We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A handsome restaurant with delicious choices”
Review of Ichiban

Ichiban
Ranked #159 of 391 Restaurants in Williamsburg
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Constant Traveller
Level 6 Contributor
419 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
“A handsome restaurant with delicious choices”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Four of us went for dinner to Ichiban, and everybody enjoyed their choices. The staff was very professional. Wine selections were good. My "General Chao's Chicken" was plump and tasty, not too spicy. The spring rolls were excellent, as were the endamame. Thumbs up, all around.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PilotMike2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    47
    13
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great little place for Chinese.”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The duck here is wonderful as are the other entrees. The service is always prompt and friendly and the decor is a step above your typical Chinese restaurant.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank zagnutmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“New Town eatery”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Atmosphere nice, service good. We ordered the Peking duck, which was a little disappointing. We were really hoping for an "experience"; we are big duck afficionatos.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LisaWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

In the mood for some spicy Thai and this was a good choice. Chose Pad Thai with tofu. Included a small but fresh salad with a ginger dressing made from a base of puréed carrot- delicious.

Outdoor seating was very pleasant. Good experience of Asian cuisine in a colonial setting!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amandasfollower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“VERY disappointing”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

While visiting from out of town, we decided to try Ichiban. Both my husband & I were very disappointed in the food. He had Korean spare ribs which were so tough he could barely cut them w/a knife. I had mango shrimp wih tough chewy shrimp & hard pieces of mango w/the skin on. That being said the place is lovely inside & our server was very attentive. The manager did offer us choosing any dish but we were w/friends & didn't want to wait for another meal to be cooked. My thinking is it should have been cooked right the 1st time. Can't recommend to anyone & we will not return here.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank basketlady88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ichiban also viewed

 

Been to Ichiban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing