We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Inn”
Review of Fife & Drum Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fife & Drum Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
French Lick, In
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wonderful Inn”
Reviewed July 24, 2006

My better half and I stayed at the Fife and Drum for four nights and found it wonderful. It's right in the historic district within walking distance to everything.....sites, restuarants and local transportation. We had the historic triangle pass waiting for us at the Inn when we arrived and it took us everywhere we wanted to go and got us into everything we wanted to see. The Inn arranged the pass for us which was very easy and reasonable. Our room was really nice and we saw almost all the other rooms in the Inn as well and they were all special in their own way. We would only stay there again should be decide to return to Williamsburg for another vacation. Great place, fantastic location and wonderful people....you couldn't have ask for more!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing, it was great!
  • Tips/Secrets — walk everywhere, you see more
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dino2mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    95
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
166
329
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2005

I stayed at the Fife and Drum Inn in April 2005 and found it to be excellent. The location is very convenient, being right at Merchant's Square, so Colonial Williamsburg is within easy walking distance, along with many good dining options. The rooms are individually furnished and quite comfortable, with high-quality linens. The bathroom in my room was small, but the shower was fantastic and the toiletries are also good quality. Everything was very neat and tidy, with nice touches like the towels tied with straw ribbons.

The host, Billy Scruggs, deserves praise. Not only is he friendly without being obtrusive, he is very knowledgeable about the town and good things to do. I've been to Colonial Williamsburg lots of times before, and he helped me find some things to do that were interesting and worthwhile, that I hadn't done a million times already. Whether you're new to Williamsburg or a frequent visitor, his suggestions are worth listening to. Also, I had a problem with the air conditioning in my room and he promptly fixed it.

If there is one small gripe, it is that breakfast was nothing great. It was ok, but nothing exciting. There is, however, a nice coffee shop directly downstairs from the Inn which has tasty smoothies. Dining options are quite good, as the Inn is on Merchants' Square. The Fat Canary is the best, almost always requires reservations and isn't cheap but is worth it. The Blue Talon, directy across the street from the Fife and Drum Inn, is a nice casual French bistro. Barrett's seafood is also good, and the desserts at the Trellis are renowned (though the food is not exciting -- better to get a sandwich for lunch at the Cheese Shop and stop by the Trellis for dessert).

I found the location and accomodations at the Fife and Drum Inn to be great. This will definitely be my new first choice for lodging when I come to Williamsburg.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sovushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2005

After researching and considering all of the B&B's in Williamsburg, I chose this one for the location and we were so pleased. The rooms were not large, but very well appointed, and the linens on the bed were superb. The details and character of the decor was so much more interesting than a regular hotel. Although we were a little disappointed with the buffet breakfast, it was more than enough to sustain us until lunch at a historic tavern and we were happy that it was served until 9 a.m. I was surprised that most of the other B&Bs were further out Richmond and Jamestown roads than I had expected, and thus we were happy we were staying right downtown and didn't have to walk to reach the historic district, shops, and restaurants (especially in the July heat). I would highly recommend this Inn, for the location first and the decor and bedding were great as well.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank lucybrewergray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 20, 2005

My wife and I stayed 3 nights in mid April of 2005 and we loved it. The inn is charming and quiet, a block away from Merchant's square on Prince George Street. There is nothing better than touring Colonial Williamsburg and then taking a 2 minute walk to the inn where our comfortable room was waiting. We stayed in the Conservancy room, with clawed foot bathtub and four post bed. Ralph Lauren sheets on the bed, a nice bathroom with pedestal sink and clear door, tile shower. We hope to go back in December to stay at the Fife and Drum once again. By the way, if you need to know something about the area, Billy Scruggs knows it all and he is a warm and gracious host. We highly recommend the inn to anyone visiting Colonial Williamsburg.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2005

We recently stayed at the Fife and Drum and were very impressed. We have stayed at many B&Bs and I used to work at one as well, so I know what I should expect. Room was very large and clean (we were in the Restoration Suite) and had it's own balcony...not a great view, just of an alley, but a balconey nonetheless. Lots of clean towels and robes available, plus they supply toiletries, including toothpaste.
Location CANNOT BE BEAT. You are litterally in the middle of everything you would want to see. We did drive down the different roads a bit when we went to the winery, and I was really surprised at how far away most of the other b&bs are....some of them over two miles from the historic district. Others are closer, but not nearly as convenient as the Fife and Drum. Yummy cookies and lemonade.
Only two gripes...breakfast, while filling, was just ok. Fruit, a undercooked apple cobbler, and some kind of bacon/sausage sandwhiches the first day. Just ok. May have been better the second day, but we overslept and missed it!
Also, staff is pretty scarce. They leave the inn at 5 pm, so if you have any questions after that, you're out of luck. They do leave a phone number, but that's kind of a hassle when you just have one question. Only saw one staff member each day we were there...the inn I worked at always had at least 4 people there at one time and we were always running around helping guests. The owner is very nice though....made many suggestions for restaurants when we checked in.
Parking is great.
We would definitely stay here again, and recommend it.

Helpful?
10 Thank mksonnenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansboro, north carolina
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2004

great place to stay. the owners treated us wonderful. extremely clean rooms and good food. the location was perfect, we parked and did not move the car until we left (3 days). i recommend this inn to everyone!

Helpful?
7 Thank 427deborahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2004

The Fife & Drum Inn is a lovely, spotlessly clean, up-to-date and well cared for inn. It is located in Merchant's Square, which is in the historic district of Willliamsburg. The bathrooms look spanking new even though as of our visit in 2004, they were four years old. The decor was attractive and the bed comfortable. Each room has its own distinctive flavor, and each has a private bathroom. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful.

In my opinion, it is in the best location of any accomodations in Williamsburg. We walked each day to the historic buildings which are the attractions of Williamsburg, and did not need to ride the very nice, but time consuming bus system.

Each day for lunch, we walked back to Merchant's Square and picked up sandwiches from one of the several sandwich shops in that area (there are two such shops right on the same street as the inn). We were able to take the sandwiches back to the common room of the inn and eat a quiet lunch away from the crowds. After resting for a while, we were ready to roll again.

We were only a couple of streets over from some of the nicest restaurants in Williamsburg, and the theater in which many evening and day programs are held is also a couple of streets away.

Even though the inn is located over some shops, it is a quiet street, so noise is not an issue.

I highly recommend the Fife and Drum!

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank okifyoulike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
585 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
0.4 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fife & Drum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fife & Drum Inn

Property: Fife & Drum Inn
Address: 441 Prince George St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fife & Drum Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Williamsburg's only downtown lodging. The Fife & Drum is adjacent to the shops and restaurants of Merchants Square and just a short walk from the heart of historic Colonial Williamsburg. William & Mary, the country's second chartered college, is across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Fife & Drum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fife And Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing