We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alice Person House
Nearby Hotels
$130
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$189
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Historic Powhatan Resort(Williamsburg)
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$109
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Historic Area Inn(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$177
$125
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Wolf Lodge(Williamsburg)
$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kingsmill Resort(Williamsburg)
$199
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marriott's Manor Club at Ford's Colony(Williamsburg)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
56
6
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
6
1
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 64 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2012

My wife and I very much enjoyed our stay at Alice Person House arriving just a few days after Christmas and leaving on New Year's Day. Jean was a wonderful hostess making our first stay at a B&B a delightful experience and making us feel right at home. She was very helpful answering questions to make the most of our stay. The home was beautifully decorated for the holidays and about a 10 minute walk from Colonial Williamsburg. Only two blocks away from William & Mary, the home turned out to be the perfect location for attending the News Year Eve "First Night" celebration with many festivities just a short walk away. Our room was in front of the house and the bed surprisingly comfortable. We were very happy with our stay. I can't believe it has taken us this long to try a B&B.

Room Tip: Although only a 10 minute walk from Colonial Williamsburg, there is a lot of walking at Colonial Williamsburg and we discovered it was better to drive our rented car to the Colonial Williamsburg Visitors Center and take the FREE shuttle to various drop off points.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We have stayed at The Alice Person House three times because it is so convenient to everything in town and we can walk to most places. This is a lovely house with nice antique furniture collected for years. This is not one of those fussy places, and feels like a real home.

Our room was fresh and clean, had a large, king, four-poster bed and a good-sized bath. The tall ceilings and big windows make the rooms look light.The owner, Jean, is a great host and caretaker of guests. We accidentally brought an appliance with a foreign plug and Jean dug deep to find us an adapter. She is quick to recommend places to see, locals' restaurants, and how to get there. We were on the street side and found the town pretty quiet - this is really a small Colonial town along with a fairly small College population.

The house was built in the 1920's and has most of the original fixtures - beautiful hardwood floors and molding. A different breakfast was served each day and the morning conversation was full of laughs and adventure tales. We could pick at a couple of things but if we wanted a hotel, that's where we would stay. We were well looked after and can't imagine staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: I think ALL the rooms are corner rooms, so they all have big windows and plenty of light.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaltyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

The location of this B&B is indeed ideal but unlike other reviewers we were not overly impressed with the accommodations.

Our room was on the front of the house and, as comfortable and firm as the bed was, it took up a great deal of the room. The bathroom door ran into the side of the bed when partially open. There was lots of sunlight in the room but there were no storm windows on the windows so sitting next to one you felt the cold wind. We found the heat to not be predictable and there was no available thermostat . Additionally, although the house was quiet inside, the street noise at night from drunken, partying college students was disturbing two nights during our 3 night stay stay, as well as the 1:45AM freight train passing nearby that actually vibrated all the windows waking us yet again.

The complimentary bathrobes were nice and a daily change of towels appreciated. However, the bathroom shower/tub had very old controls that worked poorly and the water pressure was low.

The proprietor, Jean, was friendly and very talkative about herself. We did not share her sense of humor.

We have traveled quite a bit and stayed at some great B&Bs around the world so we will try another accommodation when we next visit Williamsburg.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed at Alice Person House for a week in June in the Capital Suite, which was perfect for the three of us. The accommodations were clean and comfortable (huge bathroom), and breakfasts were delicious. Having off-street parking was helpful. The location is an easy walk to the college, and not much longer to Colonial Williamsburg. There was a bit of street noise at night, but as most of the B&Bs and hotels/motels are along the same road, this would likely be the case anywhere. Jean was kind enough to give me a fan to use for white noise (I should note that the traffic noise didn't bother the other two in our party). We didn't hear any noise from the other rooms on the floor, as all are well separated. The rates were very reasonable for this longer stay. Having a mini-frig available for the floor with the B&B rooms might be a nice addition for the summer months.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NEReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2011

My husband surprised me with a mini-vacation to Williamsburg. He made arrangements to stay at The Alice Person House. It was our first time staying at a B&B. We had a wonderful experience. Jean is a wonderful hostess. She made us feel right at home from the minute we walked through the door. She is a wealth of information for the area.The Inn is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The breakfasts Jean served were delicious, we looked forward to breakfast every day. You will not leave the breakfast table hungry. Our room was on the third floor, the only room on the third floor. Beautifully decorated with a private bath and separate sitting room. We had no need to use our car when visiting Colonial Williamsburg. The Inn is about a mile up the road, an easy walk past William and Mary College to Merchant Square to Colonial Williamsburg. Jean had suggested some restaurants and they did not disappoint. Staying at The Alice Person House was a wonderful experience everything was perfect and we couldn't ask for a nicer Hostess!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews