We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time and wonderful hostess”
Review of Alice Person House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alice Person House
Ranked #10 of 21 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Lewiston, New York
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful time and wonderful hostess”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We spent 4 nights with Jean at her beautiful home. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a very lovely bath. The fabulous antique bed was quite high (my legs got a workout trying to get in) but very comfortable. There wasn't a fridge available in the room, but Jean was kind enough to store our wine for us to enjoy each evening. The breakfast was fresh and perfect to begin the day. I particularly appreciated Jean's suggestions for places to visit and alternate directions to our next destination ( we avoided some terrible traffic thanks to her!). The B&B is very conveniently located to the heart of colonial Williamsburg and an easy drive to Jamestown and surrounding plantations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
32
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We just spent 3 nights at the Alice Person House and had a wonderful time. Jean is a gracious hostess. Our room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were all delicious. We met two other very nice couples there and enjoyed our time of fellowship. We went to Christmas Town at Busch Gardens and had a great time even though it was very cold. We enjoyed Colonial Williamsburg and the outlets as well.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyWGreenville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I had the wonderful pleasure of staying at the Alice Person House B&B in early October. It was a WONDERFUL experience. The house was very nice and the room was everything I could ask for and more. I stayed for two nights and wish I could have stayed longer. The King Suite in a beautiful room with great views overlooking the area surroundings. Each morning breakfast was wonderful. Both days were different and very much enjoyed. The home is within walking distance to almost everything in the area. Jean was the BEST!! I had a couple of questions prior to flying into town as this was a trip set up through work and when I called the day before she answered all my questions and more. Upon arrival we were wonderfully welcomed. I had a late flight requiring a late check in. All was taken care of so that everything would be ready upon arrival. Jean was so friendly and a great pleasure to talk with. She knew lots about the area and was very helpful when offering suggestions on things to see and do in the area. I hope to go back and will definately stay here again if I do. If you have to opportunity to stay here, DO!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirk C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Jean is a fantastic host!
She cares about her guests, and that makes the difference.
The house is comfy and cosy, you can spend time there reading, as you would in an old family house.
Our room was great with a huge four poster bed and a very bright bathroom.
Location is convenient, leave the car there and walk to old W'burg.
We spent 2 nights at AP and we still talk about it.
Go for it without hesitation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurentBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at Alice Person House in September, and Jeanne could not have been a nicer hostess. Warm welcome and very helpful with places to visit and eat. Good breakfasts and the room was very pleasant. Ideal location, plenty of restaurants and shops not far away. No "on-tap" coffee and tea, but Jeanne is very helpful with things if you just ask. Williamsburg is nice and don't pay at the Colonial Williamsburg Visitor Center for tickets for visiting the place, you can get into most things free of charge!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWiltoncox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richlands, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at the Alice Person B & B in Williamsburg, VA. for our anniversary/vacation. We wanted something special. Our room was wonderful. My husband is 6' 2" and I asked for a room that he could sleep comfortably in. It more than met our expectations. Our accommodations were very roomy, clean and affordable. The food was fantastic and we were within walking distance of restaurants and Colonial Williamsburg. We ventured out to Jamestown & Yorktown which were only a few miles away. Jean the B & B owner was great. She made us feel welcomed and was helpful when we needed directions or a suggestion for dinner.It was all we hoped for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for our daughters graduation and were delighted to have a great place to park, comfortable lovely rooms and fabulous breakfasts. The owner goes above and beyond to be helpful and warm and even drove us to the school so that we wouldn't have to park. I have stayed in many b and b here in williamsburg but this is the best!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docnroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
1.1 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
1.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
596 reviews
0.5 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
1.0 mi away
The Griffin Hotel - A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Person House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Person House

Property: Alice Person House
Address: 616 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3540
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing