We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream getaway.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 21 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I'd never been to a B&B before and thought my wife had lost her mind when she suggested it. Turned out to be exactly what I needed. The rooms are beautiful, the staff was friendly and very helpful without being underfoot and the owner is very engaging and entertaining. We are already discussing a return trip and have passed the word amongst our closest friends. Highly recommended by this B&B newbe.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OgdenCholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Hi Cholly,

Thanks for the fabulous feedback. We love the opportunity to host first-time B&Bers. We are glad you found the experience both relaxing and rewarding. We are looking forward to a return visit...particularly around a mutual friend's birthday! ;-)

Until then, have a great 2014.

Sincerely,

Grace & Bob Tubbs & Staff
Cedars of Williamsburg B&B
Williamsburg, Virginia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 551 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Cedars exceeded our expectations. We scheduled a stay with the elopement package that they offered. The owners and staff went out of their way to make sure our special day was an absolutely beautiful time for us. Not only did we enjoy the Cedars, we also got a surprising photo package with videos that have touched all of our family and friends that have viewed them. We are looking forward to spending many more special visits with the Cedars. If you are looking for a tranquil place to stay with superb cleanliness and hospitality, this is the place for you.

Frank & Deb

Room Tip: All rooms are very well accomodated, I cannot foresee any problems with any at on the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Greetings Frank & Deb,

We are so very pleased to hear that your elopement exceeded expectations. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you both and being a part of your very special day. It was obvious how much the two of you care for one another and belong together.

The wedding video was a lot of fun. I enjoyed working on it. It has gotten a lot of attention; as it should.

We look forward to a tradition of anniversary visits over the years. We need to update that video! ;-)

Have a happy life together and thanks for making the Cedars and us a part of that special day.

Sincerely,
Grace & Bob Tubbs and Staff
Cedars of Williamsburg B&B
Williamsburg, Virginia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My wife had never stayed at a bed and breakfast before so it was a new experience for her. Everything was great...the breakfast, comfortable bed and room, and walking through the Colonial area at night. While we stayed only one night we have to thank you for the memories.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gjharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Hi Gjharrison,

We are so pleased she enjoyed our hospitality and the experience. We hope that means a future visit. Your second visit automatically enrolls you in what I refer to as our "sleep around" program! It's not what you think, if you stay in every room, we name a room after you...

Happy 2014.

Sincerely,
Grace & Bob Tubbs & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We went to The Cedars for our wedding anniversary. It was a great experience. We had the large 3rd floor room which was very nice. Well decorated and very comfortable even with the very cold evenings they had this week. The entire B&B was nicely decorated and maintained.

Bob, the owner and his staff were attentive and very helpful. They made us feel right at home.
The sitting room on the first floor has a large fireplace that is great to sip wine or other beverage while reading. Totally relaxing.

The breakfasts were imaginative with dishes like lemon picatta pancakes and eggs florentine.
Coffee, tea and hot chocolate were available 24/7 via a kurig brewer in the breakfast room. No excuse for going hungry.

Bob livened up breakfast with some picture taking (faux birthday pictures for fun). He had posted welcoming signs for our anniversary. Nice touch. He also provided excellent restaurant and touring recommendations.

Location is great. 5 minute walk to Historic Williamsburg, William & Mary college is across the street, and Jamestown and Yorktown are about 20 minute drives on a scenic highway.

We would stay there again the next time we are in the area.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank rlewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Greeting Rlewan and Happy New Year,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your anniversary, 1/2 & 1/4 birthdays with us! ;-) The 3rd floor Christopher Wren is easily our most popular room for anniversaries and honeymoons. For that matter, all the rooms at the Cedars are rated at the honeymoon level! ;-)

We look forward to a future visit real soon. The spring is great with the gardens and house tours.

We will make sure the menu is diverse and yummy.

All the best and a very happy and prosperous 2014.

Sincerely,

Grace & Bob Tubbs & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We wanted a special Christmas Holiday and we received that while at the Cedars! We stayed in the Lord Botetourt Suite, which was private and cozy. We had the second floor of the cottage which had it's own private entrance. The gas fireplace kept the room very warm, comfortable and romantic. The furnishings and decor were perfect....which included a Christmas tree and Christmas decorations! The location is across from college and about 15-20 minute walk to Merchants Square. The breakfast was amazing! Plenty of parking available in back, which allowed us to walk everywhere. Bob was very personable and provided us impeccable service. We are very happy and satisfied that we spent our Christmas here at the Cedars!

Room Tip: Second floor of cottage was quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robertoisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Hello Robertoisfun,

We very much appreciate the glowing review. It is nice to know that our efforts are appreciated.

The holidays is a great time to visit Williamsburg. Everything decked out for the holidays and we especially enjoy Busch Gardens Christmas Town experience.

The Lord Bortourte is always a very popular room, particularly with the fireplace and many windows. The holiday decorations make it even more special.

I hope you had a chance to enjoy the hot mulled cider and fresh baked cookies as well.

With Fredericksburg just around the corner, I hope we get another opportunity to host a future Williamsburg visit real soon.

Happy 2014.

Sincerely,
Bob & Grace Tubbs and Staff
Cedars of Williamsburg B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was our 2nd visit, each at Christmastime. Love the architecture of the home, and convenience to historic Williamsburg. Breakfast was wonderful, although the seating area for the meal was a bit chilly. To be expected in December. Our host was very friendly and took several photos of us to remember the occasion. Great advice on things to see in the area as well. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Happy new year Sylvia,

We are so pleased you enjoyed your Cedars experience and very much appreciate the excellent feedback. It is very unusual for Virginia to have an "arctic vortex" but we did during your stay. The old house did it's best to keep everyone warm...certainly the fireplaces helped! ;-)

As for the photos, ever since we put you on the front of our brochures, the phone has been ringing off the hook! Thanks.

We hope to host your next Williamsburg visit.

All the best for 2014.

Sincerely,
Grace & Bob Tubbs and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed in the George Washington room and I loved being in the only room on the first floor; it felt as though we had the house to ourselves. The room was decorated well and our private sitting room was great for having a glass of wine before venturing out to dinner. The weather was in the 30s while we were there and the 'fireplace' space heater in the sitting room kept it toasty and a nice place to relax. The bathroom was small but that's usual for B&Bs, particularly those in old houses, and it was done well: it had a tiled shower instead of the fiberglass stalls I often find, with good water pressure and lots of hot water.

I think the Cedars rates well for what I think B&B should deliver: good ambience, very clean, close to the key attraction (Colonial Williamsburg), ample parking, a good breakfast, comfortable bed, temperature controls for each room, the door to your room can be locked while you're out, good hosts, and great service. I asked for ice the first evening and quickly got a champagne bucket on a stand, full of ice, with wine glasses - and it had been already refilled with ice when we came in the second evening. You can get a cup of tea or coffee at any time in the brick porch hospitality area, which also has bottles of water in the fridge and some snacks for afternoon munchers like my husband. Bob is an affable host; he was there to personally welcome us, made sure everyone had a great breakfast, and had suggestions for restaurants and activities. I also thought the Cedars did a great job communicating with us, both at time of reservation and a welcoming email just before our stay.

The only suggestion I have is one shared with other reviewers: the soap/shower amenities should be upgraded. The bar of soap snapped in my hands as I used it the first time, and the shampoo comes in plastic packets like the mayo at McDonalds. We had to stay at a budget hotel at the airport when the ice storm grounded our flight out, and my husband commented on how much better their soap/shampoo/towels were. Bring your own small bottle of shampoo and soap with you if that kind of thing bothers you, but you'll otherwise really enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank time2travel_4_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Greetings Time2travel_4_2,

Dee Dee is our secret weapon. She is exceptional with her work and her interactions with our guests. She consistently goes above and beyond.

It appears all the little things are being noticed. It is a good feeling to know our little group is having a positive impact on our guest's experience in Williamsburg.

The suggestion on toiletries is consistent lately. We changed our supplier in an effort to become "green compliant." Less waste, less plastic, etc. We did receive an award from Tripadvisor.com for our efforts. We now have to find a way to balance our green initiatives with adequate support for our guests. Grace is already on it! That means something will happen pretty quick! ;-)

Have a wonderful holiday and we look forward to a future visit.

Sincerely,
Grace & Bob Tubbs and Staff of
the Cedars of WIlliamsburg B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
1.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.0 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
741 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fife & Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Inn
#1 of 21 in Williamsburg
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast

Address: 616 Jamestown Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3945
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range: $164 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our romantic and award-winning Colonial Cedars Bed & Breakfast is a Williamsburg lodging landmark since 1935. As Williamsburg's largest and oldest bed and breakfast, we offers 8 rooms/suites in the main house and 2 rooms in the Cedars Cottage with fireplaces and romantic privacy. We are a smoke/pet-free rest stop for our 5,000+ guests. We are directly across the street from the College of William and Mary and only a 7 minute walk to Colonial Williamsburg Merchant's Square. Traveling for business? We are Swam and FEMA certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedars Of Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Cedars Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing