We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for a visit to WILLIAM and Mary and for graduation”
Review of Alice Person House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Williamsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alice Person House
Ranked #10 of 21 Williamsburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for our daughters graduation and were delighted to have a great place to park, comfortable lovely rooms and fabulous breakfasts. The owner goes above and beyond to be helpful and warm and even drove us to the school so that we wouldn't have to park. I have stayed in many b and b here in williamsburg but this is the best!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docnroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Alice Person House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 63 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

Recently stayed at Alice Person House. Its location near to Colonial Williamsburg is perfect. Just a short walk and you are there, no need to use the car. Great restaurants nearby, especially the College Delly! The landlady of Alice Person House (Jean) is lovely - very friendly and nothing is too much trouble for her. She cooks a great breakfast and knows lots of useful local information. A real "home from home". Hope to stay there again in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Great location, lovely rooms with huge beds, good size bathrooms with wonderful fluffy towels. Very gracious hostess who serves a delicious breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Smatjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

This B&B was friendly,clean,and very convenient to both Colonial Williamsburg and the College of William and Mary.Our room was spacious and the beds were wonderful. Jean was an excellent hostess and we felt that we were visiting family. WiFi and cable were an added plus! Will definately plan to stay here when we return to the Williamsburg area

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maurice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

My wife and I very much enjoyed our stay at Alice Person House arriving just a few days after Christmas and leaving on New Year's Day. Jean was a wonderful hostess making our first stay at a B&B a delightful experience and making us feel right at home. She was very helpful answering questions to make the most of our stay. The home was beautifully decorated for the holidays and about a 10 minute walk from Colonial Williamsburg. Only two blocks away from William & Mary, the home turned out to be the perfect location for attending the News Year Eve "First Night" celebration with many festivities just a short walk away. Our room was in front of the house and the bed surprisingly comfortable. We were very happy with our stay. I can't believe it has taken us this long to try a B&B.

Room Tip: Although only a 10 minute walk from Colonial Williamsburg, there is a lot of walking at Colonial Wil...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We have stayed at The Alice Person House three times because it is so convenient to everything in town and we can walk to most places. This is a lovely house with nice antique furniture collected for years. This is not one of those fussy places, and feels like a real home.

Our room was fresh and clean, had a large, king, four-poster bed and a good-sized bath. The tall ceilings and big windows make the rooms look light.The owner, Jean, is a great host and caretaker of guests. We accidentally brought an appliance with a foreign plug and Jean dug deep to find us an adapter. She is quick to recommend places to see, locals' restaurants, and how to get there. We were on the street side and found the town pretty quiet - this is really a small Colonial town along with a fairly small College population.

The house was built in the 1920's and has most of the original fixtures - beautiful hardwood floors and molding. A different breakfast was served each day and the morning conversation was full of laughs and adventure tales. We could pick at a couple of things but if we wanted a hotel, that's where we would stay. We were well looked after and can't imagine staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: I think ALL the rooms are corner rooms, so they all have big windows and plenty of light.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaltyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

The location of this B&B is indeed ideal but unlike other reviewers we were not overly impressed with the accommodations.

Our room was on the front of the house and, as comfortable and firm as the bed was, it took up a great deal of the room. The bathroom door ran into the side of the bed when partially open. There was lots of sunlight in the room but there were no storm windows on the windows so sitting next to one you felt the cold wind. We found the heat to not be predictable and there was no available thermostat . Additionally, although the house was quiet inside, the street noise at night from drunken, partying college students was disturbing two nights during our 3 night stay stay, as well as the 1:45AM freight train passing nearby that actually vibrated all the windows waking us yet again.

The complimentary bathrobes were nice and a daily change of towels appreciated. However, the bathroom shower/tub had very old controls that worked poorly and the water pressure was low.

The proprietor, Jean, was friendly and very talkative about herself. We did not share her sense of humor.

We have traveled quite a bit and stayed at some great B&Bs around the world so we will try another accommodation when we next visit Williamsburg.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Williamsburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Williamsburg Lodge, Autograph Collection
1.0 mi away
Woodlands Hotel & Suites - Colonial Williamsburg
1.1 mi away
Williamsburg Inn
Williamsburg Inn
#1 of 73 in Williamsburg
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Colonial Houses-Colonial Williamsburg
0.5 mi away
Governor's Inn - Colonial Williamsburg
1.0 mi away
The Griffin Hotel - A Colonial Williamsburg Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alice Person House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Person House

Address: 616 Richmond Rd, Williamsburg, VA 23185-3540
Location: United States > Virginia > Williamsburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Williamsburg
Price Range: $99 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing