We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 21 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My wife and I wanted to get a away without the kids for a couple of days and Colonial Gardens didn't disappoint. We stayed in the Rhododendrum room, which was spacious and well kept. The king size bed was very comfortable and the decor was very nice. Karen was a wonderful innkeeper and we really enjoyed the breakfast discussions with her and the other guests. The breakfast was wonderful with Karen adding twists on traditional dishes each day. We hope we have the chance to stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armychris74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeepercg, innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are glad you enjoyed and appreciated what we had to offer. Would love to have you back!
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    22
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
143
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My girlfriend found Colonial Gardens on line and she booked the spa package and 2 nights in the Rhododendron Room. The room was clean and comfortable. The sunroom was very nice to sit and relax while having some refreshment. The dinner we went o was wonderful and the massages at the spa that came with the package were very good. We wool to birds out the window singing every morning. We will return when we can as there are so many things to do in Williamsburg, we barely scratched the surface here.
Karen and Ron were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! So glad you enjoyed the spa package and dinner. We hope to see you again.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We spent 4 days there and love it. The food was epicurean, The overall feel was romantic and elegant, the grounds were very well done. I liked the mattress and linens best though. I would stay again if we go back to Williamsburg.

Room Tip: choose one the suites for a longer stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! You were as delightful as you could have been while here and the other guests are still talking about you! Please come back soon!
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I just spent 3 lovely night colonial gardens and we could not have asked for a better place to stay. The innkeepers were spot on. Breakfast were amazing. Karen was very helpful in information for restaurants and shopping. Our suite was delightful.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greggbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your self so much and had a chance to relax.
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for two nights last summer. We wanted a romantic getaway in a B&B, and Colonial Gardens kinda provided it, but it was an awkward experience. I debated between 2 and 3 stars for awhile...

Highlights: pretty grounds. pleasant/helpful innkeeper. Central location. Clean/well-kept

Problems: uncomfortably small bathroom. we paid extra to have breakfast in bed, but the breakfast never came. By the time we called down, she said breakfast was gone, and brought us some cereal and fruit and still charged us extra for the delivery :(. We got some sort of romance package, but only got one of the two bottles of wine and couldn't find a wine key anywhere. The innkeeper's family was there, and she seemed a little annoyed to have to attend to customers--awkward. We felt like we were intruding on someone's home. The decorations were a bit too much for us. The B&B is super close to a pretty busy street.

Unfortunately the problems outweighed the highlights, so a 2.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
I wish there were a requirement to be truthful in this forum but there is not. In 7 years of running our inn we have never served cereal, missed sending breakfast to someone's room or had family here while we were open. We close our inn when family is here. We are scratching our heads here trying to understand why someone would say things like this but if readers would please look at the other reviews I think they would be better served. I will mention that this reviewer is writing about something that supposedly happened over a year ago...I think they have the wrong place
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, VA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our anniversary in a special way and after careful review chose Colonial Gardens for a one night get-a-way in the Rhododendron Suite . We were absolutely impressed with so many facets of our visit it would take more than a paragraph to describe. The sleep experience was heavenly! The bed offers fine linens with a 5 star sleep comfort rating. Karen certainly pays close attention to detail from her use of Turkish bath towels to softly scented candles lit upon arrival. Her sun-room offers a nice respite for reading, conversation, or a refreshing beverage. Breakfast was wonderful and she accommodated our dietary needs without blinking an eye. The table was as tasteful and the food. Karen has an eye for the total culinary experience. We enjoyed our conversations with Karen. She made us feel as if we were long time friends coming for a visit. We also took advantage of one of her romance packages...we encourage others to do the same. We will be back.

Room Tip: Even though we stayed in one of the upstairs rooms, we peeked in the library room on the entry floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kennkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad that you had a nice time. Making great memories is what we are all about. Hope to see you again in the future
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

My friend and I went up to Williamsburg to do some shopping and have some "kid free" time. This B&B was very centrally located to shopping, restaurants, and the highway and looked beautiful online. When we arrived we were not disappointed! The house and grounds are beautiful and well maintained. We stayed in the beautiful Azalea suite and were very happy with all the accommodations.
The owners were beyond nice and welcoming. Karen made an amazing breakfast the next morning too!
Definitely recommend this lovely B&B!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeepercg, Innkeeper at Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review! We do have some wonderful shopping here in Williamsburg. We are so glad you had some time to recharge. Hope to see you again in the future
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
2.0 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
585 reviews
2.0 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
1.9 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.7 mi away
Fife & Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Inn
#1 of 21 in Williamsburg
616 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast

Property: Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1109 Jamestown Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3315
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial Gardens, a Williamsburg bed and breakfast, is an enchanting escape into old-world European romance and elegance. With its fine linens and rich furniture, this Virginia bed and breakfast boasts the allure of over an acre of gardens inside Williamsburg's historic city limits. If you are looking for lodging accommodations in Colonial Williamsburg or the Jamestown area, our bed and breakfast is sure to please! Colonial Gardens Bed and Breakfast is ideally located just over a mile from The Colonial Williamsburg area and 1/2 mile from The College of William & Mary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Colonial Gardens Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Gardens Hotel Williamsburg
Colonial Gardens b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing