We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back to colonial times” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fife & Drum Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fife & Drum Inn
Ranked #1 of 23 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mentor
1 review
“Back to colonial times”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is a delightful inn perfect for the Colonial Village visit. The innkeepers are cordial, helpful and offer homemade lemonade, cookies and coffee day and night. Breakfasts choices are many and homemade. A stay at this inn is a treat.

Room Tip: This is a small inn, but all the rooms are special with different extras in each room. Pictures of r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    90
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
150
310
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Fife & Drum Inn - we chose to stay at the colonial like cottage! Great space for 4-6 people. Nice continental breakfast, private parking - it was very easy. Enjoyed the management, Billy was very helpful on tips for the visit to Colonial Williamsburg. Recommend, get the full colonial experience and book the cottage, and enjoy the very good breakfast spot around the corner - Aromas. Fife & Drum is steps away from Colonial Williamsburg, shopping, restaurants, the college, all the fun. Kids loved it! We will be back next year!

Room Tip: The cottage is very nice, private parking - tip, TV is in bird house:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RPotter17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our family loved being on the edge of history at Drum and Fife Inn!
We had two charming rooms right across the hall from each other.

After a wonderful breakfast and excellent recommendations of our
host and hostess, we were steps away from Colonial Williamsburg,
shopping and restaurants. Our host was incredibly knowledgable
of the area and its history!

My 11 year old grandson said, "when I come back to Willliamsburg,
I will stay here!"

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

I absolutely love this bed and breakfast! The owners and staff are more than accommodating and all you could want from your visit to Williamsburg is right outside the front door!
It's the best breakfast I've ever had at a bed and breakfast. In addition, there are great restaurants and shops all within one - two blocks. Retro's, Blue Talon, Fat Canary.

There is also Binn's for clothing and the walk down Duke of Gloucester Street is always memorable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I traveled with our teenage daughter and were very comfortable in the Restoration Suite (queen and twin beds). The rooms were very nicely decorated and comfortable. We chose this B&B due to the location, and were not disappointed. Historic Wiliamsburg, dining, shopping and the college of William and Mary were just steps away. Billy was very helpful upon our arrival to suggest how we could see and do the hilights of the area within our 2-day stay. He also provided great recommendations for lunch and dinner. All of our meals were wonderful! Breakfast buffet was offered every morning between 8 and 9 am and included fresh fruit salad, biscuits, bacon and french toast or breakfast casserole (and all was very good!). The fire in the dining room fire place was also a nice touch for the chilly mornings.

Room Tip: The Restoration Suite accomodated my husband and I, as well as our teenage daughter (queen and twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrieK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

My long-time friend and I were on a trip to Williamsburg and wanted a cozy place to stay without the pretensions of some B&Bs that are not our style. The Fife & Drum Inn is just such a place - very nicely done without being over the top, wonderful hosts who shared their knowledge with us, a straightforward but tasty breakfast, and a hearty welcome to return. There was just one room with accommodations for two people (a twin and a queen bed), but we found the arrangements very satisfactory. There is also no way to beat the location of the inn - right on the edge of Colonial Williamsburg and close to some great restaurants. We plan to return next year to take in some nearby locations and will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FACL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the fife and drum inn for three nights, it was great. Billy and Sharon made us feel at home right away. Our room was cozy and the bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed how close we were to everything, it was all in walking distance. Breakfast was good, light enough that you could still go out and walk in colonial Williamsburg all day. We felt very comfortable and relaxed. We will definitely be back on multiple occasions. Thanks again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RacheeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge Autograph Collection
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.6 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 75 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
0.6 mi away
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fife & Drum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fife & Drum Inn

Property: Fife & Drum Inn
Address: 441 Prince George St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fife & Drum Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Williamsburg's only downtown lodging. The Fife & Drum is adjacent to the shops and restaurants of Merchants Square and just a short walk from the heart of historic Colonial Williamsburg. William & Mary, the country's second chartered college, is across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Fife & Drum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fife And Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing