We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn SE - Great!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This hotel was very very nice. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful during my stay, the rooms were so clean. The on-site restaurant and staff were great. I enjoyed working out in the gym and the indoor pool was a treat for the month of December to be swimming. I would have stayed there forever..........

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tturner107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillKnowles, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

Dear tturner107,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. Our staff takes great pride in making sure all of our guests have a memorable stay with us. I will be sure to pass this on to them and we look foward to having you stay with us again soon.

Again, thank you for staying with us.

Regards,

Bill Knowles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 411 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2011

Needed a convenient place to stay for 1 night and found great reviews on this hotel, so we decided to stay there. The reviews were all accurate. Rooms are very clean. Everything looked new. Service was good. Only complaint...........had to wait for a new batch of coffee to be made in the morning. When I went to the lobby at 7:15 a.m. to get a cup, the pot was empty.

If you use map quest for directions, make sure you receive directions to the 333 Front Royal Pike Holiday Inn. There's another Holiday near by and that's where map quest directed me.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandylvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillKnowles, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2011

Dear sandylvn,

Thank you so much for staying with us. We are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience with us. My apologies you had to wait for a cup of coffee, that should have been waiting for you. We appreciate the feedback and will work harder to make sure coffee is always available in the morning.

We look forward to seeing you again when you are back in Winchester, Virginia.

Regards,

Bill Knowles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Never been to the hotel it was by far the best hotel ive stayed at. i liked facing the back of the hotel.. went to the pool temp read 80 degrees felt like 68 didnt find a hot tub. but room was great Clean and seeing it is a 2 yr old property looks like it just opened. will stay again and again

Room Tip: back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiger b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillKnowles, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

Dear tiger b,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments regarding your stay with us. We hope to see you again and again when you are in the Winchester area.

Thank you for your feedback on the pool temp, it is kept at a comfortable degrees year around for the enjoyment of our guests. We appreciate your feedback on a hot tub, it will be taken into consideration.

Thanks again for staying with us and Happy Holidays.

Regards,

Bill Knowles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed here just overnight on our way to Florida. The hotel is fairly easy to find if you get off at the right exit. There is an A&B exit and the hotel is at the second ramp which I believe is the A exit. We missed it in heavy traffic and had to back track.

It appears to be a new hotel and everything was spotless. Very friendly and efficient check in. Our room was a spacious 2 queens with microwave, fridge, coffee maker etc. The room and bedding were very comfortable.

As we were tired we didn't venture out to eat but went down to the lobby area and found a nice small bar and restaurant area. We had a light meal at the bar which was quite good and reasonably priced. They do serve breakfast there but it's not included. We left early before breakfast so can't comment on that.

All in all a very pleasant experience and would definitely stay here again. Also the price we felt was very reasonable - around $80. with tax.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zampano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillKnowles, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Dear Zampano,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. Our entire staff is thrilled you had a memorable experience at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to the Winchester area.

Once again, thank you so much for staying at the Holiday Inn Winchester SE Historic Gateway.

Happy Thanksgiving

Regards,

Bill Knowles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I just want to share my feelings about this hotel. I have frequently stayed at this HI Hotel in Winchester and must say that with each stay my experiance has been extremely satisfying." two thumbs up" from cleanliness to food and service.
Keep up the great work.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chuck K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillKnowles, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Dear Chuck K,

Thank you so much for the "two thumbs up". We are very happy to hear that each time you stay with us it is a wonderful experience. We strive to be the best everyday and really appreciate you sharing your feelings about us.

We look forward to seeing you once again in the near future.

Happy Thanksgiving.

Regards,

Bill Knowles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I travel a lot for my job and have stayed in my fair share of hotels. I have never experienced the level of excellence that I have witnessed here from Debbie and Heather. They went out of their way entirely to ensure I had every thing I needed for my trip, all together. All summed up, I have never felt more welcome.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mcapo86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillKnowles, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Dear Mcapo86,

We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Debbie and Heather are truly thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us, as are all of our staff. We strive for excellence everyday and we look forward to having you stay with us next time you are in Winchester.

Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know we made your stay very memorable.

Regards,

Bill Knowles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed here one night on a business trip to the area. Location is easily accessed from I-81 and is a short drive to Old Town and very close to the Apple Blossom Mall. Check-in was efficient and since I signed up for the Priority Club I received a bag with a bottle of water and a locally grown apple upon check-in, which I thought was a thoughtful touch (Priority Club also offered a 15% discount in hotel restaurant). Lobby offered a coffee station and a nice alternative, apple cider and the lobby also offered a seating area near a fireplace. Common areas seemed very well maintained. King room on fifth floor (532) on road side of hotel was spacious, clean, and comfortable. Wireless internet worked well and flat-screen TV offered a good assortment of channels. Bed was especially comfortable, with an assortment of soft and firm pillows. Being on the road side of the hotel, some traffic sounds were heard (mostly from larger trucks) but few sounds from hallway or neighboring rooms. All staff encountered were friendly and helpful. Food from on-site restaurant was average but a nice option after traveling and not wanting to venture out again. Great state government rate. Would stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel to help minimize road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeaceLoveBoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BillKnowles, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2011

Dear NCinWV,

We are all very happy to hear that your stay with us was excellent all around. We really appreciate you taking time out of your busy schedule to let us know how we did. We will strive to make the restaurant experience better next time, so thank you for letting us know we can improve in that area.

On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you again on your return trip to the Winchester, Virginia area.

Regards,

Bill Knowles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
2.1 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
716 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway

Address: 333 Front Royal Pike, Winchester, VA 22602-7320
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Winchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#9 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: $99 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newest hotel in Virginia's famed Shenandoah Valley. Holiday Inn Historic Gateway, located just off I-8 in the heart of Winchester, VA, is close to the area's historic sites and modern corporations. Our Winchester hotel understands the needs of the business traveler so we offer high-speed, wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business center and excellent meeting facilities. Our hotel is minutes from Shenandoah University, Trex, American Woodmark, Kraft, HP Hood and Rubbermaid. Leisure travelers appreciate our hotel's Winchester, VA location because it allows them to easily visit the Valley's top attractions such as Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, Luray Caverns and Skyline Drive. With a central location for Civil War sites, museums, wineries, and golf courses, we're the ideal choice of hotel in the Shenandoah Valley.Our hotel amenities make your stay a terrific experience. There's an indoor pool with an outdoor sundeck, a well-equipped fitness center and a 24-hour convenience store for snacks and sundries. You can dine on American cuisine at Kem's Restaurant & Bar. We'll be happy to create a golf package for you to play your choice of nearby courses like Rock Harbor or Virginia National. Our professional and courteous staff welcomes you with Southern hospitality and a warm smile. You can relax when you stay at our Holiday Inn Historic Gateway hotel in Winchester, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Se Historic Gateway Hotel Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
Winchester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing