We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adored the Alice Person House”
Review of Alice Person House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alice Person House
Ranked #10 of 21 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 14, 2008

This is a great B& B. The house is beautiful and our room was big, very pretty, bright and comfy. The breakfasts were wonderful and set you up for the day. Everywhere was very clean and attractive and there was a lounge dining room to relax in if you wanted too. The location was good, within walking distance of Williamsburg and a short drive to Jamestown and Yorktown. Jean was so friendly and helpful, she made our 4 night stay the best in our three week road trip of the SE states. Thanks alot.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kizzmoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 63 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2008

Everything about the Alice Person House was perfect. It is a beautiful house. We had a lovely suite of rooms that was very reasonably priced. The breakfasts were delicious and Jean is a wonderful hostess. The location is good: within walking distance of Historic Williamsburg and several good restaurants.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rivkah29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2008

We are a young couple on a budget and Jean, the owner was very helpful in finding accommodations that would fit our budget.

We were very surprised to find that we would be staying in one of Williamsburg's beautiful old homes. It was just what you would think a beautiful old place with lovely furnishings would look like.

Breakfast was home cooked, very filling and with many nice touches. We hung up our towels to signal we didn't need a replacement and got one anyway. (apparently they have a rule if it's not dry & fresh it gets replaced anyway) Rooms had high ceilings and fans in addition to air conditioner.

We had just one complaint and that was we couldn't bring our 5 month old but maybe in a few years.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ambientpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2008

We stayed 15 unforgettable days for our 50 Annniversary.

Dear Jean, your breakfasts are wonderful, your bedrooms so clean and comfortable, and your kindnesses and welcome have made our stay unforgettable. We hope you can make a visit to the United Kingdom. Thank you, Thank you!!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SaltyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2008

We stayed at this B&B last weekend. It was very nice. The owner (Jean) was waiting for us when we arrived. The rooms were impecably clean. Moreover, while we ordered a suite to sleep 4 people, since Jean had one room unoccupied, she let us take another room without charging us - so we had 4 people in 2 rooms instead. The breakfast was beautifully served and very tasty. The B&B is very close to Colonial Williamsburg - just 5-6 blocks walking. We ended up walking there for dinner at night. I stay at B&Bs all the time I can and this experience was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruchei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2008

Thank you for the super breakfasts,
for sharing your travel adventures,
for the "taxi" service since we did not have a car,
for being such a gracious hostess,
for sharing your lovely home,
for making us feel comfortable and "at home",
and mostly for your company.
The Alice Person House made our Christmas Trip our most enjoyable one. This is a great place for families to meet for the Holidays!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank gmcd937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2007

We are from England and this was our first visit to Williamsburg. Our four-night stay at the Alice Person House was abs lovely. It appeared the owners, Harry & Jean Matthews, had collected many treasures from past restorations in Richmond, so this is not a house with “bought” furniture for a B&B.

Colonial Williamsburg is just down the street and a tasty cooked breakfast ended up being our lunch too. (a nice variety menu each day such as waffles, fresh biscuits and fruit)

What was really brilliant though was how Jean, the owner, manages to run everything herself and still be able to sit and chat with us all at breakfast. We’ve stayed in many B&B’s in England and this is what we like best, that personal touch you always remember. Cheers to all who stay there, it comes highly recommended from us to you!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank lessizless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
1.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.1 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
608 reviews
0.5 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
0.5 mi away
Fife & Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Inn
#1 of 21 in Williamsburg
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Person House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Person House

Address: 616 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3540
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range: $99 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing