We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Opus 9 Steakhouse

Opus 9 Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Opus 9 Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 383 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Courthouse Rd
Description: located in the NewTown area of Williamsburg, VA
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Not value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Turned up without a booking and we're told the only tables were in the bar area which was fine. What they didn't say was we could have a bar menu also. Very dark so difficult to read the menu. Expensive for what we had. The girl behind the bar seemed to do most of the work.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 243MaryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    485
    133
    68
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“just plane awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

best steak in a long time excellant everything! went there for a birthday celebration. very accommodating

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greatfood4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Birthday Lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Had a very special birthday lunch with my daughter. Our waiter, Jose', provided excellent service and the food was outstanding! I'd highly recommend the place and will definitely return for another visit. You must try this place!

Helpful?
Thank BurgGirl620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Superb Upscale Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

My spouse and I had a wonderful meal on Oct 25 at this Williamsburg institution. It was my first time there and reminded me very much of Morton's, and I say that as a compliment. We both had filet mignon, both of which were prepared perfectly and were so tender they could have been cut with a fork. The side wishes were also prepared nicely, though our calimari and shrimp cocktail appetizers were merely average. Dessert however, was five-star. My spouse ordered the "Beethoven's Favorite," which is described as "dense rich Cake of Chocolate-Hazelnut Mousse with Toasted Hazelnuts." She claimed it might have been the finest piece of chocolate cake she's ever had. Service was like-wise first class; very attentive but not over bearing. We will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MotownF00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
250 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Home of some of the best steaks anywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We ate at Opus 9 on October 23 and had a spectacular meal. The New York strip is as good as it gets and the bone in filet is wonderful. Highly recommend for people who like to get what they paid for. It's a bargain at around $45 per steak because it rivals the $120 steaks we've had at Craftsteak in Vegas. David was not a good waiter but the waiters that served us in the past were terrific.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OCC04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Opus 9 Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing