfast as the restaurant in the Holiday Inn is understaffed for breakfast.
I also suggest you join the Holiday Inn loyalty program for free.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akaArturoK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Evening Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and being a loyal Priority Club member! It is fantastic that your past stays with us have been a retreat in your travels. I am sorry that the restaurant has been too busy for the amount of staff that we have, and we are continually trying to monitor of staffing levels to be adequately prepared. Although, I do suggest trying the restaurant sometime in the future, as they have a wonderful fresh, made to order menu of delicious items!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
181 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed here for a night while on business in Winchester; the great reviews are all correct!

It would seem this is a newer property and it shows. The exterior is very clean, well kept and well lit at night. The lobby and restaurant are very clean and inviting; the restaurant food was decent, but well priced and the service was very prompt and pleasant.

The room itself was very spacious, very clean and well appointed with a good bed, fast wifi, flat screen tv with many, many stations; my room was also very quiet.

Only two small negatives I can come up with: there is no shopping or dining within walking distance, and the bathroom could use a bit more light.

All in all, a great choice for less than a hundred bucks a night!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ToSquareBob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Evening Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Your review was a delight to read! Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at the Holiday Inn Winchester! The entire staff works very hard to keep the #1 spot because we want our guests to be happy with every stay! And we are very happy to know that our change to DirecTV has been a great hit with guests because of the wide range in available channels. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in Winchester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

This hotel was very well kept up and cleaned, not to mention had a very professional front desk staff. Everything from the elevators to the hallways to the rooms smelled and look amazing! The room had plenty of space and had well kept furniture. The two person walk in shower was an added bonus. I would recommend this hotel to anyone (except maybe those with small kids because of the walk in shower). The bed was also very comfortable and I looked forward to sleeping in it every night!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Evening Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you so much for writing such a nice review of the Holiday Inn Winchester! The details of your experience are wonderful to read and very much appreciated. We hope that every stay with us, you have the same wonderful experience! And just to know, some of our king rooms do have the walk-in showers, like you had, but we also have bathtubs in both our king and two queen room types. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden Beach, NC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We made a reservation on the road and arrived late to find a friendly, professional, staff and a clean bright hotel. Our room was quiet and clean in spite of the place being full. Wish all HIE's were like this one. Sadly they are not ...

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank subtropical_ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Evening Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience here at the Holiday Inn Winchester! We are delighted to read that your stay was wonderful and we hope that you will come to stay with us again the next time that you visit Winchester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

On our way to ct,we stopped over at this beautiful,clean hotel. I have not stayed at many holiday inn's before,but after staying here I would definetly stay again. This is a lovely hotel with a welcoming staf. The front desk staff as well as the restaurant staff r very friendly. the rooms are updated with very comfortable beds and are in excelant condition as well as the entire hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Evening Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
We are so happy that you were able to have a great Holiday Inn experience! Thank you for writing such a wonderful review of our hotel, and it’s reassuring that we’re providing our customers with excellent service! We hope that you will be able to stay with us again the next time you visit Winchester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
218 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I chose this hotel based on reviews in Trip Advisor but was not really certain what to expect. Our stay definitely exceeded any expectations I may have had. It was perfectly located for our excursions to Shenandoah National Park and the Antietam Battlefield (about midway between the two). We also explored downtown Winchester and had two excellent dinners in town. The hotel itself was great. The room was large and comfortable. The hotel was modern, clean, well-maintained and had all amenities necessary. It was definitely a bargain and I would stay there again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dannyo62003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather P, Evening Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Thank you for staying with us as a part of your trip through the Shenandoah Valley! We hope that the rest of your trip was as great as your stay was with us! It is wonderful to read that you found our hotel to meet all of your needs and lived up to our other TripAdvisor reviews. We hope that you will be able to come back and explore more of the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#7 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#4 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
2.1 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#6 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway

Property: Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Address: 333 Front Royal Pike, Winchester, VA 22602-7320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Winchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#9 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newest hotel in Virginia's famed Shenandoah Valley. Holiday Inn Historic Gateway, located just off I-8 in the heart of Winchester, VA, is close to the area's historic sites and modern corporations. Our Winchester hotel understands the needs of the business traveler so we offer high-speed, wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business center and excellent meeting facilities. Our hotel is minutes from Shenandoah University, Trex, American Woodmark, Kraft, HP Hood and Rubbermaid. Leisure travelers appreciate our hotel's Winchester, VA location because it allows them to easily visit the Valley's top attractions such as Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, Luray Caverns and Skyline Drive. With a central location for Civil War sites, museums, wineries, and golf courses, we're the ideal choice of hotel in the Shenandoah Valley.Our hotel amenities make your stay a terrific experience. There's an indoor pool with an outdoor sundeck, a well-equipped fitness center and a 24-hour convenience store for snacks and sundries. You can dine on American cuisine at Kem's Restaurant & Bar. We'll be happy to create a golf package for you to play your choice of nearby courses like Rock Harbor or Virginia National. Our professional and courteous staff welcomes you with Southern hospitality and a warm smile. You can relax when you stay at our Holiday Inn Historic Gateway hotel in Winchester, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Se Historic Gateway Hotel Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
Winchester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing