We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Magical Place”
Review of Mountain Song Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain Song Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Willis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our 45th wedding anniversary was looming and I had not made arrangements for us to get away from the daily routine. I decided, almost too late, to see what I could find online, so I explored the Bed and Breakfasts of Virginia. After about thirty frustrating minutes of searching for just the right place, I stumbled upon the Mountain Song Inn. I was captivated by the pictures and the fact that it overlooked the Blue Ridge Mountains facing the sunrise. But where in the world was Willis and Floyd, Virginia? We are new residents to the commonwealth and the unfamiliarity of locations continues to haunt me, but I felt a real pull and believed that the Mountain Song Inn was the place we were meant to go for three nights. So I inquired about a room and almost immediately received word that indeed space was available on the nights we desired. When we arrived we were warmly greeted by the innkeepers, Chris and Andy, who immediately made us feel very much at home. Our room was spacious and comfortable, the breakfast absolutely delicious. I have some dietary restrictions and they were very helpful in providing for my needs. Being in the mountains was absolutely a wonderful experience, and we are very eager to return to the SONG again soon.

Room Tip: There are three rooms on the ground floor and all three are absolutely wonderful.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WTM42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nonna729, Owner at Mountain Song Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

You two brought a lot of magic with you, thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
There are newer reviews for Mountain Song Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 201 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed with Andy and Chris earlier this summer for our very first time and could not have been more pleased with the entire experience. From the moment of our arrival, Chris called out to us from the upstairs porch, warmly welcomed us to her home and offered us some of her delicious macaroons. From that moment, there was no doubt we had made a good decision! Andy sat with us to give us the overview of the local community and what it had to offer for diversion, he made reservations for us (our anniversary was that weekend) at one of the local wineries for dinner, and then showed us to our room. The room was spacious, comfortable, and quiet (quiet is a little slice of heaven for me). Every morning breakfast made by Chris was fantastic...she could easily be the next Julia Child!! It is simply not possible to say enough about the excellent hospitality both Andy and Chris provide. They are unobtrusive, yet always available to provide directions or suggestion or to just sit with and have a chat. We will be back and have already scheduled our next trip for this fall!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhgreenrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nonna729, Owner at Mountain Song Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you so much for the beautiful review, Andy and I so enjoyed your visit and look forward to your returning soon.
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Superb B&B. Chris and Andy are fantastic innkeepers - very welcoming, fun to chat with, run their place in a very professional manner. Mountain Song is a lovely environment - immaculate, lovely decor, delicious breakfasts, beautiful views. Off the beaten track - which forces you to chill out and relax.

Room Tip: Any room would be great!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank momspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nonna729, Owner at Mountain Song Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Love my New York guest, thank you and come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Beautiful lush setting near the Blue Ridge parkway. Our granddaughter loves photography and spent many hours walking around and taking photos of the beautiful flowers, butterflies and hummingbirds. Our hosts Chris and Andy were perfect. The breakfast each morning were delicious and very filling. There was always fruit, warm breads and amazing entrees. We spent a lot of time sitting on the porch swing watching hummingbirds. Would definitely recommend Morning Song for anyone looking for the perfect getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Born2Dine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nonna729, Owner at Mountain Song Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Mountain Song thanks you, we look forward to your return...please make it soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Mountain Song Inn is a wonderful place in a beautiful location. We picked this B&B because of the overwhelming number of positive reviews, and now I'm here to add one more. The hosts, Andy and Chris, are two of the most hospitable people you will ever meet. Their home and gardens outside Floyd are absolutely gorgeous. I couldn't believe that they keep it all up themselves! I have never seen so many butterflies in my life!

The accommodations are just as nice. We stayed in the French Country room. Our room had access to a small patio and garden. Each room has its own bathroom. The rooms are located on the bottom floor, and then there is a large great room on the floor above that is open to guests. There is a large covered porch (with a swing) and inside are comfy couches, a separate TV room, and large dining room. And cookies!

Breakfast was just perfect. Plenty of delicious food without feeling over-full. Fresh fruit, veggies from their garden, and other local food made for a great start to the day. They were also very attentive to food allergies and preferences.

Lastly, they are extremely knowledgeable and helpful about things to do in the area. We were very pleased with all the recommendations from Andy, including the fruit stand we stopped by as we were traveling home. We will definitely be returning to this most relaxing retreat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nonna729, Owner at Mountain Song Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you, Ms. Patti, we can't wait for the two of you to return. Your kind words are much appreciated. CM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We only had one night to stay at a B&B along the Blue Ridge Parkway, and boy, did we pick the right one!
The Mountain Song hits all the highs you'd want for a B&B stay...
Chris and Andy, the Innkeepers, could not have been more charming, accommodating or interesting. Felt like we were visiting old friends. And Chris' breakfast was amazing. It was delicious, and filled us up for our long day on the road. Andy's attention to every detail was impressive and unobtrusive, as were his dinner recommendations in the nearby town of Floyd.
The Inn is stunning, each of the three rooms is beautifully decorated, without being "cute." The furnishings and details are tasteful and appropriate, We stayed in the French Country room (I think it was called), perfect.
The common rooms are very comfortable and inviting, as is the large porch overlooking one of the great views in the Virginia mountains.
Then, there are the hummingbirds.
A constant presence at the feeders on the porch, you could spend your entire stay just watching them play, fly around, hover, and come up to the feeders.
We strongly recommend you consider a stay at the Mountain Song, and if you can tear yourself away from the porch, the view (and the pool table), do plan to spend some time chatting with Chris and Andy, it only makes it better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmrshll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nonna729, Owner at Mountain Song Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

We look forward to you both returning for more than one night. Thank you so much for the lovely review.
CM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Comfortable surroundings, attentive hosts, and delicious food -- the Mountain Song Inn provides everything anyone would need for a retreat from the day-to-day grind. Every time we return, we enjoy Chris and Andy's hospitality, some quiet time on the porch, and a view that is one of the best in the region. Add hummingbirds and beautiful gardens -- and the resulting sum is far more than the parts -- truly relaxing accommodations of the highest order.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally wonderful.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nonna729, Owner at Mountain Song Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you, Jim, we appreciate your loyalty to Mountain Song, and always love to see your names pop up on our reservation system. Please come back soon. I so appreciate the wonderful perfume oil you two got for me. Thank you so much.
CM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willis
9.8 mi away
Oak Haven Lodge
Oak Haven Lodge
#3 of 4 in Floyd
51 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Floyd
Hotel Floyd
#1 of 4 in Floyd
516 reviews
15.0 mi away
Mountain Rose Inn
Mountain Rose Inn
#1 of 1 in Woolwine
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
The Oaks Victorian Inn
The Oaks Victorian Inn
#1 of 6 in Christiansburg
223 reviews
23.1 mi away
Uptown Suites of Stuart
20.4 mi away
Blue Ridge Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Song Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Song Inn

Address: 319 Mystic Lane NW, Willis, VA 24380
Location: United States > Virginia > Willis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Willis
Price Range: $200 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Song Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Song Inn is a five star bed and breakfast in the Blue Ridge Highlands of Floyd County, Virginia. Our magical rural retreat is suitable for the most discriminating taste, and guest say our breakfast is the best they have ever eaten anywhere. Our area is noted for its Crooked Road Mountain music venues, talented artists, wonderful Virginia wineries, and outdoor recreations of all types, including hunting, fishing, and hiking. At Mountain Song Inn, we want to help you create A MEMORABLE EXPERIENCE by providing refined comfort, genuine personal warmth, and accommodating your degree of personal solitude or integration, all at your own pace. It is time for a visit to Mountain Song Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Mountain Song Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Song Inn Willis, Virginia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing