We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year in Williamsburg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 21 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“New Year in Williamsburg”
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Recently stayed 2 nights here with my wife over the New Years break. The house itself is very nice and situated on a very pretty piece of land just a 2 minutes drive or so from Williamsburg. Karen and Ron were extremely friendly and were willing and able to help with any question or request we had. Karen cooks an amazing breakfast every morning and will sit down to talk with the guests once everyone is finished eating. I HIGHLY recommend staying here if you plan on visiting Williamsburg any time soon!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBpsu83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kittn1, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 30, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review! That was a great weekend, Ron and I always enjoy making sure our guest are well taken care of. We hope to see you two again in the near future.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    22
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
146
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2010

The atmosphere was so very comfortable. It felt like I was at a favorite relative's home. Karen was not only a gracious hostess but a great cook and conversationalist. I was blessed to have met some really nice people there at breakfast. I must say the times at breakfast was a very favorite part for me. You can see that Karen has a gift and a love of caring for people. I stayed in the Primrose. It was perfect for my much needed getaway.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxrelaxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kittn1, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Thank you so much for your kind review, I can honestly say we very much enjoyed your company as well as the other guests did. The great conversations at breakfast in the mornings are one of the things I so look forward to every day, almost as much as cooking! Hope to see you again soon.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockbridge, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed October 6, 2010

This B&B is absolutely amazing! Tthe home cooked breakfast was wonderful and the
hospitality was amazing. We had our wedding here and it far exceeded our expectations. The innkeeper was also very welcoming and accomadating. We will definetly be back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scmarie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kittn1, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure to have you and your family here. I think I had as much fun as you did. I am so glad you enjoyed everything, we sure hope you come back and see us again. Best of luck to both of you... Take care of each other!
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

My husband and I recently spent three nights at Colonial Gardens in Williamsburg, Virginia. What a GREAT experience!! Karen is such a joy to chat with and truly enjoys making her guests feel special. The B&B is beautiful, comfortable, located terrifically to all the local sites, and even smells relaxing! Karen made special vegan breakfasts for us (my husband just can't stop talking about the wonderful Banana Nut Pancakes) that were even better than we've found in some restaurants that cater to us. What a natural! Even with all off the inn options in Williamsburg there is no need for us to ever look farther! We cannot wait to visit again!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank protectanimals7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kittn1, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
Thank you so much for your kind review. I really enjoyed having both of you here. I actually enjoyed the challenge to create vegan breakfast that you would love. I am so glad you did. Take care of each other and stop by and see us again sometime.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2010

My wife and I got married there june 19, 2010. We had my brother's wedding the week before and didn't have much time to get everything done for our wedding. Karen took care of everything for us. She gave us suggestions, which we followed . We had a beautiful wedding and would highly recommend it if your getting married any time soon. There is no better value in south eastern virginia.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamtigris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kittn1, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 17, 2010
Thank you so much for your kind review. I was so happy to help you both plan and enjoy your special day. We love having weddings here and we certainly hope we helped to make your start in life together much easier. Make sure to come back for an anniversary! Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavilan Hills, CA
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We came here on the final leg of our honeymoon, and had a wonderful and very relaxing stay. The home and grounds are beautiful! We stayed in the Rhododendron room and found that it was even more beautiful (if that could be possible) than the pictures! And very romantic :) Karen is a very sweet lady and an awesome hostess, we loved going down to breakfast every morning and chatting with her and the other guests. We will definitely stay here again if we're ever back in the area. We would definitely recommend this B&B!
~Steven and Charlotte Baber

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCBaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kittn1, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 12, 2010
Thank you so much for your kind review! We found you and your bride to be equally charming. Best of luck to both of you on your journey though marriage! Oh, and we hope to see you back here for your 25th wedding anniversary... Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

WONDERFUL!! From the moment we walked in the door, we felt at home. Karen is such a warm hearted person and it all really comes through in the rooms, food, service and atmosphere of Colonial Gardens. Don't miss the opportunity to stay at the best Bed and Breakfast we've ever had the pleasure to stay at.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beautiful8life7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kittn1, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 12, 2010
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad you found our B&B to be just what you needed for recharging both your self and your relationship! We hope you make it back here again... Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.0 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
596 reviews
1.9 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
2.0 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.7 mi away
Fife & Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Inn
#1 of 21 in Williamsburg
620 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast

Property: Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1109 Jamestown Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3315
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial Gardens, a Williamsburg bed and breakfast, is an enchanting escape into old-world European romance and elegance. With its fine linens and rich furniture, this Virginia bed and breakfast boasts the allure of over an acre of gardens inside Williamsburg's historic city limits. If you are looking for lodging accommodations in Colonial Williamsburg or the Jamestown area, our bed and breakfast is sure to please! Colonial Gardens Bed and Breakfast is ideally located just over a mile from The Colonial Williamsburg area and 1/2 mile from The College of William & Mary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Gardens Hotel Williamsburg
Colonial Gardens b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing