We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Absolutely wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alice Person House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alice Person House
Save
You added Alice Person House to your Saves list
Ranked #10 of 26 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Jean is a fantastic host!
She cares about her guests, and that makes the difference.
The house is comfy and cosy, you can spend time there reading, as you would in an old family house.
Our room was great with a huge four poster bed and a very bright bathroom.
Location is convenient, leave the car there and walk to old W'burg.
We spent 2 nights at AP and we still talk about it.
Go for it without hesitation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurentBeijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
30
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at Alice Person House in September, and Jeanne could not have been a nicer hostess. Warm welcome and very helpful with places to visit and eat. Good breakfasts and the room was very pleasant. Ideal location, plenty of restaurants and shops not far away. No "on-tap" coffee and tea, but Jeanne is very helpful with things if you just ask. Williamsburg is nice and don't pay at the Colonial Williamsburg Visitor Center for tickets for visiting the place, you can get into most things free of charge!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MWiltoncox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richlands, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at the Alice Person B & B in Williamsburg, VA. for our anniversary/vacation. We wanted something special. Our room was wonderful. My husband is 6' 2" and I asked for a room that he could sleep comfortably in. It more than met our expectations. Our accommodations were very roomy, clean and affordable. The food was fantastic and we were within walking distance of restaurants and Colonial Williamsburg. We ventured out to Jamestown & Yorktown which were only a few miles away. Jean the B & B owner was great. She made us feel welcomed and was helpful when we needed directions or a suggestion for dinner.It was all we hoped for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for our daughters graduation and were delighted to have a great place to park, comfortable lovely rooms and fabulous breakfasts. The owner goes above and beyond to be helpful and warm and even drove us to the school so that we wouldn't have to park. I have stayed in many b and b here in williamsburg but this is the best!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank docnroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Recently stayed at Alice Person House. Its location near to Colonial Williamsburg is perfect. Just a short walk and you are there, no need to use the car. Great restaurants nearby, especially the College Delly! The landlady of Alice Person House (Jean) is lovely - very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for her. She cooks a great breakfast and knows lots of useful local information. A real "home from home". Hope to stay there again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Great location, lovely rooms with huge beds, good size bathrooms with wonderful fluffy towels. Very gracious hostess who serves a delicious breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Smatjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

This B&B was friendly,clean,and very convenient to both Colonial Williamsburg and the College of William and Mary.Our room was spacious and the beds were wonderful. Jean was an excellent hostess and we felt that we were visiting family. WiFi and cable were an added plus! Will definately plan to stay here when we return to the Williamsburg area

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 79 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 512 reviews
1.0 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Williamsburg Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
1.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites, Williamsburg-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Person House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Person House

Property: Alice Person House
Address: 616 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3540
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing