We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place, home away from home.”
Review of Fife & Drum Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fife & Drum Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, home away from home.”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at the Fife and Drum. We wish we could have stayed longer. This is a wonderful, welcoming and homey B and B. Comfortable room, great location and friendly, helpful staff. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzzieinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    95
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
160
323
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is an excellent bed and breakfast place to stay if you're planning a visit to Colonial Williamsburg or surrounding sites. The breakfast in the morning is perfect. The coffee great. The rooms are gorgeous and the bed was one of the best beds I've ever experienced in a hotel. The location is a short 15 min drive to Jamestown or Yorktown. Busch Gardens is also close.

The innkeeper and staff were excellent. We spent 4 days/3 nights and can't say enough about how comfortable a place this is to stay.

Close to shops and restaurants so most of the time you're not having to drive. You won't be disappointed if you chose this B&B. No swimming pool or exercise area if that matters to you.

Room Tip: At least two of the rooms also have access to a balcony if that's a necessity. Long stairs to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jathedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We spent a few days in Williamsburg this July 4th weekend and although we are not B&B lovers, we decided to give the Fife & Drum a try because of the other reviews and its location to the Historical area. We were very happy with the rooms, service and breakfast. The inn keepers were fantastic for tour and restaurant guidance. We took Amtrak from DC and the station is just a two block walk. We would highly recommend the Fife & Drum.

Room Tip: We stayed in the William & Mary room which was very nice. Queen bed- nice shower area and adequa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigelowrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlgren, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

What a great little treasure! You are right in the middle of Colonial Williamsburg so can walk to all the action, pubs and restaurants. Husband and wife team were really friendly and knowledgeable. Parking was free and right round the corner. Rooms were pleasant and comfortable, clean and compact - all with a different theme - good shower. We were right off the breakfast room so a little noisy in the morning. Breakfast was good - continental style with a daily breakfast casserole (which I found a bit odd but then I'm British so a French toast casserole is odd to me!). Home made muesli and fruit was delicious. We stayed 2 nights - it's not cheap but you are paying for premium location and for that as a treat it was worth it. I would highly recommend a stay here as opposed to a chain hotel :-) the only thing you won't get is reduced price tickets to CW as the Fife & Drum are not on the list of participating hotels. This didn't really upset our trip as we had military discount anyway. Sorry for the "terrible" review score on swimming pool and fitness centre - once I'd clicked the button I couldn't untick the score. It should be blank as this is a B&B with no such facilities which is absolutely fine!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a wonderful inn within walking distance from both Colonial Williamsburg and the College of William and Mary. We have stayed here on two occasions and wouldn't want to lodge anywhere else! Breakfast is delicious and filling, and the rooms are comfortable. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, and offer a wealth of information about special events and nearby sites. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Restoration Suite and the Cedars Suite are especially comfortable and well-suited for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harrytruman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Fyfe & Drum Inn at the end of June, 2013. Billy and team were superb, the room (the Conservancy) more than lived up to the recommendation given to it by Frommers. The location is perfect and parking is right at hand. A lovely experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Canucksinparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I traveled to Williamsburg to visit/tour William and Mary with my son. Location can't be beat!
Less than a block to W&M Admissions and close to all shops and restaurants.

Ease in parking was appreciated. Billy greeted us with a smile - he knows no stranger!

Our room (The William and Mary room) was spacious enough to accommodate an air mattress which Fife and Drum provided.

Sink in room - versus in the bathroom - made it easier for two of us to get ready in the morning.

Breakfast - yummy!

The Fife and Drum is a great home-away-home in Williamsburg!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamPack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 74 in Williamsburg
569 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
0.4 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
0.6 mi away
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fife & Drum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fife & Drum Inn

Property: Fife & Drum Inn
Address: 441 Prince George St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fife & Drum Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Williamsburg's only downtown lodging. The Fife & Drum is adjacent to the shops and restaurants of Merchants Square and just a short walk from the heart of historic Colonial Williamsburg. William & Mary, the country's second chartered college, is across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fife & Drum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fife & Drum Hotel Williamsburg
Fife And Drum Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing