We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our visit!”
Review of Fife & Drum Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fife & Drum Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The Fife & Drum is an adorable B&B situated within walking distance of William and Mary College and Colonial Wms.burg. The location allows for walks to local restaurants, art studios, shops, and historical sites. The owners, Sharon and Billy, could not have been nicer and more accommodating. The staff was also very kind and helpful. We stayed in the Webster Hitchens room and highly recommend it. The bed was very comfortable and size of the room was quite adequate. When in the area, we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Webster Hitchens...we saw all of them...I am nosy like that...and liked the Hitchens and the Conserv...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelli H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
There are newer reviews for Fife & Drum Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 624 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

We arrived after the door was locked and the envelop with the key was on the door with our name. We went in and unpacked and found that we had the Bed and Breakfast to ourselves. No other guests and no staff. Quiet!!
Next morning we get up and have a catered to us breakfast as we were the only guests! Delicious food and a great host, Rhonda! She told us what was going on in Williamsburg and where to get tickets. We left the car parked in the free parking and walked all over the restored area and saw everything we wanted to as well as talked with a number of the hosts of the various shops. Williamsburg is awesome! The weather cooperated and we had 60 degrees in January!
the Fife and Drum Inn was clean, quiet, and the staff was very congenial.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norm V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Fife & Drum was a clean, cozy and perfectly-located pick for our Williamsburg weekend. The staff was friendly, and the place was quiet and well thought out. Though it's a bit pricey, it was definitely worth it to park our car for the weekend (for free) and be able to walk everywhere; it's right across the street from Merchant's Square and two blocks from the Colonial District. The only other comparable options were the Williamsburg hotels, which were more expensive and not nearly as cozy (the couple we traveled with opted to stay at the Lodge so we were able to compare). We'd come back.
The only reason I couldn't give it five stars was the breakfast, which was such a source of frustration for us I was tempted to knock off two stars. It was served buffet style for a couple of hours each morning with a good selection of coffee and tea. However, it was all carbs, save some bacon - biscuits, fruit, some kind of horrible undercooked blueberry casserole, etc. Same thing the next day. Ick! We're not health nuts but do watch what we eat and could not do this for our biggest, most important meal. We would have been hungry again in an hour. There were limited breakfast options nearby, and they were all very busy and expensive. You factor in not having to get out, wander around, wait for a table, and fork $40 out for a decent breakfast when looking at B&B rates, and I've never been to one that didn't at least have some darn eggs available. It just started two otherwise great days in Williamsburg off to stressful, hungry starts.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank MrsTrailBlazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We loved our rooms and the location was wonderful. We visited during an exceptionally cold period so we didn't walk as much as usual but enjoyed the location and proximity to everything.
The owner and staff were wonderful and very helpful.
Would recommend it to anyone traveling to Williamsburg.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I stayed at the Fife & Drum Inn this past Christmas and really loved it. I arrived at 2:00 am, some 11 hours after I was supposed to, and the owner Billy was so congenial when I called to tell him that I would be very late. He left the key at the front door so I could get in. The buffet breakfast was delicious, and the added snacks, cookies and lemonade daily was a nice touch. Location is perfect, steps away from Market Square and the bus to Richmond Road and the transportation center. I would highly recommend the Inn.

Room Tip: George Washington Room has only one neighbour.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canuck P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Our annual trip to Williamsburg always starts at the Fife and Drum Inn. Although the stairs might challenge some, what awaits at the top is worth the climb. Billy and Sharon make you feel at home from the first moment. Located on Prince George Street next to Merchants' Square, the location allows you to park the car (in an off the street location half a block away) and leave it there for all or most of all of you visit. You can shop, eat and visit CW without bothering with the car. Each room at the Inn is unique so take the time to browse on line and pick the one that suits your tastes and needs. Breakfast is simple but wonderful. The common area can be used by guest in the evening, sit in front of the fire and share a bottle of wine and cheese from the Cheese Shop just across Merchants' Square from the Inn. Billy and Sharon are long time Williamsburg residents so they can help you in picking wonderful things to do.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandriaGrandDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We feel welcome at the Fife & Drum and love the location, the accommodations, and the kindly service we receive. This outstanding B&B just oozes charm and hospitality. Also, this time we brought friends who also really liked it.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice, but each is unique. Read about each and don't be bashful and talking to...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank_Hjr78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
602 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
0.4 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fife & Drum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fife & Drum Inn

Address: 441 Prince George St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range: $199 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fife & Drum Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Williamsburg's only downtown lodging. The Fife & Drum is adjacent to the shops and restaurants of Merchants Square and just a short walk from the heart of historic Colonial Williamsburg. William & Mary, the country's second chartered college, is across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fife & Drum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fife And Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing