We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 21 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing place to stay”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a great B&B to stay at in the Williamsburg area - it's about a 15 minute walk from downtown and Colonial Williamsburg. The staff and owners are always welcoming and extremely helpful with finding things to do, making reservations, or just getting directions. The breakfast is DELICIOUS! There are always such delightful baked goods, and they even have some of their recipes up on their website. I'd say the only detractor from our stay was that you can hear EVERYTHING going on in the house when staying on the ground floor, which can get quite loud in the mornings.

Room Tip: Pick something on one of the upper floors - less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BookJunkie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hey there BookJunkie50,

Thanks for taking time to write this great review. We make it a point to share our reviews with everyone and it helps us to hear the feedback.

I normally do not recommend the first floor rooms for the late sleepers because they are adjacent to the common areas (living & breakfast rooms.) As you know, we have plenty of rooms on the second and third floors or the Cottage rooms.

Grace makes it a point to ensure no one gets a repeat breakfast. We also have recipes for vegan and various dietary needs. They just need to let us know in advance. We also post all our recipes on our website...we are commonly asked for the recipes.

We look forward to a future visit and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,
Grace & Bob Tubbs and Cedars Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    61
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
113
239
7
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great owners, CHARMING B&B delightful rooms, lovely breakfasts and walking distance to all. Definitely the place to stay! the comfiest and highest beds anywhere. For the young romantic, third floor room, each room has its own charm and bath, take your pick!

Green Features: Excellent efforts recycling and in minimizing their carbon footprint.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saralee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Hi Saralee,

We thank you for taking the time to write this review on our behalf. We very much enjoyed your visit and it is good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. As for the high beds, we used to provide our guests with trampolines but they were getting stuck in the ceiling fans. Now we just provide steps! ;-)

We look forward to a future visit and wish you the best of summers. All the best.

Bob & Grace Tubbs & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The accommodations are great - you may need a small ladder to get into bed because it is so tall. The breakfast was yummy - the only drawback is that you are given a limited time window for breakfast. Rooms were quiet even when located on busy Jamestown Rd. Would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpelgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Greeting dpelgrim,

We very much appreciate your review. Thank you.

As I may have mentioned, we do provide steps for some of the high beds. We used to have trampolines but guests we getting caught in the ceiling fans. As for breakfast, when we have a small group of guest in the house, we try to pick a mutually convenient breakfast time. If we have a full house, we serve breakfast from 8:00 to 9:30 and beyond. Just let us know of your preference on your next visit.

Have a great summer.

Grace & Bob Tubbs and the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We were so pleased to have found this gem. We were on the top floor of the separate building which was comfortable well furnished and suited our needs perfectly. The company and hosts were excellent and my wife has just downloaded the breakfast recipes, something she has never done before.
Location is just a 10 minute walk to Colonial Williamsburg, the surrounds are lovely and watching cardinals at breakfast rather special.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Cheery O Tony,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to hear about your UK adventures. I am happy that you took my advice about Yorktown and not speaking a lot to the locals. There was that incident a few years back with a gentleman by the name of Cornwallace and I'm not sure they got over it! ;-)

We hope your travels bring you back to Williamsburg again. When that happens, we look forward to getting caught up with you and your bride.

All the best,
Grace & Bob Tubbs & Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

If your looking for a wonderful peaceful vacation but love to visit Colonial Williamsburg, this is the place to stay. It is walking distance to the historic Williamsburg where there are lots of shopping and history to explore. We had a fantastic time and will be returning in December with the whole family. We have stay at many B &* B's and this one was our favorite. Bob the owner was fantastic never letting our coffee or juice glasses get empty and he just has a wonderful welcoming personality. If you want to visit Williamsburg, you must stay here. They even have games to play in the evening when you just want to relax. Must try it, you will love it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Plantation room and it was gorgeous and also stayed one night in the Cabin which h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hi Carla,

We very appreciate the review. Thank you.

We are looking forward to your family's visit in December. Meanwhile, because you stayed in several rooms, you are automatically enrolled in what we refer to as our "sleep around" program. It is not what you think, if you stay in every room, we name a room after you!

Have a great summer.

Bob & Grace Tubbs and Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast, USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We loved every minute of this trip. The breakfasts were excellent and we still look at the photo that the owners snapped of us at breakfast one morning! I am gluten free and had plenty of options to chose from. This B&B is walking distance to historic Williamsburg with lovely tree-lined streets and the college nearby. Easy drive to restaurants, too. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillieEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hi Millie,

Thanks for taking the time to post this wonderful review. It is very much appreciated.

Thanks for the breakfast gluten-free plug. We forget to let our guests know of all the menu options we offer. Grace has many recipes for all those "special" dietary needs and I maintain a very rigorous quality control process! ;-) Someone has to do it.

Until your next visit, have a wonderful summer.

Grace & Bob & the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

If you are visiting Colonial Williamsburg, the College of William & Mary, or simply want a point of departure staying at the Cedars is of choice. In fact, you don't even have to leave, because the Cedars comes with its own entertainment, in the name of proprietor Bob Tubbs, who is as delightful as he is hardworking.

Bob's energy is infectious, but for those who don't appreciate B&B's the way we do and want to stay in a monastery, there are other and less appealing choices. After all, a B&B is not a hotel, and the more the caretaker is a character, the better.

I have always enjoyed B&B's because they often come with interesting proprietors who draw their energy from their guests and vice versa, and Bob is an especially engaging host. So my wife and I consider staying there a blast. We tried another B&B in the area, and while it was nice, dullsville is an understatement. The more often we stay at the Cedars, the better it gets.

We plan on using the Cedars as our primary destination as our daughter goes through the next three years of her college experience, and anytime thereafter we are in the area.

Room Tip: Go for the "Honeymooner" suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob-Tubbs, Owner at Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hi William,

We sincerely appreciate this review. As I always say, this is the best part of what we do. I share these reviews with the staff for two reasons. One they are a wonderful way to know people appreciate their efforts and two, a way to learn how we can do things even better.

We look forward to your continued visits and I will talk to the professor about changing that last grade from a B+ to an A! ;-)

Until the next time, have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
0.9 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
1.0 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
584 reviews
1.4 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Bypass
Comfort Suites Bypass
#5 of 73 in Williamsburg
712 reviews
0.9 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast

Property: Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast
Address: 616 Jamestown Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3945
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our romantic and award-winning Colonial Cedars Bed & Breakfast is a Williamsburg lodging landmark since 1935. As Williamsburg's largest and oldest bed and breakfast, we offers 8 rooms/suites in the main house and 2 rooms in the Cedars Cottage with fireplaces and romantic privacy. We are a smoke/pet-free rest stop for our 5,000+ guests. We are directly across the street from the College of William and Mary and only a 7 minute walk to Colonial Williamsburg Merchant's Square. Traveling for business? We are Swam and FEMA certified. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Cedars of Williamsburg Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedars Of Williamsburg Hotel Williamsburg
Cedars Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing