We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to stay when visiting historic Williamsburg or William & Mary”
Review of Fife & Drum Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fife & Drum Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“The best place to stay when visiting historic Williamsburg or William & Mary”
Reviewed December 14, 2011

There isn't a more convenient place to stay. The Inn is right in the middle of the college and historic town. Lots of great stores and places to eat around the Inn. I'll surely be staying at the Fife & Drum Inn for all future visits to Williamsburg.

Room Tip: I stayed in the George Washington room and it was perfect for 1-2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    95
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
166
329
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2011

My wife and I had a wonderful weekend in Williamsburg, Virginia thanks in large part to our accomodations at the Fife and Drum Inn! The hospitality of the Fife and Drum staff, quiet and relaxing atmosphere, and cleaniness of the room made for a great weekend vacation!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 303BillW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We really enjoyed our time in Williamsburg and at the Fife and Drum Inn. It is right in the heart of the historic district and easy to get to many locations. We had a great time and the accommodations were amazing. Very clean, quiet, and the owner and his wife are a very kind couple! I will stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherri b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lihue, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Nice rooms, excellent service, right in the heart of things. Park your car and walk to colonial Williamsburg, shopping and places to eat and drink. Nice staff, good advice tasty breakfast and cookies.

Room Tip: All are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PasadenaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I have been to Colonial Williamsburg a total of 3 times and at differing times of the year. My most recent visit was during the past Grand Illumination weekend. On each visit I have stayed at the Fife & Drum Inn and had the best of experiences. Billy and the staff make this B&B so comfortable; one never has the feeling they are merely "visiting." All amenities are provided, including a guest lounge, with snacks and drinks readily available. Even more, one can easily purchase passes to Colonial Williamsburg as well as a Historic Triangle pass ( which includes Jamestown and Yorktown) at the same time as booking their rooms. This sort of convenience is really helpful for visitors to the area who are staying for a short time or have never visited before. The location of books on Williamsburg and the other historic towns which are accessible for viewing are also a very nice touch, and show pride in their hometown that I've never found any where else.

At Fife and Drum there is always a profound sense of Virginia hospitality; even during a weekend as popular as the Illumination weekend is. The convenience of the property to the college of William and Mary and the Marketplace are a definite plus; but I also appreciate the willingness of all to accommodate their guests in any way they can. I would not stay anywhere else in the region.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2011

This was our second time staying at The Fife and Drum over the Grand Illumination weekend. It is a lovely Inn, well kept and very homey. The location can't be beat - literally walking distance to everything in the restored area and the College of William and Mary, as well as to many restaurants and some fabulous shopping. The rooms are charming, and the common room/breakfast room is warm and inviting, and always stocked with cookies, lemonade, coffee, tea, and hot cocoa. Owners Billy and Sharon Scruggs are most gracious hosts, and both grew up in Williamsburg, so they have a lot of knowledge about the city and its restoration. We have already reserved again for next year's Grand Illumination weekend!

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PlanesTrainsBusCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldie, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Stayed here for one night (Thanksgiving night 2011). The owners of the Fife and Drum Inn were gracious enough to let us stay for one night, when another B&B in the area (Aldrich House) turned us down, citing a requirement to stay for more than one night on Thanksgiving weekend (then Aldrich House had the nerve to add me to its email mailing address after telling me my reservation was not accepted, grrr!). Anyway, I digress...

Pros re: the Fife and Drum:
- great location, about a 5 min walk from Colonial Williamsburg and William and Mary
- free parking behind their cottage, about 100 yards away from the inn entrance
- very close to lots of nice shops and restaurants
- adorable decor, very classy colonial style with lots of nice touches, not frilly or "granny-ish" in any way
- very comfortable room (we stayed in the George Washington room); ceiling fan, a/c, private bath, bathrobes, nice bedding, cute tiny TV w/ cable channels, pleasant decor and nice view of the adjacent storefronts, nice soft sheets and towels
- room was VERY clean... even the baseboards, shower corners, and floors were totally grime free
- very friendly staff; Rhonda (?) checked us in early and gave us a very nice welcome
- nice little extras, like books on the area, snacks and drinks to munch on the during the day, and electronic key cards (vs actual keys so common at small B&Bs)
- breakfast was pretty good... we were served an egg/cheese casserole, bacon, biscuits, fruit, and granola

Cons:
- can't think of too many...
- walls are kinda thin, this is a very old building... bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper
- breakfast was good, could have been a little better w/ more hearty biscuits and a larger assortment of teas (e.g. herbal teas), but this is a minor nit, obviously
- price was a little steep (we paid about $180 w/ taxes for one night)... however... we felt okay w/ the price in the end b/c the location was great and the parking was free

Would recommend this B&B and would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The George Washington room faces the street and seems to get the most sun... good the winter but mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.5 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
585 reviews
0.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
0.4 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
0.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fife & Drum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fife & Drum Inn

Property: Fife & Drum Inn
Address: 441 Prince George St, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fife & Drum Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Williamsburg's only downtown lodging. The Fife & Drum is adjacent to the shops and restaurants of Merchants Square and just a short walk from the heart of historic Colonial Williamsburg. William & Mary, the country's second chartered college, is across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Fife & Drum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fife And Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Hotel Williamsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing