We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 22 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 19, 2013

After a long drive through a terrible storm, we were greeted at the front door of The Cedars by Darren, who was polite and refreshing. Bob, Grace, and the rest of the staff were inviting and gracious. Our rooms were quaint and the breakfasts were delicious. If we return to the area, we will certainly stay at The Cedars again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suburbs02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Hi Suburbs02,

We are glad to hear that the Cedars was your port in the storm. We appreciate you taking the time to post these memories on our behalf. We look forward to another Williamsburg visit.

All the best.

Grace & Bob Tubbs & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 566 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

We definitely enjoyed our stay here. The George Washington Room was very clean and pretty. We enjoyed the sitting area off the bedroom which also serves as an extra bed if needed. We were on the first floor, right next to the front door. You can hear everything, but we didn't mind. The bathroom is pretty tiny so only count on one person getting ready at a time. The location of the B & B is perfect, right across from William and Mary, as well as a 10 minute walk from Colonial Williamsburg. We were greeted from Bob, one of the owners. He was friendly and told us all we needed to know to plan our time in Williamsburg and Jamestown. Breakfast was really good, plenty of options and tasty food. Bob definitely shows his humor and keeps things lively at breakfast. Even though I tend to be a little shy, he made everyone feel comfortable and we enjoyed the laughter. A few college students have been hired to help and they were very respectful and helpful. Perhaps I missed it on the website, but I would have liked to have known that the rooms (at least ours) does not have a TV, which was a first for us. While I understand why there is no TV and it is certainly not necessary, I would have liked to give my husband a heads up since the Stanley Cup Finals were on. We ended up going out to watch the game and finished up in the living room at the B & B where there is a TV and all was fine. There are always coffee, chips and water available in the breakfast room. Cookies are baked in the afternoon and set out for guests. The only thing I was missing (and I'm sure I would have been provided if I asked) was an ironing board/iron and ice for cold drinks. Overall, this was a very nice stay and we would definitely consider staying here again if ever in the area!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Greetings Kabecka,

Thanks for taking the time to post this wonderful review. It is very much appreciated.

We do like to have fun at breakfast but it is made that much easier when our "shy" guests join in. The question of TVs come up from time to time but every survey I've conducted, a majority of guests like the idea of no TVs. We do have two of them in the common areas and, for sporting events, we often send folks to a few choice sports bars in the area.

You are correct about the irons. We have them throughout the house. Cold drinks are always available in the game/breakfast room. We have also added a small refrigerator for those items guests want to chill.

The George Washington is one of our most popular rooms. To your point, it is next to the front door but it is pretty quiet both day and night. It helps that the structure is built with brick and plaster. Can't beat that old style of construction.

We look forward to a future visit. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Not sure what rooms all of the other reviewers stayed in, but my room (the Lord Bourtetourt room) was a huge disappointment. The carpets, towels, linens, and curtains were dingy and the bed felt and sounded like there was a paper mattress pad underneath. The room had a musky smell to it and the windows would not stay propped open. It was a cold night and we were really looking forward to the room's only noteworthy feature: the fireplace (even though it was only electric and not wood burning.) We spent at least 45 minutes trying to get the darn thing to work and were unable to call for help as it was after 10:00PM and a sign in the room said to only call after 10PM for emergencies. We never were able to get it to work.

The buffet bfast in the morning was okay. There was one redeeming dish, but the coffee was weak and not hot, the jam was in those little Smuckers plastic 1 serving packs, and the muffins were store bought. The owner was very nice as the other reviewers expressed, but no amount of niceness could make up for the disappointing room and breakfast.

I usually don't write reviews, but I felt deceived by all of the 5 star ratings/reviews and didn't want other couples, hoping for the romantic experience we were hoping for, to suffer the same fate.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelLover88_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Hi TravelLover88_13,

We appreciate the time you spent to give us this feedback. We completely understand your concerns and work very hard to make our guest's experience exceptional. Obviously we missed the mark for you and Josh. For that we are regretful.

I cannot change your perception of our linens. We do refresh our linens regularly but they are commercial grade.

As the owner, I wish you would have brought these things to my attention at breakfast. When "Lord Bortetourt" entered the breakfast room that morning, I got the impression you were enjoying your stay. The very-berry french toast is our number one requested dish. This is the only review that suggest differently. Our menu offers a wide variety of choices, including vegan, lactose and vegetarian options. The muffins were freshly baked and I'm not sure what you were expecting for jams.

As it was late May for your visit, we normally turn the gas off to the fireplaces in late Spring. This was the case. Even a pilot light in the room can make the room uncomfortable for sleeping during the summer even though we do have air conditioning. If you had called the emergency number, we would have arranged to have it re-light for you. We recently upgraded our hot water tanks and that may have been the cause for the musty smell. I will look into the musty smell you mention. Although I have not heard the same complaint from any of the other guests.

All the best to you and Josh. I hope your Cedars experience has not put you off of Williamsburg. There any many other fine bed and breakfast experiences to be had here in town. Most local Innkeepers will offer a delightful experience...as we try to do. The Cedars has been an operating B&B since 1935 and as such, we don't have jacuzzis, etc. We do host over 4,000 people annually and very much enjoy our guests interactions. Occasionally, we miss the mark and for that we are truly sorry.

Have a great summer.

Grace & Bob Tubbs & Cedars Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The walkability (and parking) drew us in, but the hospitality was over the top. The room was small but charming and comfortable. The Plantation room is quiet, off the street, with a nice view of the garden and gazebo when you look past the packed parking lot. Breakfast was excellent all three mornings. Bob clearly loves his job as host, and it shows in his attention to each guest, with no extra charge for his humor.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KenH207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Hi Ken,

We sincerely appreciate the nice review. Thanks.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Williamsburg and the Cedars. It is very rewarding when we read that our guests enjoyed their stay. We certainly had some fun at breakfast and I am still telling folks about your posting the birthday picture in the rental car comment. ;-)

I hope our paths cross again and hope the both of you had a wonderful anniversary and wish you many more.

All the best.

Bob & Grace Tubbs and the Staff of the Cedars

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a great B&B to stay at in the Williamsburg area - it's about a 15 minute walk from downtown and Colonial Williamsburg. The staff and owners are always welcoming and extremely helpful with finding things to do, making reservations, or just getting directions. The breakfast is DELICIOUS! There are always such delightful baked goods, and they even have some of their recipes up on their website. I'd say the only detractor from our stay was that you can hear EVERYTHING going on in the house when staying on the ground floor, which can get quite loud in the mornings.

Room Tip: Pick something on one of the upper floors - less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BookJunkie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Hey there BookJunkie50,

Thanks for taking time to write this great review. We make it a point to share our reviews with everyone and it helps us to hear the feedback.

I normally do not recommend the first floor rooms for the late sleepers because they are adjacent to the common areas (living & breakfast rooms.) As you know, we have plenty of rooms on the second and third floors or the Cottage rooms.

Grace makes it a point to ensure no one gets a repeat breakfast. We also have recipes for vegan and various dietary needs. They just need to let us know in advance. We also post all our recipes on our website...we are commonly asked for the recipes.

We look forward to a future visit and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Grace & Bob Tubbs and Cedars Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great owners, CHARMING B&B delightful rooms, lovely breakfasts and walking distance to all. Definitely the place to stay! the comfiest and highest beds anywhere. For the young romantic, third floor room, each room has its own charm and bath, take your pick!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saralee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Hi Saralee,

We thank you for taking the time to write this review on our behalf. We very much enjoyed your visit and it is good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. As for the high beds, we used to provide our guests with trampolines but they were getting stuck in the ceiling fans. Now we just provide steps! ;-)

We look forward to a future visit and wish you the best of summers. All the best.

Bob & Grace Tubbs & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The accommodations are great - you may need a small ladder to get into bed because it is so tall. The breakfast was yummy - the only drawback is that you are given a limited time window for breakfast. Rooms were quiet even when located on busy Jamestown Rd. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dpelgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Greeting dpelgrim,

We very much appreciate your review. Thank you.

As I may have mentioned, we do provide steps for some of the high beds. We used to have trampolines but guests we getting caught in the ceiling fans. As for breakfast, when we have a small group of guest in the house, we try to pick a mutually convenient breakfast time. If we have a full house, we serve breakfast from 8:00 to 9:30 and beyond. Just let us know of your preference on your next visit.

Have a great summer.

Grace & Bob Tubbs and the Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
647 reviews
1 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
0.9 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.6 mi away
Fife & Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Inn
#1 of 22 in Williamsburg
646 reviews
0.2 mi away
A Williamsburg White House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast

Address: 616 Jamestown Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3945
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range: $127 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our romantic and award-winning Colonial Cedars Bed & Breakfast is a Williamsburg lodging landmark since 1935. As Williamsburg's largest and oldest bed and breakfast, we offers 8 rooms/suites in the main house and 2 rooms in the Cedars Cottage with fireplaces and romantic privacy. We are a smoke/pet-free rest stop for our 5,000+ guests. We are directly across the street from the College of William and Mary and only a 7 minute walk to Colonial Williamsburg Merchant's Square. Traveling for business? We are Swam and FEMA certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedars Of Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Cedars Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing