We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant position for historic Williamsburg area”
Review of Fife & Drum Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fife & Drum Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Brilliant position for historic Williamsburg area”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed the first week in January 2012.
The Inn is superbly positioned for the main area of Williamsburg – it is on the first floor with an unassuming front entry door (Photo 1).
Our name and room key was on the front door as we arrived somewhat late, and we let ourselves in. Drinks and cookies were available to help ourselves in the breakfast area.
We had the Jamestown Room (photo 3), although all the rooms are of a similar standard. The rooms are decorated in traditional style and are not for those that want wall-to-wall carpeting, but for us the Jamestown Room which overlooked the William and Mary College was excellent.
Breakfasts were all we could manage, and very good quality.
For those that need (free) wifi, the best reception is from bedrooms rooms nearest the breakfast area (not ours). Otherwise, you can sit in the breakfast area and get good reception from there.
There is a ‘student’ eating place just 20 feet away outside, which was excellent value and quality for us (hot apple cider on the cold January days was a favorite). There are plenty of other eating places within a short distance, but some were closed when we were there.
Williamsburg itself at that time (first week in January) was superb. We could get out from the Fife and Drum around 09.00 am and be walking down the main street three minutes later: there was hardly anyone about, apart from the Williamsburg guides and actors. It was easy to access the various attractions without any queuing (compare this to our summer visit several years ago when long queues were the norm).
We were able to have long conversations with the curators in the museum as there were so few tourists about, which was fascinating.
We would thoroughly recommend the Fife and Drum, and Williamsburg in general early in January, providing you don’t mind walking around in the cold – it is an excellent time of year to visit Williamsburg.

Room Tip: Jamestown room overlooks the William & Mary college
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank excel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    95
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
160
324
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
carefree, az
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We recently stayed at the Fife and Drum in colonial Williamsburg. The location of this B&B is wonderful. Just steps away from shopping, the colonial village and restaurants.
The inn is spotless and very comfortable. Our room, the George Washington, was located next to the staircase. Even with some guests arriving late we were not disturbed. The bed was very comfortable and the room nicely furnished. As luck would have it we were here last weekend, one of the hottest on record, but our room was nice and cool with a very quiet air conditioning.
To be clear, this is a 5 star review for a 3-4 star property. Don't come expecting "the Ritz". However, for people without children, I would recommend this Inn wholeheartedly.
FYI: as with most older Inns there is no elevator and you must carry your bags up to the room.

Room Tip: The rooms away from the stairs are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carefree_AzJuliew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed in The Conservancy room and had a really great experience. Hotel was within walking distance to Colonial Williamsburg as well as many restaurants. Definitely could not beat the fact that we had a dedicated parking spot and could walk pretty much anywhere. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler31_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Liverpool, Ohio
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

Loved our room. We stayed in the Cedars Suite. So spacious and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was top of the line. Colonial Williamsburg was within walking distance. Only downside is getting your suitcases up the stairs the Inn is located on 2nd floor. It's about 12 steps up. I highly recommend the Fife and Drum Inn..

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perham, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Fife & Drum in early June and couldn't have been happier with our choice. We could leave the car and walk everywhere in Colonial Williamsburg, and had a handy refuge for escaping the crowds or the heat mid-day. The breakfasts were great. Billy and Sharon had great suggestions for planning our days, including tips on getting the most out of our time in the CW area. They were a greats source of the history of the restoration of the area, and were proud of the role that their family played. We were initially resigned to either staying much further out or paying much more, but this unique property allowed us to be right in the heart of things at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed here for my wedding weekend - the room was gorgeous and spacious and the B&B perfect for wedding prep. Location is perfect for walking to the college and restaurants. Will definitely go back!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank k a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

On our recent visit to Williamsburg, my wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Fife & Drum Inn for five nights. Billy and Sharon are the innkeepers and, along with their housekeeper Rhonda, are some of the nicest people you would ever want to meet. Billy greeted us and took the giant piece of luggage into the Inn for us - Thank you! We then sat down with Sharon and she gave us advice on what to see in Colonial Williamsburg and what were the good places to dine or have a cocktail. Very nice lady. We stayed in the Cedars Suite and our room was very large and we have no complaints. Rhonda kept the room very clean and when she saw us, she always greeted us with a smile. Billy and Sharon always kept lemonade out during those hot days we were there, which was nice and tea is also available anytime you want to make a cup. Oh, almost forgot chips and cookies are also available anytime you want something to snack on. Generally, we sometimes skip out on breakfast whenever we stay at a B&B or Inn, even if it is provided, but not this time. The breakfast was excellent everyday. Breakfast casseroles were served everyday along with fruit, biscuits, bacon and granola. Yum! The Fife and Drum is located in the heart of Colonial Williamsburg so you don't have that far to walk. You also have a coffee shop, Aromas, and diner, Retros, to your left as you step out the door of the Fife and Drum. In closing, my wife and I would like to thank Billy, Sharon and Rhonda for making our stay a memorable one. I can say without a doubt, we will be back to Williamsburg and when we do, we will stay at the wonderful Fife and Drum Inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwraff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 74 in Williamsburg
570 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
0.4 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
0.6 mi away
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fife & Drum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fife & Drum Inn

Property: Fife & Drum Inn
Address: 441 Prince George St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fife & Drum Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Williamsburg's only downtown lodging. The Fife & Drum is adjacent to the shops and restaurants of Merchants Square and just a short walk from the heart of historic Colonial Williamsburg. William & Mary, the country's second chartered college, is across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Fife & Drum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fife & Drum Hotel Williamsburg
Fife And Drum Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing