We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alice Person House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alice Person House
Save
You added Alice Person House to your Saves list
Ranked #11 of 26 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Richlands, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at the Alice Person B & B in Williamsburg, VA. for our anniversary/vacation. We wanted something special. Our room was wonderful. My husband is 6' 2" and I asked for a room that he could sleep comfortably in. It more than met our expectations. Our accommodations were very roomy, clean and affordable. The food was fantastic and we were within walking distance of restaurants and Colonial Williamsburg. We ventured out to Jamestown & Yorktown which were only a few miles away. Jean the B & B owner was great. She made us feel welcomed and was helpful when we needed directions or a suggestion for dinner.It was all we hoped for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
29
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for our daughters graduation and were delighted to have a great place to park, comfortable lovely rooms and fabulous breakfasts. The owner goes above and beyond to be helpful and warm and even drove us to the school so that we wouldn't have to park. I have stayed in many b and b here in williamsburg but this is the best!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank docnroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Recently stayed at Alice Person House. Its location near to Colonial Williamsburg is perfect. Just a short walk and you are there, no need to use the car. Great restaurants nearby, especially the College Delly! The landlady of Alice Person House (Jean) is lovely - very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for her. She cooks a great breakfast and knows lots of useful local information. A real "home from home". Hope to stay there again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Great location, lovely rooms with huge beds, good size bathrooms with wonderful fluffy towels. Very gracious hostess who serves a delicious breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Smatjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

This B&B was friendly,clean,and very convenient to both Colonial Williamsburg and the College of William and Mary.Our room was spacious and the beds were wonderful. Jean was an excellent hostess and we felt that we were visiting family. WiFi and cable were an added plus! Will definately plan to stay here when we return to the Williamsburg area

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

My wife and I very much enjoyed our stay at Alice Person House arriving just a few days after Christmas and leaving on New Year's Day. Jean was a wonderful hostess making our first stay at a B&B a delightful experience and making us feel right at home. She was very helpful answering questions to make the most of our stay. The home was beautifully decorated for the holidays and about a 10 minute walk from Colonial Williamsburg. Only two blocks away from William & Mary, the home turned out to be the perfect location for attending the News Year Eve "First Night" celebration with many festivities just a short walk away. Our room was in front of the house and the bed surprisingly comfortable. We were very happy with our stay. I can't believe it has taken us this long to try a B&B.

Room Tip: Although only a 10 minute walk from Colonial Williamsburg, there is a lot of walking at Colonial Wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendecino
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We have stayed at The Alice Person House three times because it is so convenient to everything in town and we can walk to most places. This is a lovely house with nice antique furniture collected for years. This is not one of those fussy places, and feels like a real home.

Our room was fresh and clean, had a large, king, four-poster bed and a good-sized bath. The tall ceilings and big windows make the rooms look light.The owner, Jean, is a great host and caretaker of guests. We accidentally brought an appliance with a foreign plug and Jean dug deep to find us an adapter. She is quick to recommend places to see, locals' restaurants, and how to get there. We were on the street side and found the town pretty quiet - this is really a small Colonial town along with a fairly small College population.

The house was built in the 1920's and has most of the original fixtures - beautiful hardwood floors and molding. A different breakfast was served each day and the morning conversation was full of laughs and adventure tales. We could pick at a couple of things but if we wanted a hotel, that's where we would stay. We were well looked after and can't imagine staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: I think ALL the rooms are corner rooms, so they all have big windows and plenty of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaltyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 80 in Williamsburg
4.5 of 5 stars 492 reviews
1.0 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge-Colonial Williamsburg
4.0 mi away
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cedars of Williamsburg Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Fife & Drum Inn
Fife & Drum Inn
#1 of 26 in Williamsburg
5.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Williamsburg Manor Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Person House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Person House

Property: Alice Person House
Address: 616 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3540
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing